We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nethergill Farm
Nearby Hotels
$140
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stone House Hotel(Hawes)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$324
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Yorke Arms(Pateley Bridge)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
48
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering accommodationfirst classhomemade breadlocal wildlifea real treateggslog burnerfarmbirdbyrehostsdaleswaystopmilesnaturehonestyartwork
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 54 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night whilst walking the Dales Way and it was the best night of the whole trip. We were warmly welcomed with flapjacks and our room was spotless, warm, clean and comfortable. The beds were great and we had a great night's sleep. I had a long hot soak in the bath - bliss. The evening meal - a beef casserole with crumble to follow - just hit the spot after a long day and for breakfast there was a fantastic selection of really yummy choices. Chris and Fiona are really committed to the farm and sustainable values and caring for the environment and nature. It is a bit off the beaten track - but was handy for us as the Dales Way goes right past the door but I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue-lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were walking the Dalesway and booked a room in the farm for one night en route. It is an educational experience staying on a working farm. Fiona met us with a pot of tea and delicious flapjack. Can I have the recipe Fiona? A hen followed us in the front door. On being shown to our room there were house martins nesting in the corner of the window and we could see them flying in and out and the babies peeping out of the nest. There was a hot bath to sink into. Dinner was tender white shorthorn beef from the farm. Wine could be purchased too. The only downside. We have never been anywhere where we were not offered real coffee after our meal. We chatted to the other couple then went up to our room. There is obviously tea/instant coffee in the room but it is not the same as a real coffee after a meal and sit in the lounge and chat. After a lovely breakfast we were on our way with a packed lunch. Fiona is an artist and her artwork is displayed in the house, with cards to buy. Chris and Fiona are doing a great job on the farm, making improvements and environmentally friendly. The dinner and packed lunch were rather pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here recently while walking the Dales Way. The food was great both in the evening and for breakfast. We enjoyed a lovely lamb hotpot, vegetable lasagne, full fry-up and local smoked trout. The hosts were very welcoming and it was a joy to stay in such a beautiful house. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornaofthedales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a brilliant addition to Nethergill Farm these barn conversions are, perfectly located on the Dalesway in the peaceful and inspiring Wharfedale. Chris and Fiona have created something very special here, a working farm with traditional values, care for the environment, wildlife and nature, together with the most genuine hospitality and wonderfully comfortable accommodation. I thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to enjoy all the beauty of the dales without sacrificing anything to comfort. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked for B&B and an evening meal for the last night of our holiday and although it was more expensive than the places we usually stay at we thought it would be a lovely end to our holiday. On arrival I was surprised to find a lot of the paint was peeling off the front door and the garden resembled a wilderness, not a good first impression. Whilst we were given a nice welcome we were taken up to our room and when I went to look at of the window I noticed that the window frames were covered in green mould. I have no complaints about the room or the ensuite just the state of the window frames which must not have been cleaned for quite a while.
When we went down for our evening meal the dishes were palced on a table in the room and we had to help ourselves to the beef stew and vegetables.The gravy had not been thickened and was very watery and not really enjoyable. Then we noticed there was another small dish of fruit crumble and cream which we once again helped ourselves to and no offer of tea or coffee to finish off the meal. The breakfast was nothing to write home about but adequate.
Whilst the farm is situated in a lovely area I feel that it is very overpriced at £85per room per night for bed and breakfast and £19 per person for the evening meal. Maybe we should have kept to our normal price range and not tried to have a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nethergill, Owner at Nethergill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We are so sorry that your stay at Nethergill Farm did not meet your expectations. It is no excuse, but unfortunately you visited Nethergill at the end of a year of very harsh and unforgiving weather conditions. The front door did have peeling paintwork and as planned earlier in 2012, will be replaced in mid November. We have also ordered 4 new window frames to be replaced at the same time. Nethergill is 1200 feet above sea level and as such is subject to harsher elements than most.

Our evening meal has always been serve yourself, as indicated on our website. Our
rare breed White Shorthorn beef casserole has been universally enjoyed by other
guests and we are really sorry it was not to your taste. If guests would like tea and
coffee we provide a jug of fresh milk and they make tea and coffee in their room and
bring it down to enjoy in the large sitting room on the comfy leather settee in front of the wood burning stove.

We won the Deliciouslyyorkshire Breakfast award in 2010 and feel we have
improved and added to our breakfast many times since our award. We are always
striving to improve, but I am sorry Nethergill did not fulfil your hopes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews