We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, great food”
Review of The Tennants Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tennants Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, great food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Visited on a quiet December night; great pub food (huge portions!) and really good value (£10 for the biggest burger, chips and onion rings you have seen). Roaring fire, plenty of ales on offer. Will revisit when in the area next.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jono1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    92
    35
    18
    16
See reviews for
56
158
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great hotel spacious well appointed rooms tremendous food extremely friendly in a wonderful part of the world could not fault my families stay, 9 of us over boxing day and the 27th Great hotel spacious well appointed rooms tremendous food extremely friendly in a wonderful part of the world could not fault my families stay, 9 of us over boxing day and the 27th

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We recently went to the Grassington Dickensian Festival and stayed for the weekend in a B + B. This hotel was the nearest for a meal, and as the weather was bitterly cold and snow forecast (didn't arrive though) we went there for our evening meal. We were talking to the manager and he was new, apparently the hotel had taken a dip before he took over. He has turned it around and it was very cheery and warm. The meal was excellent and we went again the following evening.
I have read some of the reviews and they are quite damning but all I can say is that it must have changed remarkably because we couldn't fault the atmosphere, the food or the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Chose the tennant arms as a place to get our head down on the way home from up north.
So glad we did.nicely decorated room.excellent food with good choices all accompanied with a pint nod a log fire,bliss.will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just stayed here for 3 nights. Very relaxing stay. Room was very comfortable. We ate there every night as the food was delicious and very good value for money, so much food I could not eat it all! Managers were on holiday but the new owner Russell and his son were running things, they were both really friendly and helpful. This was our first time in Yorkshire and we would not hesitate to stay here again, really good location for travelling around the dales.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A wonderful weekend in such a cosy pub. The rooms were lovely and bed comfortable. We ate there every night and the food was first class. We will definitely visit again as Mark and Kay made us so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 days and was made most welcome by all stay, the rooms are fantastic and varied, I was lucky to be able to view most rooms picking a small but very comfortable one as my stay was alone, the bar is friendly warming and with a grand log fire burning all day. A great base for walking with direct access onto the moors from your front door. I had some great walking days although wet and windy the bar food, beer and fire we all welcomed you back in from the rain. The food is fantastic, pleantyful so much so that i chose only to eat here at the pub.

Highly recommend this great hotel for your Dales stay, i will be coming back for another stay.

Room Tip: As the staff when booking as every room is unique from standard to four poster with master bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckberry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
5.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
126 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
11.0 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennants Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennants Arms

Property: The Tennants Arms
Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennants Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Tennants Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing