We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to spend some time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Godney B&B and Inns
South of England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely place to spend some time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We wanted to visit Glastonbury carnival and were looking for a place to stay overnight. This was ideal and added a really nice touch to our break. However, we were very lucky because we handed thought through how we were going to get from the farm into Glastonbury without taking the car. Fortunately, Terry was heading that way and so he dropped us off and we were lucky enough to get a taxi back.

The accomodation was great and we couldn't have asked for more. It was very clean and as we had a one of the rooms overlooking the river, the scenery was nice too - lots of open countryside.
Terry and his family, dogs and cat included, were very friendly. We immediately felt at home. The pub next door is a nice touch as well for a final drink in front of an open fire before braving the cold, all of a few steps away, to a warm room at the B+B.

If we ever need a place to stay in the Glastonbury area again, we will definitely return; we have already recommended it!

Room Tip: I've intentionally not commented on the location. It suited us because it was remote, but a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anji_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed for 3days lovely room comfy bed and good furnishings and the bathroom and shower were great.the room was warm also because it was November. Quite hard to find especially in the dark. The pub next door is open again.Has a good games room which is open all the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this B & B a few times and each time the service has been 100%. Off the beaten track but work the journey. Terry is always helpful and they cook a lovely breakfast.
Will be returning next time in that way. Would always recommend DoubleGate Farm. (Shame the Pub next door has closed)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very good setting out off the way a bit but very quite. The host is a very charming man and does a very mean breakfast , the room was very good old farm house very good old farm building the bed was very comfortable and clean the bathroom was huge and a very big shower, good parking very secure, the swallow barn has a choice of self catering accommodation all are very nice.We never spent a lot of time in the room as we were there to see my niece who lives just down the road as it was her 40th birthday will be back there very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as the view is fantastic we stayed in room 1 in the old farm house which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOE186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Booked Double Gate Farm B&B as was one of a few disabled accessible establishments local to a wedding at nearby Shapwick House.
Timings meant booking in very late, but communicated with Terry the owner who was very accommodating and allowed us to enjoy the wedding reception.
The 10 minute journey in theory took us a 'bit' longer due to lack of GPS (sat nav) signal, but when we got there we were totally gobsmacked at the welcome and the quality of one of the riverside suites (adapted outbuildings)
Totally impeccably decorated, every aspect of disabled accessibility thought of. A double & single bed in a very large suite. Loved the ceiling fan and all the small touches like grab stick, lowered basin as well as standard basin in bathroom.
Nothing too much trouble for Terry. The breakfast ordered the night before was indeed worthy of the awards it has been given. Service excellent.
Nice to see the B&B in daylight. Our suite alongside a river (railings made it totally safe)
All in all thoroughly recommend Double Gate to everyone, especially those with accessibility needs. Love to go again one day for a relaxing break

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiltsfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in one of the the riverview suites. Really well designed, accessible rooms which made it perfect for us (couple with toddler needing a bit of space!). Lovely welcome with a cuppa and a very friendly host in Terry. Breakfast was one of the best we'd ever had in a b&b, complete with local apple juice, cold buffet and kippers (for me) and vegan brekkie (other half).
Our little girl loved having the animals around (2 dogs, a cat and a field of sheep!).
Thoroughly recommend the Double-gate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

what a wonderful place for all disabled + able bodied location +facilities 1st class thanks terry

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maltesejoe152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godney
1.7 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Godney BA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Godney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Godney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double-Gate Farm is situated in a pleasant position on the Somerset Levels, with fine views to the Mendip Hills. Double-Gate is a comfortable listed Georgian Farmhouse. We don't farm ourselves now but instead presently rent the farm out to other farmers. Somerset is a county full of surprises. An abundance of caves, gorges, waterways, wildlife, traditional crafts, beautiful gardens and memories of time past. It's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing