We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing Weekend”

Eldon Country Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Preston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eldon Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Preston
Berwick-upon-Tweed
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishing Weekend”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great stay with really friendly hosts, comfy beds and a good breakfast. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay a complete pleasure. We got a real soaking fishing at the nearby 'Stocks' fishery and on arrival back at the hotel our host sorted out all our dripping fishing gear for the next days fishing, even to the extent of the use of her tumble dryer. Five stars, would use again. (lovely house by the way)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishingmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The room:
We just got back from a 2-night stay in Eldon Country Hotel's family room. We were in a lovely purple attic room (Settle) with a great big bed for us and 2 little camp beds for the kids under the eaves. Still plenty of room to walk round the room too. Big tv, nice power shower, fluffy towels, plenty hot water, even our kettle was purple! Much much nicer than we expected for the £75 per room per night. We were delighted and though I was confused over price when paying, this was superb value for money.
Fresh milk was in the fridge on the landing below (or would have been if over guests hadn't swiped it!) - a nice change from the UHT (tho UHT in the room would be handy when I'm in my PJs or when guests swipe the milk in the fridge!). Camp beds were great for our kids (age 6 and 9) and they were very cosy - slept very well.
Service
We arrived at teatime and we arrived to a little note and our key, as agreed in a advance. Cheryle also left us her mobile number which was handy when I needed to know when breakfast was available. The service is quite 'hands-off' during the afternoon/evening but you can easily get hold of Cheryle during the morning at breakfast if you need anything. Our little boy had been sick during the first night and I'd tried to scrub up the carpet but mentioned it to Cheryle in the morning and before long she'd zipped in and given it an extra clean and changed his duvet cover too. No grumbles at the extra hassle at all.
Breakfast
Huge and hearty full English was great. You can pick whatever you like from all the usual fried options and our kids thought it was the best restaurant ever! Tonnes of cereals to choose from too, plus grapefruit. Cheryle kindly gave us fresh water for our walking bottles too.
Location
Eldon House is a gorgeous gorgeous old house, respectfully maintained. Ignore the website, it must be out of date. Great job with decor - it's much lovelier than the pics on the website. No bar but there is a lounge with board games etc. We had no time for that but we did have a wander round the lovely garden. Long Preston is a nice Dales village with a fairly busy road running through it. It has 2 nice friendly pubs serving good food (and Boar's Head will forever be where my kids learned to play pool!). Short drive from Malham and Clapham kind of area.

Overall fabulous for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We booked into the Eldon Country Hotel as we couldn't find anywhere else near Malham that would allow a one night stay on a Saturday. We were met by the owner who was very friendly and took us up to our room, told us about breakfast times and where there was nearby to eat. We were in an attic room and I got the impression that we were next to the owner's living space, which felt a little strange in a hotel (although this is really a B&B). The room looked to be a triple room where two of the beds had been pushed together to make a double, so had two mattresses of differing firmness. As we'd booked a standard double I can only assume that all the other doubles were booked for more than one night so we got a makeshift double. Having spent all day walking we needed showers, unfortunately the boiler for our room wasn't working so there was no hot water. We went downstairs and rang the bell, eventually someone came and asked us if it was a problem with the hot water and told us it had just been fixed but would be 45 minutes until the water was hot again, when it did come back it turned out the controls for the shower were the opposite to the way they looked. The breakfast in the morning was a generous full English although it might have been helpful to have a menu on the table as we had no idea what was on offer for breakfast. As we were leaving we saw what looked to be a nice lounge with some board games but we weren't told about it on arrival and there was no information in the room about anything so I'm not sure if it was available for guests to use. This could be a really nice B&B with not much effort, for example the bedside lamps in our room weren't plugged in and there was no alarm clock, it would have been helpful to have some information in the room too

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Outatime2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherylestirk, Owner at Eldon Country Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
In response ... Firstly our rooms have super kingsize beds in which can be made into twins (never been a problem before!!) the mattresses are identical otherwise they couldn't be zipped together!!so fail to agree that they are if different firmness...
Mistakenly the cleaner must have unplugged the lamps , sorry you found it a hassle to plug tbem back in again...this will be checked in future.
We never have a problem at breakfast time as we simply explain to everyone that they can have a full english breakfast or any combination they choose , if they are unsure it is easily explained hence no need for a menu. A menu woukd have been provided had you asked!!!
Again because you said there was no hot water we natuarally presumed the water needed to be put back on . This room is let every week and nobody has encountered the problem with the dial being the wrong way round ... Tried it myself and its just like all the others???
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay ... And not sure of your opening titke "work needs to be done" which portrays a very different story to the majority of our guests... The residents lounge is very obviously a "residents lounge" a d not sure if your comment regarding owners accomadation as we live in tbe cottage at the side ???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great for a short break and very handy for visiting Settle or Skipton. Booked a couple of rooms for ourselves and son and his girlfriend. Both rooms were lovely and the sitting room and breakfast room looked at if they had recently been decorated. The hotel interior looks nothing like their website and has a modern baroque style. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean and had all facilities you would expect. Nice touch - fresh milk in a fridge on middle floor with jugs to help yourself. There isn't a bar or restaurant facilities but the village has two lovely pubs within 5 minute walk. We ate at The Boars Head and it was lovely with a great atmosphere and the people were very friendly. Breakfast was very good quality and very well served. Overall couldn't fault this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH YORKS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I arrived at 2.30 on sat to find no one there to greet us .Allot of keys and notes were left on a table, we had never been before it was giving us directions how to find our room which we found quite quickly. It did give a mobile phone number in case we needed anyone.
First impression of the room was nice. I'm a housekeeper so tend to look more. we decided to go and look for the lounge etc which was nice but there was no one about.
The room seemed cold in the evening. but it was away from the traffic
The breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherylestirk, Owner at Eldon Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Sorry to hear you were disappointed!!! Firstly our checkin time is from 3 pm unless by prior arrangement , hence you arrived half hour early , out of courtesy I left you a key so you wouldn't be kept waiting , you found your room with ease and i caught up with you not long after !!! This way it gives people flexibilty with check in times and we have never had a problem before . I wish you would have mentioned this to us upon an explanation woukd have been given .. There hasn't been a sauna or bar since we took over and not advertised either??? there are two very adequate pubs in the village and by having the bar open it encouraged late night drinking and possible disturbance to sleeping guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed overnight for a relaxing weekend away. Lovely room with excellent standard of decoration. Our room was beautifully decorated, warm and very comfortable, with everything we needed for our stay there.. The bed was so comfortable and it was so quiet. Breakfast was good and served in a beautiful dining room. Great place to stay. Cheryl and Danny are very friendly and helpfull. Will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed last year, but forgot to leave a review.
Cheryl and Danny had only been there 4 weeks and what they had achieved in that time was a credit to them both.
Our welcome was so warm and we were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived.
Our room had been beautifully redecorated, and dressed to a high standard. It had everything you needed including a large flat screen TV. Nothing was a problem to the owners, and went out of their way to help you.
We took a lovely walk right from the door, around the stunning local countryside.
We had a nice bar meal and real ale in the friendly local pub, a short stroll away.
Breakfast was scrumptious with plenty of locally produced food, and again nothing was too much trouble.
The rate we paid was very good for this standard of accommodation, and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Any would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Preston
4.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.3 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldon Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldon Country Hotel

Property: Eldon Country Hotel
Address: Church Street | Long Preston, Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Long Preston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Preston
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Eldon Country Hotel Long Preston, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing