We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jollydays Luxury Camping
Nearby Hotels
Burythorpe House(Burythorpe)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$71
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$108
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$93
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
132
67
20
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
67
20
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp firepizza ovenlog burnerstamford bridgehen weekendbbq areawoodland settingno electricitygreat outdoorscommunal areasfree standing bathfabulous weekendrelaxing breakco optea tentjolly daystealights
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 250 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed at Jollydays as part of a hen party. There was 12 of us, 6 girls in each luxury lodge. When i first arrived i was pleasantly surprised of how tranquil the setting is. You are not able to park cars right outside the tents (this is good as it keeps the areas noise free) Wheel barrows are available to move your baggage to the tents- great fun!
Most people stayed for fri and sat but 3 stayed til monday. We enjoyed bbqs, cooked breakfasts, a bike ride (we loaned bikes from a local company- really good fun, we pedalled in the rain and got lost with just 50 mins to get ready before our taxi into York for a meal! whoops!)
There is also a farm shop down the road which sells lovely fresh foods, gifts, icecreams and there is also PYO strawberries! you can walk to the farm shop from the campsite, it takes about an hour ish.
The tents/ lodges were really cute, inpired by cath kidston with kitsch fabrics, decor, ornaments and candles. Bring plenty of candles with you though, we went through loads of tea lights. The cleanliness was ok, i guess its hard as there is no electric! i reckon they could do with a bit of TLC from my henry vac but thats what you get when youre camping. We experienced a dodgy smell in the kitchen,in the lodge to the right -it was a bit foisty. we reported this to the owners and they said they would sort it out. The single ned i stayed in was comfy, the double 4 poster bed looked really nice ( the hen stayed in that of course!) There were 2 sofas to pull out in the living area which werent as comfy i dont think but manageable. Make sure you make them up before drinking! Overall this was a really enjoyable stay and I would definatley return. Would be great for families, kids could run around there is also a tree swing.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frashtonashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We set off from our home in York to cycle the 12 miles to Jollydays, with high expectations, we were hoping that Glam camping would be comfy, dry and less work than the traditional camping that we are used to. It was all those things and more.

The ride there on quiet back roads couldn't have been more pleasant and took a leisurely 1hr 15mins, of easy pedaling. We were greeted on arrival by the owners Carolyn and Christian and shown to our bell tent which was down the lane and and far enough away from other campers that we felt very secluded though only three minutes walk from the amenities. Set in a quiet woodland, Jollydays style is very 'English country living' with bunting. paraffin lamps, spotty curtains, gingham, wellies, open fires and Victoria sponge cake.
While the kids got familiar with the dens and tyre swing in the woods we chilled out with our books and a cuppa tea on the sofa's in front of very cute wood burning stove. the stove was great as the weather despite being July was chilly at times and it was welcomed. The sofa beds were comfy, we slept well, kids slept late! Showers hot and powerful. We had our own kitchen in a shed under an awning so we never had to worry about getting wet when out of our tent.
All in all it offered all the best things about camping and relieved us of all the hard bits, best of all we didn't have to lug our camping equipment on our bikes as it was all there waiting for us. We stayed for 3 nights which was perfect though more nights would've been good too, plenty of excellent cycle routes to explore nearby. We will definitely go back for more! Next time maybe we'll book a luxury lodge, they looked amazing with roll top baths, big stove, kitchen etc... hard to imagine camping could get any more luxurious. Oh almost forgot to say, kids loved it too!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The woodland setting is wonderfully tranquil and easy to find from the main roads around York. The owners were lovely and made you feel welcome as well as being easily contactable via phone if there was a problem.
The tents have a shabby chic style and were as clean as you could expect them to be with all the creepy crawlies around! The little wood burner stove inside the bell tents is brilliant and really kicked out a lot of heat when it got going, making you feel warm and toastie when the inevitable British summer rain comes along.
The kitchen hut was really well stocked with everything you could need (I can't count how many times I've forgotten the cork screw and tin opener on camping trips), the gas hob worked well and the cool box with frozen hot water bottles is a great idea (though I wish the bottles had been supplied a bit more frequently).
The shower and toilet facilities were very clean and tidy and looked brand new.
CONS: (though these are only petty things really)
More frozen bottles for the cool boxes - 1 every 24 hours isn't really enough in summer.
I think the luxury lodge tents seemed a bit expensive considering you could stay in a cottage for the same money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepestblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Travelled with friends to Jolly Days - for some very Jolly Days Indeed!!
We pulled up at the Jolly Days reception and we were greeted by Carolyn the owner - She was lovely and explained we should use the barrows provided to unload our cars and then head to our 'Beautiful' tents in the middle of the 'Stunning' woodlands.
The tents had everything you could wish for, whilst still feeling like you were Camping and enjoying the Great Outdoors it was really nice to have a flushing loo and Roll top bath and Four Poster Bed to enjoy a bit of luxury!! The furnishings were really pretty, all of us who stayed loved the Cath Kidston/Shabby Chic look of all the interiors! We had a BBQ outside, built a fire, pushed some tables together and ended up sitting there for most of the night, drinking and enjoying some chilled out time with good friends! It was perfect!!!
We all want to return with our families - The kids would have loved it!!!
Thanks so much to Carolyn for making us feel really welcome and for making Sarah's weekend so special. We will not forget this magical weekend for a long time!!! Claire.xx

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThirskBella1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Directions good, easy to find and owners very helpful. Tranquil setting, or so we thought. Tent seemed smaller than pictures, wide angled lens? Good facilities for cooking and frozen hot water bottles were a brilliant idea for keeping food cool.
Unfortunately our problems were being kept awake until 2am, noisy hen party and other guests in tent nearby. Futons very uncomfortable, mattresses too thin and every slat could be felt, pillows, very thin, I don't think Ikea do a luxury range. Showers were powerful, but facilities rather grubby and hadn't been cleaned when we left after the weekend, again not luxury. Parking away from tents wasn't a problem and if people were asked to park considerately there would have been enough room for all.
Generally this was luxury camping prices, without the luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ThomasNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyglamper, Owner at Jollydays Luxury Camping, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

These guests came on the recomendation of their friend who had stayed in a luxury lodge tent. However the bell tents are not the same price or standard as the luxury tents, they are a big step up from normal camping but not nearly as luxurious as the larger tents. All of our customers are sent an inventory of what is included before their stay so they are aware before they arrive of what is in the tent, including the type of beds provided.The futons are very comfortable compared to an air bed but if comfort is important we recommend the lodge tents. Larger customers may enjoy a better nights sleep in a kingsize bed in a luxury lodge tent.
All the communal facilities are cleaned daily, however we are in a woodland with natural paths and mud can enter the shower and toilet huts especially in wet weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews