We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, as always”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dalegarth, Buckden

'Dalegarth', Buckden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Dalegarth', Buckden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
'Dalegarth', Buckden
'Dalegarth' kitchen
'Dalegarth' house bathroom (incl. sauna room)
'Dalegarth' view of Upper Wharfedale from balcony
'Dalegarth' up-Dale balcony view in winter
'Buckden', Upper Wharfedale, below Buckden Pike
Wharfedale Hay Meadows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Buckden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
juleslen8...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, as always”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from another relaxing weekend at this beautiful accommodation with wonderful hosts.
Looking forward to our next stay in February and the re-opening of the Buck inn to complete this amazing location.
We can't recommed Dalegarth enough if you haven't been you really are missing out on lovely cottages,great views and amazing walks.... A must do holiday.
Many thanks
Julie and Andrew see you soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2017
Dear Julie and Andrew
We are in Madrid! Imagine our surprise and delight to receive your Review. Thank you so much for your kind words. We knew that you both have a love for the Dales and feel that your comments will surely encourage others to discover this glorious part of the world. Hopefully staying at Dalegarth! Warm regards, David and Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin230...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, excellent area for Walking”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodation ( Number 10 only ) - great kitchen with all the modern appliances and a good size. The lounge diner is on the first floor as the the kitchen to take advantage of the great views from the house of the Dales. The double bedroom is also on the first floor and has an en suite shower and toilet. Accommodation is very clean and to a high standard. There is a twin room on the ground floor and a bathroom with shower and sauna. Parking is on the drive of the property.
Bird feeders are supplied and some seed, though I would recommend taking white sunflower hearts as these attracted a lot of different species. Was great having breakfast watching the many birds on the balcony. Pheasants and rabbits also in the gardens.
There are a number of easy to hard walks in the area that can be done from the doorstep. Favorite local walk was from Buckden to Cray to a pub lunch time meal at The George in Hubberholme and back.
We did this late on our holiday and would have liked time to do it again. Fully recommend the George for a friendly welcome.
Best walk was the waterfalls at Ingleton. We paid £12.00 to park and the walk is said to be 4 miles but feels more to be honest. Great scenery and lots of photos taken.
We had a great weeks holiday here and would return and recommend to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2017
Martin, what a marvellous surprise to read your most generous Review. So glad that you discovered The George; one of our favourite haunts. I feed one of the pheasants every day from a large spoon and will certainly try the white sunflower suggestion. Both Sue and I look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Best wishes, David and Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda G
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Heron Ghyll, Buckden”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

In the middle of Wharfdale, Yorkshire Dales. The property was exceptionally well appointed, everything you need to begin a holiday, even a starter of coffee and tea, washing up liquid,all cleaning products. All we needed was our food. The cottage was spotless and very welcoming plenty of extra bedding should the weather turn cold. Ideal location to explore the Dales, walks literally everywhere. Lovely people on hand if you needed anything. Would highly recommend we shall definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
Your Review has arrived on Sue's birthday - and it was a wonderful surprise 'present'. Thank you so much for your comments; we find them so encouraging and we trust others will gain confidence from them as well. We look forward to your next visit and, in the meantime, 'au revoir'. Warm regards, David and Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleslen8...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have been visiting Dalegarth for over 25 years with family and friends, not only have the amazing standards been maintained by David and Susan they keep getting better.
A beautiful cottage with fabulous views and everything you could possibly need for a relaxing break, fantastic walks on the door step and lovely pubs a stroll away.
We would recommend to anyone seeking top quality accomadation and welcoming friendly hosts, simply a must for a stay in the Dales.
Can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
"Thank you" is really inadequate for the kind words of your Review. We always hope that potential Guests might gain confidence from our Reviews and to get such glowing comments from people who have been visiting over a long passage of time is all the more appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Our sincere regards, David and Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PandS-Wom...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Dalegarth and The Ghyll numerous times in the past 30 years, firstly before children, then with children and now post-children. It has been a few years since our last visit, but this perfect accommodation in the most magnificent location is the combination to draw us back again. Our hosts, David and Susan made us so welcome that we felt as though we had been greeted by old friends. The weather was very kind for the end of October so we managed a trip up Whernside which was extra special. The cottage was spotless and very well appointed with every conceivable requirement provided. The view from the large lounge window is to die for and helps you appreciate one of the finest locations in the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
My! Our ears - or should that be eyes? - are burning! Thank you so much for your Review. We aught to use your very kind comments on our website. Hopefully, prospective Guests will take confidence from your comments. Many, many thanks - Au revoir! Susan and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginelle H
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beauty in comfort!”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were impressed with how beautifully appointed this cottage was, with solid oak furniture, comfortable beds, fluffy duvets, a sauna and corner bath, and just about every home comfort you could wish for. All rooms were of generous proportions, including the kitchen. But the standout feature of the house was the stunning view from the big glass windows at the back, or out on the balcony. It was hard to take in the perfect panorama of hills, forests and meadows, watching the array of wildlife including lambs, lapwings, swifts, woodpecker, and underneath us on the lawn, the resident pheasant with his attendant harem. You could even watch more distant critters with the telescope provided. Wonderful place, super friendly and helpful hosts.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Dear Ginelle
Thank you so much for this Review. My word, you are efficient, having only left us yesterday! Reviews are so important, because they reflect a 'Guest-view' of our property and its environment; hopefully yours will give added confidence to its future readers. A most sincere 'thank you', once again, and we're glad your stay re-energised you for the months to come. Regards from us both, David and Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah W
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quite delightful in every way!”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in Buckden many times but this was the first time at Dalegarth. The property is extremely well designed, very well appointed, exceptionally clean and with stunning views of Upper Wharfedale from the upstairs living space. I have nearly run out of adjectives!! Walking on the Dales Way can begin a few hundred yards from the front door, we did not use our car at all during the week. The location is quiet and peaceful yet just a short stroll from the centre of he village and its facilities. The owners are just next door and are very welcoming and friendly. Dalegarth offered us all the ingredients for the perfect holiday. I would award 10 stars if I could!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views from upstairs
Liked least: Having to go home!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2015
Wow! Not an expression we would normally write, but in this case you have left us with bright red ears and glowing feelings! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts - not only with us as owners, but with the wider internet 'community'. We really appreciate the time and effort you have taken to post a Review, since we know such items can be so beneficial to others searching for holiday venues in the Yorkshire Dales. Finally, we do hope to see you both again and to that end a most sincere 'au revoir' from us both. Susan & David Lusted
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing