We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bateau Bay
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Whilst over here from England and staying with our family who live in Sydney we took the opportunity of a weekend away at this resort.

The drive from Sydney was quite easy and the resort was easy to find. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and the chalets allocated to us and the family were well appointed, comfortable, clean and tidy. We had wonderful ocean views.

When we arrived the heating for the enormous spa pool was not working but next day the had it up and running again and it was wonderful. The swimming pool was great for the kids.

It was off season and the site facilities were not fully open and it looked as though they could do with a bit of updating but we were not intending to use these anyway.

Overall a very good experience and we will probably go back.

Room Tip: Full price beachfront chalets are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is not the first time that I have stayed at this caravan park with my family, however through my recent experience I will probably never stay there again and would NOT recommend it to anyone. The staff were very rude and demanding (especially a guy called Steve) to myself and 2 other caravaning members of my family who were also staying at the park with their caravans and families. The lighting throughout the park at night was practically non existant and the managament should be investigated by the occupational and work safety authorities for creating this hazzard. The amenities look extremely tired and should have been renovated years ago - nothing has been done to them in years! For the $39 a night for a powered site, one would expect far better, especially as they advertise a 3 star rating. I would rate the park at about half that value.
In my experience as a caravanner, I usually rate a caravan park by the attitude of the staff at the front desk. In this case I give them a big fat 0!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

1. Location: The location of this resort is brilliant, right on a protected bay and sandy, clean beach. This must be one of the best seaside locations in New South Wales.
2. Facilities: The facilities are good for families, my children loved the heated pool with rapid ride. There is a small kiosk on site providing essentials such as milk, bread, newspapers, etc.
3. Accommodation: In my view, the accommodation is OK but not great.
We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom cabins. There was a double bed in the main bedroom, and 4 bunk beds in the other bedroom. We had a well equipped kitchen, a living room with a flatscreen TV and a dining table with 6 chairs. There was also 4 sofa seating in the living room. The bathroom had a spa bath with shower over it. There was ample room for a family of 4.
I did think that the level of cleanliness left a little to be desired. The wooden floor in the living room was not as clean as in other similar accommodation I have stayed in, I wore a pair of light blue socks when in the cabin during our 2 day stay (we were out most of the days) and the soles of my socks were brown at the end of our stay.
There were cobwebs in the ceilings of both the second bedroom (with the bunk beds) and the living room.
The fans in the main bedroom and the living room were visibly mouldy (see photo).
The carpet in the bedrooms was dated and had some stains.
The bathroom, however, was very clean. Go figure.
Sure it's not marketed as a 5 star resort but I think they should do a more thorough job with the cleaning of the cabins as they are letting themselves down when you compare this resort with other similar resorts in the same price category.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I planned a mini holiday for my family, found this place by accident.
Staff was excellent & very helpful, stayed in a great cabin with our own private spa. Thoroughly enjoyed our time & we will be coming back for many years to come.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kallex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This park has the most unfriendly rude staff I have ever encountered in the office. The ladies in this office are awful. They offer no help, are rude, don't know how to use the booking system properly. Don't ask for a late checkout as this is way too much work for them to manage even when the park is almost empty. The amenities blocks are so old and dirty you will cringe everytime you need to use them. They don't even offer normal toilet paper. I will never stay here again. The other campers on either side of us were also complaining about the awful staff. A note to the owners. Get some new staff if you want this business to continue running and build new amenities blocks. What an awful place. Never again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bakovenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I called these ladies after my stay at the entrance reef resort on Nov 9. They offered me a cabin for less than the full price because I was desperate to get out of there. They were wonderfully helpful and sympathetic from our horrible experience. They gave us a bottle of wine as well! The place was lovely and quiet the beach was literally 20metres away and there is a heated pool and spa set at 29degrees all day every day, they have movies every night for the family or kids to watch and there is plenty of games a tennis court and basketball and volleyball net too. Also plenty of privacy, they even have a couples cabin :) it's an amazing experience and me and my partner will definarely be returning there for many years to come :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Found this place by accident and did not want to leave. A beautiful beach on one side and magnificent trees on the other. Staff were great. Pool was fantastic for adults and kids. Facilities were very clean and well maintained. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bateau Bay
5.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,077 reviews
5.1 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
1.6 mi away
Kims Beachside Retreat
Kims Beachside Retreat
#1 of 1 in Toowoon Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
173 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shelly Beach Holiday Park
Shelly Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Shelly Beach
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Beach Resort

Address: 10 Bateau Bay Rd, Bateau Bay, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bateau Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bateau Bay
Price Range: $124 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Lagoon Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort is the ultimate beachfront getaway! The park features a heated outdoor lagoon style swimming pool and spa complex, a tennis court and games room. Kids club is held every school holidays with craft and different activities to entertain the kids. We have 100+ powered sites and 53 self contained cabins. Our renovated 2 bedroom Beachfront Cabins have beautiful ocean views. With a Queen bed in the main bedroom and 2 sets of bunks, the cabin can cater for up to 6 guests but with a maximum of 4 adults. They have fully equipped kitchens, TV with Foxtel, air conditioning and a ocean view balcony. Family Cabins are large split level cabins that overlook the park. They have a Queen bed in the main bedroom and 2 sets of bunks in the 2nd bedroom. The cabin can cater for up to 6 guests but with a maximum of 4 adults. They have fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, TV with foxtel, and a balcony. The Garden Cabins are located in the centre of the grounds. These cabins are also 2 bedrooms and have a Queen bed in the main bedroom and 2 sets of bunks in the 2nd bedroom. The cabin can cater for up to 6 guests but with a maximum of 4 adults. They have fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, TV with foxtel, and a balcony. Studio Cabins are located at the southern end of the park. They can accommodate up to 4 - 6 guests. They have a double bed in the main bedroom and 1 to 2 sets of bunks (depending on which villa is available) in the open plan living area. These cabins have a small kitchenette. All linen in the cabins are provided (except beach & pool towels). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Lagoon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing