We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We went to a wedding and stayed there. My suite of two bedrooms and kitchen was very nice. The towels were veryyyyyy old and did not dry. The thing we did not know is that no beach in front or near. You have to take a shuttle from the hotel.

People not helpful at all. The main pool with no setvice , no towels for the pool . Food is very good but poor service.

We were eight couples and very disappointed. The wedding was at Pristine Bay and whatttttttttt a difference . Dont miss Frencies beach. The best thing to do. Another must iit is better to change to Lempiras the local coin. From the hotel to Westend where the little restaurants and bars are is a 40 minuto drive. Be careful where you stay.

Room Tip: Do not ask for economy room. It is terrible and NO windows just two small ones. It is better tbe sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorenab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionroatan, Owner at Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your response. We are very sorry you were disappointed in your stay. We apologize for that. We are going to meet with service staff and take care of the towel problem. Thanks for bringing it up. Our restaurants pride themselves on service and so does our hotel. I think the day you came to the spa pool it was Sunday and the Spa which controls the main pool and services was close at 3 PM that is only on Sunday only.

As for our location yes we are not on a beach or in West Bay or West End. Every location has its ups and downs. We are next to the Black Pearl Golf Course and we are partner with the number one attraction a Private Island Beach Little Frenchy's Key which is five minutes away and we run a shuttle to it all day long on request. We are next to the Iguana Farm and also Mega Mall for shopping. The number one super market is two minutes away Eldon's. From our resort you can dive from the North side or the South side of the Island. We are a gated community with great security and anyone that enters the resort is checked out. We have no vendors trying to sell you watches or braid your hair. We offer very good security with privacy. We also do not have sand flies. We have five beautiful pools so no pool is ever crowded. We run a daily shuttle free to all guests to the West End. Remember all beaches in Honduras are Public. Our Private Island Beach is private.
I would also like to address the small room. That room is only 80 dollars a night we call it a economy room. You can upgrade for 50 dollars to a one bedroom Luxury suite which is 4 times the space. The reason we offer the cheap economy room is because we get a lot of business travelers that just want a safe clean room to sleep in and they love having access to Herby's Sports Bar and Grill and The Pineapple Grill Steak and Seafood restaurants. Two of the finest in Honduras. Also the best spa in Honduras La Pina Spa. We are proud of our amenities and our beautiful landscape too. In conclusion there is always pro and con's on every location. Thank you again for your stay and I hope you give us another chance to make your stay right. We will be working on improving what you have mention.

Thank you again

Herb Morici
Owner of Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    60
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
68
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

On this trip to Roatan I visited a number of hotels/resorts. The Clarion Suites at Pinapple Villas were really really nice. Staff charming and attentive ...spoke english and spanish and the facilities most excellent! For business or leisure I recommend. There is no as it is situated in the hilly contours of French Harbor area.....I dined in Herbys, the Pinapple Grill and used the spa and health club twice a day! Erma delivered a rejuvenating massage after a hard workout....really nice equipment, sauna, steam bath and several out door pools. Great for families or a private retreat. Lots of privacy.

Room Tip: Its hilly and I liked the elevation for the great views....take an upper room. I chose a suite as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JungleJim15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently rented a two-bedroom suite at the Pineapple Villas. The property itself is nice, and having a kitchen in the room was excellent. The staff started out very helpful but as the trip went on, and our group had little interest in scheduling excursions through the hotel, their helpfulness dwindled. We discovered during the trip that hotels in Roatan get kickbacks for sending tourists to certain activities and restaurants (not uncommon). At one point, we asked about a restaurant that we found on Trip Advisor and the hotel staff told us "I don't know, Google it".

The rooms are nice and spacious. The pools are lovely - in fact, each building has a private pool behind it. But the property is not located near the beach and requires about a $10-15 cab ride to commute to and from the beach.

The floors in the rooms could certainly use a nice scrub down. Our feet stuck to them every day and we returned from the trip with black stained feet.

There are two restaurants at the resort. Pineapple Grill is decent but Herbies is not worth the price. I recommend buying your own groceries and preparing meals yourself. The best grocery store on the island is about a $10-15 round-trip cab ride and the cab driver will help unload groceries.

Room Tip: Opt for the suite so that you have access to a kitchen. One bedroom rooms do not have a kitchen, unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MorganR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionroatan, Owner at Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your response. I want to apologize that you did not have a great experience. We have shown the staff your comments so we can improve on customer service. Not sure what happen but I know 99 per cent of the time we get great reviews on staff. But again we need to always work on training and reinforcing this message to the resort staff.
The floor not being clean is no excuse. We have a special machine to clean our tile floors. I guess as owner I need to get in the rooms and inspect them. Thank you for bringing this up. I have now put in place more inspections of the rooms.
We offer free shuttle daily to West End and if you need a shuttle to the grocery store just a short notice and we will take you. Since your stay we have bought another Van for shuttle purposes for guest.
As for the comments on Herby's it breaks my heart. The restaurant is named after me and I have my personal 40 year old million dollar sports memorabilia collection in there. I also pride myself on the food and the menu and have local affordable prices. We have 34 TV's and a 10 foot HD screen for major sporting events. I have been told by hundreds maybe thousands this is the best sports bar they have even been in. Our food is over seen by executive chef Dino Silvestri Island grown and he over sees both Herby's Sports Bar and Grill and The Pineapple Grill. I can see if you don't like sports food. But we also offer Healthy choice,steaks,seafood,and Island dishes. Herby's is the number on restaurant on the Island for the Locals.

In conclusion thank you for bringing these things to our attention and we apologize for your experience and hope we can somehow make it up to you in the future.

Take Care,
Herb Morici
Owner Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Clarion for 12 days at the end of February, beginning of March. Wonderful place to stay. The resort was beautiful, very clean and extremely well maintained. The staff were amazing!! Dasana, Runes, Debbie and Arturo were some of the wonderful people who took great care of us. This vacation was truly one of our favorites and we would stay here again, in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If the team suggests an upgrade for a little bit extra $.... do it... the cost was minimal, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebeachbums08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Pineapple Villas and the staff. Roney greeted us and took very good care of us during our stay. Top notch! The staff will arrange anything for you! Close adventures include Barefoot Divers, Little French Key, Iguana farm, and Pirates of the Caribbean canopy zip line, just to name a few. The 1 bed suite was enormous and comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very nice property, great location, with excellent restaurant and beautiful pool! But what really made my stay special was the superb staff. The office staff were very courteous at all times, and extremely helpful in assisting me with rentals and other activities. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Roatan!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtravelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This beautiful resort has the warmest employees you could ever dream of. Today, we ventured into the island to enjoy its beautiful beaches. We were the victims of a crime, where all of our money and credit cards were stolen. When we returned to the property, Nahun allowed us to call our banks and credit card companies so that we could cancelled the stolen cards. As he knew we had absolutely no money, he took it upon himself to buy us dinner and personally delivered it to our room, being very apologetic for our ordeal in his country. Needless to say, we were extremely grateful and reminded him that there is no need for him to feel responsible for our bad luck. Now he has friends for life. Nahun, if you are ever in Houston or Las Vegas, please let us repay your generosity.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B_C_Smith918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
11.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
852 reviews
11.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
11.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas

Property: Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Address: 1 Pineapple Place, French Harbour, Roatan RTB, Honduras (Formerly Pineapple Villas Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Suites® Roatan at Pineapple Villas in French Harbour, Bay Islands is centrally located to the entire island, allowing visitors easy access to a tropical paradise of activities, including nearby beach activities, snorkeling, scuba diving, zip lining, helicopter sightseeing, fishing, shark diving, horseback riding, water skiing, kayaking and other exciting water sports. This convenient Roatan hotel is only a short shuttle ride to the beach, a tranquil reminder of the stunning beauty of this oasis in Honduras.Guests of the Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas will be enthralled by its spacious ocean view suites, entranced by four lagoon-style pools with cascading waterfalls and pampered in the world-class spa and health club. The on-site Herby’s Sports Bar & Grill and the Pineapple Grill Steakhouse are great places to enjoy a meal and noted as some of the finest restaurants in the country.Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet in all rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. There is one meeting room with the hotel able to accommodate 140 people for banquets and 60 for conferences.All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, DVD player, alarm clock, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a mini-bar, desk, down pillows, refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and pillow-top mattress.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas a great place for business and leisure travelers in the French Harbour, Bay Islands area. Book a room with us today and let us help you explore the exquisite beauty of Honduras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Villas Resort And Spa
Pineapple Villas Hotel French Harbour
Clarion Suites Roatan At Pineapple Villas Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing