We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive breakfast menu with great Lake view”
Review of Custom Espresso

Custom Espresso
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Impressive breakfast menu with great Lake view”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very impressive breakfast menu. They know what they are doing here. Not only were the juices and coffees fantastic but the food was so delicious. I ordered the avocado bruschetta and was impressed by the generous serve and the creative added favours such as the balsamic and brown sugar dressing drizzled over the top. Simple but done well. The view of the lake is pretty good too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Speers Point, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great way to spend the morning”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I went here the other week for breakfast and really enjoyed the red velvet pancakes they had. The atmosphere was great and they even had a musician playing some acoustic guitar for a few hours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“First class.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Incredible location more than done justice by staff that are eager to please and a menu that I have found flawlessly executed time and time again. It's certainly not close home for me, but worth the trip every single time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akilkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and customer service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am so excited to say that I frequent Custom Espresso and the food, service and staff are just so refreshing and welcoming. I love going there and will continue to do so. Good work in making it enjoyable to return and sample your terrific coffee and ever changing menu!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Friendly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We went there for breakfast and the service was terrible, there were only a couple of people there and waited a very long time for our coffee and even longer for our food which was very average.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kellnkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric J, Owner at Custom Espresso, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi,
As the owner of custom espresso i find this review to be very disappointing and upsetting.
At Custom our passion is not just to serve world class coffee to our locals, but also to set the standard in customer service that makes us a diamond in the rough in this region. Since opening we have received nothing but excellent feedback online and in particular, in person, both in regards to our products and our team of friendly staff. We pour our soul into this business and to see that we have been portrayed as giving poor service really, really disturbs me.
I find that this review is very, very vague (no details of the menu items of why they were disappointing etc) and at this point I’m assuming it is just another snotty nosed competitor. However, if this is legitimately a real user, i would like to invite you to try us again on the house. Regardless of my pride and passion for this business, if the review is a real one, i would be horrified knowing that this is the experience you have taken with you and would love nothing more than to rectify it and show you what we are made of! If you read this and would like to take me up on the offer let me know with a private message here and i can organise to get you in here again for a taste of our brilliant coffee and food menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom Espresso also viewed

Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 
Toronto, Lake Macquarie
 
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Custom Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing