We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Manila's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Juanita at the Fort

Cafe Juanita at the Fort
Ranked #163 of 580 Restaurants in Taguig City
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manila
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still Manila's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's no secret at all that Cafe Juanita at the Fort shares a spot in the list of great Filipino restaurants.

Too tired from a night long party on Christmas Eve, we went to the Burgos Circle strip to look for a place to dine on Christmas Day and was glad to find out that Cafe Juanita was open for dinner. The place is as always full but we were lucky to get seated. Christmas in the Philippines is synonymous to great food, and who can duplicate the Cafe Juanita bestseller Kare Kare among others. They turn simple native Filipino dishes to gourmet. Aside from the Kare Kare that tops our list, we've always enjoyed their Lapu Lapu with their special sauce and the Sinanglay.

Service is quick. The staff deserve a tap in the back for rendering service to loyal customers like us even on Christmas Day.

Good job Cafe Juanita, til the next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Earlisle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Weve been going to Cafe Juanita in the Fort for quite some time now. We used to go to the original pasig branch, but the fort was closer to us and parking was much better.we had our balikbayan relatives over for the holidays and so we brought them to cafe juanita. Our guests were very impressed. We ordered the twoway adobo and it tasted heavenly! The seasoning was just right. The kare-kare was again a show stopper and the lapulapu with tamarind sauce as a hit. The desserts were also very good and our guests were very impressed. Cafe juanita is always our favorite place for filipino food, and it never fails to impress every time.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“What happened to quality?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I went to cafe Juanita at the Fort yesterday to show my daughter's friend from Ukraine a sample of Filipino food. I have been to this restaurant on several occasions and each time I came out satisfied.

Unfortunately this last time, I was disappointed with the quality of the food we were getting. We first ordered lumpia, a Filipino spring roll for appetizers. The waiter said it was unavailable so we settled for the Vietnamese version. After a few minutes we were served a very greasy dish which looked and tasted like they were left-overs had been re-fried. The two-way adobo was also unsatisfactory because the topping, supposedly made of adobo flakes was not crunchy at all and looked like it was yesterday's left-over because it was too oily.

Although the Kare-Kare and sinanglay were ok, our disappointment with the above mentioned dishes spoiled our appetite.

We were seated outdoors to enjoy the sun and the breeze. It was a mistake because the flies came to share our food! Gross.

I should have listened to my daughter and tried another restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank b0h0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hands down- the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Im not one whos easy to influence nor do i follow trends. So when i heard about Cafe Juanita from friends, i thought it was all just classic exaggeration.... But boy was i wrong!

They REALLY DO make the best filipino food! they also have dishes that arent filipino- like the Paad Thai, Thai bagoong rice, ebi tempura and etc which are also very good. I had the impression they only sold filipino food, but they have a little bit of everything- but filipino being the majority. So heres the breakdown:

FOOD
-was amazing!
We had this heavenly dish of Pasta with Crabfat sauce and it was an out of this world experience. We also ordered the Fresh Corned Beef Sinigang wich had a small tasting sample for the soup to make sure you get what you want. The Tanigue Tail was very delicious and a change from the usual. We also had this genius of a dish called Sinanglay-- which is filleted fish wrapped in some native leaves and cooked in coconut. My Goodness! I could live on that dish alone forever! It was that good!

PRICES
-at first i thought it was kinda pricy, but when i saw the portions were good for 3-4 people, it was well worth it. Its also one of the cheapest in the area-- i mean hello!!! Were in The Fort!

SERVICE
-this is the first restaurant that i didnt have to keep begging for water! My glass is always refilled and when we ask for anything, we get it rightaway. Theyr waiters are quite polite and seem to know what theyr doing.

AMBIANCE
-make sure you have a reservation becozit gets really full especially on weekends and holidays. But its not impossible to get a seat if your early or if you dont mind waiting.

Overall, cafe Juanita never fails to impress me. It is always a go to when we have balilbayans.

Hands down, they have the best filipino food ever!!!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Headaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
263 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Try the crispy pork binagoongan and the fried lapu-lapu with tamarind sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I went here to celebrate a friend's birthday and was completely blown away by the quality of the food Filipino and Spanish at its heart, with a slightly modern twist. Our group of six ordered the crispy pork binagoongan, the crispy pata, the fried lapu-lapu with tamarind sauce, the bicol express, the aligue pasta, kare-kare, gambas and fried chicken strips. All were wonderful, but most especially the first three dishes. The pork binagoongan was unbelievably good!

Their fruit shakes were also pretty good (I had two glasses of the buko-lychee shake).

Service was very attentive and prompt.

Will definitely come back here on my next visit home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David_T_Zarraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Juanita at the Fort also viewed

Taguig City, Metro Manila
Taguig City, Metro Manila
 
Taguig City, Metro Manila
Taguig City, Metro Manila
 

Been to Cafe Juanita at the Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing