We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm friendly”
Review of The Tennants Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tennants Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Warm friendly”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked a family room via late rooms but due to taking the dog could not have family room so had 2 rooms next door at top of small stairs. Our room had large cast iron double ended bath and large bed. The other room was smaller and more basic. Was lovely and warm, loads hot water bed comfy. Breakfast in morning was fantastic, lovely service. Great pub would like to return

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    90
    35
    18
    15
See reviews for
56
153
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SUFFOLK
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We found this gem whilst on holiday, we ate here 6 nights out of 7, the food was fantastic, triple cheese pie and sticky toffee pudding highly recommended, roaring fire, helpful staff and fantastic food what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Myself and my partner went for a two night stay at the Tennants Arms, we stayed in a standard room 'Wensleydale' the room was fantastic for a 'standard room' it was spacious, clean, a lovely bed & furniture with an en-suite, the room was cosy and warm. After a warm welcome by the staff we had an evening meal in the bar, the food was delicious and was nicely washed down with drinks from the bar.

The location of the hotel is great, no noise at night from any traffic. The views are spectacular, Kilsney Crag is to the left of the hotel and the views of the hills to the front are amazing. After spending the day walking over the Yorkshire moors we arrived back at the hotel to have a nice soak in the bath before heading downstairs for an evening meal in the bar again. What can I say, the food was as good as it was on the first night. Sat next to the open cast fire eating our meal and having drinks was just fantastic.

We had such a lovely time that we can't wait to return again and bring the rest of the family with us and the dog.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Tennant Arms for an evening meal as it was close to the B&B we were staying at.
It was fairly busy when we first arrived and we asked for a table to which we were directed to a side room that had one spare table with all the others reserved.
We then had to ask for a menu & whether we should go back to the bar to order to which we were advised that they would come back to the table to take our order. We sat there for about 20 minutes waiting for someone to return but although the two staff kept walking past with plates for other tables neither acknowledged us and in fact were quite obvious in ignoring us. A couple who were staying at the hotel came and sat at another table near us and advised us to order at the bar. I went to the bar which was in view of where we were sitting & both staff were standing talking to each other & seemed surprised when I asked to order.
Our food eventually arrived with both our starters and mains being served jointly with the other couple's rather than by table & the waiter shouting out "who ordered xxx?"
The food when we got it was nice with absolutely huge portions (although my belly pork still had string attached to it!) and thankfully there wasn't too much delay between courses but it's a shame that the staff were totally indifferent to whether we were there or not and I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilli16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

When we arrived i was a little nervous as it looks tired and I had arranged for 9 of us to stay. We booked the only triple room in the pub at the most money £268 for 2 nights with breakfast and it was not as good as our friends rooms. it didn't have a headboard to the bed and the furniture looked like it was from ikea and the heating didn't work.Although when we mentioned it to the manageress she straight away got us 2 electric heaters. the bathrrom had been nicely done up. Luckily our friends rooms looked like they had been finished to a higher standard. Our teenager decided to stay at home at the last minute but although we had paid for the triple room the door to the ajoining room was locked. The corridors desperately need painting and the carpets on the stairs need cleaning , I did point out to the owner the huge cobwebs hanging down from the ceiling in the reception area but they were still there the next day. The food is excellent and the chef is doing a great job in the face of working for a owner who obviously not experianced in the trade. The first night we were there on the friday we had a table booked for 730pm and didn't get the food for about 1 and a half hours . the onwer was nowhere to be seen and not enough staff on even though the bookings that were in had reserved earlier in the week. One of the waiting staff was particularly grumpy and look at us daggers when we pushed 2 tables together so we could all sit together in the bar and made us feel uncomfortable as she kept turning around and staring at us . There is a nice open fire in the main bar and the breakfast was ok. we had a great time with our friends walking but there are so many great places to stay for less money that they need to raise there game and get a decorator in to paint the corridors and a carpet cleaner in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archiem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Called in on a cold wet Sunday afternoon to be greeted with a roaring log fire and very friendly staff.The manager quickly found us a table despite the place being packed and he showed us through to the best carvery I have been to in years.the selection of roasts was excellent and the choice of vegetables endless.It was all fresh and piping hot ,could not fault it.We were invited to go back for seconds but were too tempted by the puds at only £2.50 extra !Great value.

Well worth a visit -we wii definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My parents booked this hotel as a surprise treat for my wife and I. It was great. Lovely room, very friendly staff, great food evening and breakfast. Shower and bath really luxurious. Great location. Will be back and will bring the children.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyhayes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
3.0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennants Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennants Arms

Property: The Tennants Arms
Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennants Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing