We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of home but more exotic”

Herby's Sports Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Finally left the tranquility of West End to explore a little more of the Island of Roatan and discovered Herby's Sports Bar and Grill. Air conditioned, great view of French Harbour, the cascading fountains into the outdoor pool, a lovely deck patio to absorb the tropical heat, great food, friendly service. While not a sports viewer, found the circle of tv's showing sporting events around the globe an added perk to this little gem. The 4th floor elevator (one of a very few on this island) leads right into this little slice of home. Loved seeing Sandy Alomor's Cleveland Indians baseball card under the glass at my table!

Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 247 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really enjoyed the sports ambiance of this place. TONS of televisions with every sport imaginable showing. We visited on an excursion from a resort, and really enjoyed the food at Herby's - especially in contrast to the rather crappy food at our resort.

Very friendly staff, great service, great food and modest pricing.

Thank Balthasar1595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The wait staff was horrible. We had to go up to the bar a few times to get drinks, check, etc. There was hardly anyone in the restaurant and there were a bunch of waitresses standing around talking to each other, talking on their cell phones....it was a joke. We were staying at Pineapple Villas & didn't go back because of the terrible service. We would have eaten there a lot more often but that's not what we're looking for when we go out to eat. Skip it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PackerFanaticFromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineapplevillas, Owner at Herby's Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are sorry for your bad experience. We strive for exceptional service, but in your case we weren't able to provide it. For that I am truly sorry, and really wish to be able to locate the employees on that shift. If you are able or willing to let me know the day and time that you visited Herby's. I would better be able to educate the staff. email: drinking@herbyssportsbar.com

We take service very seriously, and sometimes finding skilled waitresses and waiters on the island is difficult. We constantly retrain, and constantly try to implement technology to make things more efficient, and make it easier for our service staff to give good service.

We have had 2 bad reviews in the last week. We are embarrassed of that fact. But we will not hide from it, we will take those reviews to mean that we must make changes in our system. We will go back to retrain and remind the staff of service priorities and importance and ensure this bad service never happens again.

I thank you for taking the time out of your day for writing this review. I prefer to know when bad things happen so that they can be corrected. And they WILL be corrected.

Please consider visiting us again, and allow me the opportunity to prove that our service and food is the best in class. I am now marching upstairs to remind the staff what service is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch and enjoyef it so much we came back for dinner. Food was very good, service was great and it was nice to have some familiar food while on vacation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tilly22Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Food was horrible to average. Service was the slowest I've ever had. Not just island slow. We waited over an hour for food to show up. Medium steak was literally barely seared and the rice & beans were not just room temperature, but actually cold. Never really wanted to go there anyway since it is really not what I go on vacation for. I can get lousy american bar food anywhere. The service was the worst part though... almost as though they knew it was bad and were trying to avoid us. Couldn't even get drink refills for the hour+ wait for our food.

Thank GolfOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineapplevillas, Owner at Herby's Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello Sir,

We strive to provide the best service possible, and normally we succeed... however in your case we failed, and for that we sincerely apologize. We would like the opportunity to make it up to you.

March 23-30th is holy week and in central america it is the busiest tourism week of the year. I feel this may have contributed to the issues you had, however... there is no excuse. We are taking steps to ensure this never happen again.

Please let us know the dates and approximate times of your visit so I can verify the shift on duty during this incident. Also please let us know the area of the restaurant you were in. Inside, or on the patio. our email: drinking@herbyssportsbar.com

Thank you for you comments, we will be using your review to improve our service and prevent any future incidents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herby's Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Coxen Hole, Roatan
French Harbour, Roatan
 

Been to Herby's Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing