We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage for the disabled”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Ghyll, Buckden

The Ghyll cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Ghyll cottages
Across rear garden to cottages & hills beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Ghyll cottages
Across rear garden to cottages & hills beyond
D/st. double bedroom from en suite bathroom
D/st. bedroom as a twin room
D/st. en suite bathroom with spa bath
Up/st. bathroom
Up/st. twin bedroom
View towards Buckden Pike from up/st. bedroom
Buckden, Upper Wharfedale, below Buckden Pike
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Buckden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peter C
Petts Wood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage for the disabled”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A superbly appointed, comfortable cottage in a peaceful and beautiful setting. Many lovely walks from the village which is well-endowed with two excellent restaurants and a good pub!
The facilities at the cottage for the disabled were excellent

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 65+
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2012
Thank you so much for sending a review; we heartily agree with your comments about the range and quality of local walks. We're glad that the cottage facilities worked for you and, hopefully, you will have the confidence and desire to return one day.

David and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L13eaw
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A real gem loved it.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed at Swallow Ghyll. The cottage is on two floors, one bedroom being downstairs, ideal for someone with limited mobility, with an ensuite bathroom/wetroom kitted out for the disabled traveller. The bedroom upstairs also has its own ensuite. The cottage is spotlessly clean and very, very well equipped. It is close to the Buck Inn (100 yards) where the food is good and reasonably priced and close to the Shop and Tea Room. There are lovely views from the cottage. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend anyone to stay at any of the cottages at Dalegarth. You will receive a very warm welcome.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write and submit a review. We really do appreciate your comments - and support - and do hope we shall be able to welcome you back one day.

David and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletc
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Dales.”
Reviewed May 31, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
8
people found this review helpful

This was our third and not last visit to Dalegarth. We stayed in the Ghyll cottage which had the most beautiful views of the Dales. On our arrival there was a fresh pint of milk awaiting us and plenty of tea, coffee and sugar to start us off. We had two bedrooms, two bathrooms both with showers , which is very convenient, when two ladies are getting ready. There is plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space for all our cloths. the towels and bed linen are of a very good quality and the beds are very comfortable. In the lounge there was a good size T.V.
with a D.V.D. Video player and Sky TV. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you would need. The whole house was spotlessly clean.
We were able to visit many of the attractions with easy due to the location e.g. The Lake District, Beatrix Potters House, Castle Howard, The Beamish Museum, and much more.
Can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orjan_ahl...
Ramdala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in beatyful setting and great proprietor.”
Reviewed October 12, 2009 for a stay in September 2009
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I had a perfect fortnight at Heron Ghyll. It was well equipped, meticulously clean and well adapted to our needs (I am disabled and the functionality of the bathroom turned out to be very good). What surpassed our expectations by far was the hospitality and pleasant care of our hosts: Mr and Mrs Lusted

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharfedal...
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Buckden, Upper Wharfedale- great place for a holiday!”
Reviewed December 19, 2008
6
people found this review helpful

Dalegarth/The Ghyll Cottages are situated in Buckden and are an excellent place to stay. The owners are friendly, helpful and kind- nothing is too much trouble. The Ghyll Cottages have facilities for the disabled and all the cottages are warm and comfortable with every facility. A wonderful base for a Dales holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
801marit
hillegom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: slaapkamer en badkamer boven en beneden en de gezelligheid van huisje en de ligging.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
If only my Dutch was better, I could appreciated more fully your very generous comments - 'thank you' Google translator for coming to my rescue! My wife and I were so glad to learn that the cottage met the needs of your elderly parents - and, of course, yourselves. We feel sure that such first-hand experiences, once shared through a Review, will give others confidence. It was a genuine surprise to receive your Review and we thank you for your time in writing. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back one day! With very warm regards, David and Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$561
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing