We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy Island Beach day from Island Marketing - excursion off of cruise ship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantasy Island Beach day from Island Marketing - excursion off of cruise ship”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We booked this from the website for Island marketing and was a little concerned of booking this outside of the cruise ship. It was perfect and we were so glad we did! The Fantasy Island resort is complete with monkeys who will take food out of your hand, huge iguanas, sand/hermit crabs, and good snorkeling. We got one of the cabanas/beach beds and it was a really out of a movie. Perfect weather, comfortable bed to read and sun bath in, good snorkeling, and clear water.
We loved our driver and found out her sister runs this excursion. The driver waited the entire time at the resort for us and explained the history, customs, and why she loved Roatan. It was a little run down but still nice and we felt very safe the entire time. We had such a relaxing and good time there we plan on going back and just staying there.
We liked the fact everything the resort had was included but be aware if you wanted to kayak they only have ONE. Another couple we came with was very disappointed that they had to wait 4 hours to get it since they only had one kayak. The hammock they also say they have is torn so don't plan on using that. But for the price and how nice it was it was totally worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srpiccollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    299
    187
    113
    116
See reviews for
188
314
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Very nice place with an amazing location.We were a bit concerned at first about the reviews that have been posted here, but we were surprisingly happy with the hotel. The hotel is a bit run down, but still clean with a very comfortable size of rooms. We had an amazing view from our balcony and the food was good (you could always have a fresh piece of meat of fish prepared and the salad bar is also really nice! and a s mentioned before...the ice cream is delicious).
We also had a wonderful experience with the diving school!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2010

My friends and I literally just went to soak on the sun and we did that! I didn't know what to expect since this was my first time to Roatan...

It was amazing! The beach is gorgeous! The staff was nice and friendly and ever so helpful! The room was always kept clean, sometimes the toilet wouldn't work but you have to understand this is a 3rd world country and it's not a hot destination spot yet...it will be soon though...

Trust me just to relax this is the place to be...

Beware of annoying old Italians hitting on the young girls...gross....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I have been going to Roatan for 11 years at least 1X/year. I had never stayed at Fantasy but have heard all the horror stories. The place is a little run down so set your expectations correctly. Some times the hot water doesn't work; you are in a third world country after all. What I will say is the staff was terrific, the dive ops were top notch (warm towels, nice people, hot dock showers), and the food was very good (far better than other places I have stayed).

They currently are running a special for $500/week all inclusive. You can't beat the deal.............

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roatandonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Do not go there now, it definitely needs a complete renewal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidemario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these French Harbour hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We just returned from Fantasy Island tonight.

The staff was excellent starting with Carlos, the manager. He tried his best to be accommodating with property that is totally lacking in good maintenance. The bartender, the wait staff, the dive staff...all were fabulous. The only problem was I was missing over $100 out of my purse and my credit card was stolen from my wallet. I didn't know about the "safe" you could rent at the front desk. The rest of the workers can thank that one person for no tip...no cash and nowhere to get it. We did have a problem with the assistance offered by the personnel at the front desk. One in particular was not friendly and no one told us about storing our valuables with them...oh well, another lesson learned.

We switched rooms once only to decide that a functioning air conditioner was not in our immediate future. Not surprising...no filters. We cleaned ours as best we could so that air could pass, but slept miserably in the heat for an entire week. The drain to the shower actually ran right to the ground below us...you could see the ground from our shower. I saw in one review where someone had cleaned the sliding glass door with a washcloth...washcloth???? We had none. The rooms, the mattresses, the linens, all were in pitiful shape.

The food was marginal at best, but I suspect the kitchen staff was doing the best they could with a small budget. The ice cream WAS great...good thing, I lived on it for a week. Every single thing was maintained poorly. The sand fleas or noseeums or whatever they were absolutley ate us alive even sprayed with bug spray. The monkeys were cute, but yes, they will take things out of your purse, steal your camera and drink your beer. Actually I found them a delight and fun to watch. The Watusi were, I suppose, native, and did not offend me, nor did the Iguana.

We are all divers and I simply cannot imagine what you would do in Roatan, if you were not. We made a trip in to the farmacia and I agree with another review...the "town" was downright scary. The diving was not nearly as good as we have had in other resorts. Visability was not great probably due to fairly high wind, and there were not that many fish. No shark...probably because they feed them twice a day where you go for the shark dive in ripping current. We did see quite a few seahorses, which are always a delight.

Overall, I will not stay at Fantasy Island again. If I go to Roatan, I will review the accommodations more closely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I really don't understand what some people expect when they travel to third world countries. There are quite a few animals but they add to the charm, not the smell. Everyone loves the monkeys that swing throughn the trees and come down for pictures and a treat. There are also peacocks, a few large iguana, deer, geese and Watusa (a rabbit sized rodent related to guinea pigs).

The staff including Carlos the general manager are very attentive and will go out of their way to make sure you have whatever you need. The dive operation is excellent and you get three full boat dives per day (not, as some other operations do, drop you off on the way back to the dock and call that a separate boat dive). The dive masters are very attentive and will find all kinds of critters for you. I had never seen a pipe fish so I asked and got to see 7 during our two week stay.

They food was plentiful and tastey. Only the pickiest eaters should have a problem finding something that they will enjoy. The soups were, well souper : ) . Grerat flan and very good ice cream were available every day. The meal hours were 7 - 9:30, 12 - 2:30 and 6:30 - 9 pm (not the very limited hours mentioned by one reviewer).

The pool is very nice and the beaches are awesome. There is great snorkelling right along the beach or, swim out from the gazebo to the red buoy (3 minutes) to a small reef which rises to within a few feet of the surface for great snorkelling. We saw 7 lobsters, permit, puffer fish, black margate, lionfish, spotter drum, sand divers, grouper, trumpet fish and all the typical small reef fish.

Be sure to do a night dive on the wreck of the Prince Albert - we found a large moray as well as an octopus there on one dive. Continue your dive on the small reef and then swim back to the gazebo. We found a second octopus on the slope right in front of the gazebo and he sat still for about 20 pictures. Take the small skiff from the dive dock when you dive the wreck and ask them to drop you over the wreck rather than dropping you at the gazebo since that will give you more time at the wreck.

The hotel could use some work but it is a fantastic bargain for the price you pay. Ask for rooms in the newer section (rooms 120+ and 220+ to the left of the lobby as you face it) since they are in better shape.

The original owner is taking back control from the Priviledge Hotel group who has run the resort for the last couple of years and has promissed to make improvents starting in October. Hopefully he'll do this and the resort will be even better.

If you need a 5 star resort go elsewhere but for a great time at a fantastic price gib=ve Fantasy Island a try.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
1.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
12.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.6 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
606 reviews
12.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,459 reviews
12.3 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasy Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Property: Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Roatan IB3110, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantasy Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Caribbean at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive and Marina! Our Roatan, Honduras resort is located on its own 21 acre private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fantasy Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Island Beach Hotel Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Roatan
Fantasy Island Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing