We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tennant Arms Kilnsey Crag Yorkshire”
Review of The Tennants Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tennants Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tennant Arms Kilnsey Crag Yorkshire”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently had a great three nights at the Tennant Arms together with our Labrador Bentley who had a wonderful time. Bordondale our room was very spacious at the back of the hotel so very quiet as well. Loads of room for Bentley. A slight problem was the mattress which had seen better days and was very lumpy. On mentioning this immediately a solution was sought and found. Full marks for that. The surroundings are fantastic especially with the weather we had. Super big breakfasts together with home made strawberry jam for afters. 4 real ales went well with the welcome that us and Bentley got in the bar. Good value for money

Room Tip: Go for a back room but it doesn't matter very much as the road outside is very quiet after eight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    92
    34
    18
    16
See reviews for
56
158
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Called in for Sunday lunch with the family.We all had the Sunday roast of which there was a choice of about four different meats. I myself had the roast pork which was accompanied by a choice of eight different vegetables. This meal was first class and i would recommend it to any body. I will certainly call again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night mid- week stay which we booked at the last minute. My husband and I took our Labrador and were very pleased with the quality of the bedroom as sometimes you are given a sub-standard room if you have a pet with you. The furniture was good quality, the bathroom was lovely and there was a very fine view of Kilnsey Crag out of the window. We ate in the pub both evenings, and both breakfast and evening meals were tasty. The home- made pies and fish and chips to be recommended. It is very quiet at night and the pub is in a lovely spot on a B road not too far from the attractions of Grassington village and a few miles from Malham Cove which we visited. Staff were friendly and overall the trip was good value for money. We look forward to staying again and maybe bringing some friends along with us next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Met Russ and Liam today and the atmosphere was back to what it used to be a few years ago not like in recent years. Food was great , tasty and good value. Will be back again soon to try some more of the food and real ales.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent the weekend at this lovely pub, excellent meals on the Friday and Saturday evenings, generous portions too. Comfortable clean rooms followed by a very good well presented breakfast in the spacious wood paneled breakfast room. In the evenings plenty of space to sit outside, in the bar or in the residents lounge and enjoy the good beer selection. From here ample scope for good walking on the local dales. Makes an excellent base for a lovely break. hope to return having discovered this gem. So accessible but a little oasis.

Room Tip: If in a group the family room Craig View is very well appointed, actually two rooms in a "suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed as a couple for one night only on a saturday and were given Bishopdale room over looking the Cragg. As well as the Cragg it over looked the yard used for kitchen storage with piled up crates. Underneath us was the laundry room - the washing machine was going late into the night and was on spin cycle before 8am on the sunday morning. On arrival we were shown to our room and we left without any conversation with the establishment. There was very little intervention with the owners.

The room was a tad tired and the bath had a thick tide mark around it. The main decor was one of anyglypta.

The corridor that serviced the rooms had immensly creaky flooboards.

We booked the Tennants Arms on its real ale attraction - in particular Theakstons. We were dismayed to find no Theaskstons ( dispite all the parasols and menu boards depicting same), no dark beers and only Guiness in tins, as to the draft been "off".

We found it difficult to book an evening meal as we had to work around a large party booking for non residents. The evening meal and breakfast were of a high quality. However the staff although helpful were drastically under pressure to maintain a reasonable service. Wait times were lengthy. There is also no other establishment within walking distance as an alternative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelsWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 days here. Hotel was just perfect, The Swaledale room with ensuite was wonderful great view of the kilnsey crag. Food was perfect and the staff were a friendly too...You couldn't ask for a better place to stay... We will return soon ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyP0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
5.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
129 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
405 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
11.0 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennants Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennants Arms

Property: The Tennants Arms
Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennants Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Tennants Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing