We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barefoot Cay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas(French Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CoCo View Resort(French Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cay View(Coxen Hole)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Puerta Azul(Sandy Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveler rating
572
38
15
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
572
38
15
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeal planour honeymoondive shopwest endbedroom bungalowapple tvdive stafffull kitchenromance packagemeal packagecouples massagepersonalized serviceguest servicesprivate islandgrocery storedive sitesthe kitchen staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 638 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Close to airport. Minutes to best dive sites in Roatan. Good food. Good equipment for rent and boats. Great service with accommodating and flexible staff. If you are adventurous but used to the good things in life, the place will please you. Perfect for teens wanting to get scuba certifications. If a couple of sand fly bites can ruin your vacation, either get some repellant or stay pool side at home, but if you can appreciate attention to detail in the things a good innkeeper can control, then you will understand the essence of this place. It's out third stay here and we can't wait to return.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank F550M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lori and I spent 32 days at Barefoot Cay Resort in their marina. Arriving after a very rough 44 hour passage it was welcome sight. The resort sent out an escort boat, which led us from the channel entrance into the marina.

Raoul and several others met us at the dock and helped secure our lines. Surprisingly, one of the owners, Les Kennedy, was there as well to welcome us to the resort - which made us feel pretty special. Raoul had a Ship Agent to our boat with in 30 minutes and we had all the necessary paperwork (Visas/Cruising Permit) completed within 3 hours.

The Marina facility is small compared to others more commercial marinas, but the surroundings are beautiful! We were within about 75 feet of the pool, bathrooms and restaurant. The marina bathroom facilities rival some of the more expensive hotels and were always very clean. Towels were provided for pool and boathroom use, free of charge.

The landscaping around the marina and on the rest of the island makes you feel like you parked you boat in someone's well tended tropical garden.

We have stayed at several resort marinas in the last several years and found that boaters are sometimes treated differently than "normal" guest. Not at Barefoot Cay! We spent a lot of time in the resort and found all the staff incredibly friendly and courteous.

The restaurant, located next to the pool, has wonderful food and staff. Thursday night Buffets are the Best! Chef Robbie is very talented and his wait staff, especially Julia, Dennis, Jordan, Carlos and Victor were very attentive and friendly.

When we made reservations via email, Mel was very responsive and fast! She returned our intial email within 2 hours of writing. As a comparision, we had emailed another marina on the island, which took 24 hours to respond to our inquiry. Frankly, Mel's fast and courteous emails were the reason we chose Barefoot Cay Resort.

Stephanie in the office was always very helpful and sorted out some shipping problems we had, and provided local knowledge on the island. She always made us feel like family.

Finally, Raoul... For us he was the "go to guy" at the resort.Raoul was very attentive, talking with us several times a day. Raoul also arranged several excursions for us and provided lots of local knowledge. Raoul also helped us with shipping parts and even got our propane refilled for us.

We have been fulltime cruising for 31 months now from San Francisco to Roatan. This was a wonderful vacation from the sailing life.

Barefoot Cay Resort & Marina is like nothing else we have found and well worth a stop over!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SV_Camelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This week was not great weather wise with pretty rough seas but the boat captain David, entire dive staff and resort staff made it wonderful anyhow! You are pampered every minute and everyone treats you like family. There is a warmth and level of service rarely experienced. From the moment Raul picks you up to Georgina and other s calling you by name when meals are served, it is quite special ! There is a different towel animal and fresh flowers in your cottage every day. Food is excellent. I almost don't want to review as Barefoot Cay is a hidden gem!

Do take bug repellent as the no see ems are fierce and the resort sprays several times a day. I cannot imagine a place elsewhere on the island where they don't spray!

Diving is great with beautiful corals, topography , and a variety of under water life. Short boat rides . Valet service. An extremely hard working staff who also share the love of diving and fun with you!

We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at Barefoot Caye in the fabulous 2 bedroom villa with my daughter and her grandma. The beach was at our doorstep and the whole hotel location is just idylic. The pool area is lovely and relaxing and even with marina guests in high season it was quiet, laid back and relaxed - just what we were looking for. The food was excellent and although it is not a full restaurant menu there was plenty of choice and variety. The staff were so friendly and helpful and everything about our stay was relaxing and idylic. We just wished we could have stayed longer. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile


My wife spent four nights at Barefoot Cay. The hotel is what you would expect for this top rated Roatan hotel. Their entire staff mission is only to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

That being said the hotel does have several shortcoming from making this a truly five star hotel.

First the food. For convenience we selected the all inclusive meal plan. Inclusivity, here means food only, no soft drinks, etc. and for dinner one selection. Even though I was asked if I had any special requests prior to our arrival, I did no fish, my only inclusive selection on some dinners was fish. I was then charged for going off menu. I did not object, but why ask in the first place and why not offer knowing weeks before hand an option if someone can not eat from their inclusive menu. The quality of the food presented was barely ok. Either no taste, over seasoned, or poorly cooked. We chose to eat some of our meals outside of the hotel and all meals were far better than what the hotel had to offer.
Due to shortage of staff breakfast and lunch meals suffered. What staff was present tried their best under the circumstances.
During our stay at Barefoot Cay there was not one staff member who did not greet us and try to do what they could to make our stay more enjoyable. What they did not provide is information on what you did not ask but still needed to make your stay smoother and more problem free. A better knowledge on information concerning outside restaurants, tour bookings and general information like the next day's weather is just a sampling.
Stephanie who picked us up at the airport and Raul who dropped us off at the airport are two gems. Both made our stay more enjoyable and tried their best to smooth out the rough edges that came up.

During one of our dinners, we noticed the owner walking around and in fact right by our table. I know, my wife and I would have been made to feel special if she had come up to us to introduce herself and ask us how things were.

Yes some might say these are only minor issues but in today's hospitality world it is what separates the good from the great.

Barefoot Cay is currently one of the best resorts in Roatan. The question is whether it wants to best the best resort, period.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barefootcay, Public Relations Manager at Barefoot Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad that you enjoyed the service offered by our staff in general. I'm sorry that the kitchen didn't meet up to your expectations. There is one dinner selection per night, but the kitchen can happily arrange a substitution if you'd like- if it's something from our regular dinner menus, there is no additional charge for this (for example, if you wanted chicken on a night when fish would normally be served). We also have a specialty menu that can be ordered from any night of the week which is a $10 surcharge if you are on a meal plan. I'll make sure that the kitchen is clearly explaining this to any future guests, letting them know that it is possible to arrange a substitution without ordering from the specialty menu. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the taste and quality of our food, our meals are normally one of the things our guests enjoy most, so it's disappointing to hear that this was not the case. We have a new chef starting this week, and your feedback will be shared with him and the rest of the kitchen staff.
The owner, Milesse, is no longer involved in day to day guest interactions, but normally introduces herself and stops by for a chat when she sees new guests are in. I'll make sure to let her know how this gesture is noticed so that she doesn't miss anyone who would have liked to meet her.
We hope you'll be back to Barefoot Cay in the future so that you can see the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews