We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful countryside, lovely relaxing Inn”
Review of The Maypole Inn

The Maypole Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Preston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Maypole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Preston
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside, lovely relaxing Inn”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We wanted to find a dog friendly pub in a lovely location and that was exactly what you get with the Maypole.
The menu is excellent, home cooked, comfort food, just what you need after a walk in the dales. The hospitality is great and all the locals were very welcoming, with lots of advice on where to visit.
Long Preston itself is very quiet, but fantastic central location for visiting Settle, Skipton and the beautiful Ingleton which has amazing waterfalls.
We had the best weekend ever, relaxing, walking and drinking... just what you need to take away the stresses and strains of every day life.
Want to go back every weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
62
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Tent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Me, the mrs and the dog decided to go the Yorkshire Dales for a weekend hoping to get a bit of R&R. We have never been to the lakes or anything like this in England and are certainly not walkers. We stayed in Long Preston which was perfect, 2 pubs, 1 shop and situated between Skipton and Settle. The Maypole was exactly as I imagined - log fire, real ale, amazing home cooked food, friendly locals....a proper country pub. We had a change of scenery down at the Boars because it had Sky sports and dogs were also welcome.

Sunday morning we thought we had better do a spot of walking so had about a half an hour to go and do the Ingleton waterfall trail. It was perfect for us, a 2 hour walk and discovered some spectactular scenery. We had worked up a bit of an appetite so stopped off for a spot of lunch in Settle which was also lovely.

Everthing about the Maypole and the Dales lived upto our expectations. I have never been so relaxed in years and will definately be returning in the future to explore more of the Dales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YakkerStokeonTent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happywanderers
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a one night stay at The Maypole during dreary February. When we arrived, although the pub is very dated there was a welcoming fire on and Richard and his very pleasant staff soon made us feel at home. We stayed in Room 4, which was a huge family room - furniture very dated, but spotlessly clean and warm - quaint. We did make the mistake of leaving the window open during the night, and the road was surprisingly busy - so we soon got up to close it! The evening meal was delicious and faultless, as was the hearty breakfast. Great shame Richard and Elspeth are retiring - they will be a hard act to follow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywanderers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A group of us often stop here for a meal after a day in the Dales. It never fails to impress. It serves above average pub food, and four of us all considered the chips to be the best we'd had in ages. The beer choice is also very good. Parking is easy behind the pub.Will definitely keep returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stopped off here for lunch on the way back from the coast. I was expecting much - probably a microwave meal. What we got was a log fire, great homemade food (I had nut roast which was splendid - Veggie pub food is usually bland and boring but this was great) and a range of ales on the bar. Worth stopping for a meal if you are in the area. (A little lacking in atmosphere mind)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snodnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day weekend at the Maypole and highly recommend staying there, we received a very warm welcome from Robert and his staff and were shown to our extremely comfortable room.Later we had a wonderful evening meal and after that we decided that we would return each evening for our meals and we were not disappointed at any time.We found that the breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and were sufficient to last us until the evening meal.The Maypole also serves local real ales and is a centre of the community,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again,Many thanks to Robert and his staff for all their attention they cannot be faulted

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardpegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day break and stayed at the Maypole Inn after being recommended by friends and we were not disappointed.From the moment we arrived we were greeted and made to feel welcome,the room we had was extremely comfortable and we could not fault the evening meals that we chose from the extensive menu,all the items are sourced locally and you can really taste the flavours.The breakfasts were also terrific and we found that we had enough to last til evening.The beers are locally brewed and all the staff were friendly and helpful and we will not hesitate to recommend or stay here again.thanks once more to Robert and his staff

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricktheman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Preston
3.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
12.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
15.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maypole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maypole Inn

Property: The Maypole Inn
Address: Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Long Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Maypole Hotel Long Preston
The Maypole Inn Long Preston, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing