We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable friendly brilliantly disabled friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Godney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were a party of 3 including a disabled gentleman with an electric wheelchair, needing a hoist for transfers. We were so happy with the spacious Riverside Suite accommodation that was so comfortable, and we were able to relax! Run by a lovely family who looked after us. Thank you Terry, Debbie and family.

Room Tip: Recommend the Riverside suite for spaciousness if you have wheelchair, big equipment needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillBlakeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Whole family stayed for local wedding. Whilst during our stay we were satisfied with facilities and the way we were looked after we were very disappointed with the aftersales service. Having left a bag behind containing several items no attempt was made to contact. Finally we realised we must have left items behind and contacted the owners. We were shocked to learn that they had the items and then charged five pounds for returning them. Given the fact that the whole family must have paid nearly£2000 for several rooms we would have expected significantly better service.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleGateFarm, Owner at Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good afternoon. I hope you enjoyed your stay. I was unaware until you rang that a notebook, belt and two items of underwear had been left behind as they were put in the lost property box by staff. We do usually ring people and tell them if items have been left behind. We are not the only establishment that makes a small fee to cover our costs to return lost property and I can assure you that we did not make any money from the small amount you were charged. The items were then promptly returned to you and we can only assume that they were received. As for being expensive - we did reduce the cost for the second night (and we didn't have to as the notice was very short) as two members of your group did not stay as booked. So you feel unjustly dealt with at having to pay £5 to return lost property but do not mention the £70 goodwill reduction we gave you on the bill. What can I say to that.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent a few days here recently as it was in an ideal location for both Wells and Glastonbury.
The Farm itself is in a great location off the beaten track with the River Sheppey right along side
with fields to the rear of the building.We stayed in a riverside suite which was both spacious and clean with a large wet room with shower, the room was also warm when the heating was on but a portable heater was also available in the room as was a small fridge was was a nice touch, breakfasts were good with cereals, fruit juices, fruit and a selection of cooked meals available.
Another added bonus is the Pub/restaurant right next door which is great if you are normally the driver!...booking a table at weekends advisable.The only minus points I would have to make is that unfortunately there is a chicken farm right across the road that does create a bad smell
and if the wind is the wrong direction it does make for a smelly experience, there was also a lot of dog mess on the grassed area from their two large dogs which is an area used by visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBS_Fairford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We wanted to visit Glastonbury carnival and were looking for a place to stay overnight. This was ideal and added a really nice touch to our break. However, we were very lucky because we handed thought through how we were going to get from the farm into Glastonbury without taking the car. Fortunately, Terry was heading that way and so he dropped us off and we were lucky enough to get a taxi back.

The accomodation was great and we couldn't have asked for more. It was very clean and as we had a one of the rooms overlooking the river, the scenery was nice too - lots of open countryside.
Terry and his family, dogs and cat included, were very friendly. We immediately felt at home. The pub next door is a nice touch as well for a final drink in front of an open fire before braving the cold, all of a few steps away, to a warm room at the B+B.

If we ever need a place to stay in the Glastonbury area again, we will definitely return; we have already recommended it!

Room Tip: I've intentionally not commented on the location. It suited us because it was remote, but a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anji_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed for 3days lovely room comfy bed and good furnishings and the bathroom and shower were great.the room was warm also because it was November. Quite hard to find especially in the dark. The pub next door is open again.Has a good games room which is open all the time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this B & B a few times and each time the service has been 100%. Off the beaten track but work the journey. Terry is always helpful and they cook a lovely breakfast.
Will be returning next time in that way. Would always recommend DoubleGate Farm. (Shame the Pub next door has closed)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very good setting out off the way a bit but very quite. The host is a very charming man and does a very mean breakfast , the room was very good old farm house very good old farm building the bed was very comfortable and clean the bathroom was huge and a very big shower, good parking very secure, the swallow barn has a choice of self catering accommodation all are very nice.We never spent a lot of time in the room as we were there to see my niece who lives just down the road as it was her 40th birthday will be back there very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as the view is fantastic we stayed in room 1 in the old farm house which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOE186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Godney BA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Godney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Godney
Price Range: $108 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double-Gate Farm is situated in a pleasant position on the Somerset Levels, with fine views to the Mendip Hills. Double-Gate is a comfortable listed Georgian Farmhouse. We don't farm ourselves now but instead presently rent the farm out to other farmers. Somerset is a county full of surprises. An abundance of caves, gorges, waterways, wildlife, traditional crafts, beautiful gardens and memories of time past. It's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing