We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but a bit expensive...”

Geisha Modern Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #201 of 606 Restaurants in Taguig City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit expensive...”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I consider having Japanese food as one of the luxuries in dining that me and my family enjoy. I dined with friends this time and found the food to be quite expensive. Wanted to try the wagyu beef but it is way too expensive! Tried the angus beef as an alternative with chicken fried rice, it is good. Nothing to really brag about that I can say that I really enjoyed.
Good for a one time experience. But location wise, it is in the prime area where the "can afford" crowd is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xbs128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Expensive and average taste”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

For an ala carte meal for 4 people we spent around PHP 5,000.00 for an average Japanese fusion food. The restaurant is small with nice looking furnishing; tables, chairs and couches comfortable enough. Service very slow and the head waiter (waitress) was not knowledgeable of the promotions being offered by the Credit Cards. The food attendants/waiters and the Restaurant Manager should be efficient and adept in answering the queries of customers regarding their menu and whatever promotions their restaurant is offering.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, service and ambience”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a variety of maki and sushi and was fresh and delicious. Spider-roll and spicy tuna rolls were the highlights. Also the matcha tea cheesecake was delicious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sxjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Geisha Modern Japanese Cuisine, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear sxjc,

Thank you for dining with us. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and appreciate you taking the time to recognize the quality and freshness of our sushi - we really do take great pride in that. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Geisha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“True To Form”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Dined there Friday night. Excellent interiors, amiable and knowledgable staff (able to describe each dish on the menu in detail), artful and innovative plating of dishes and cooking that provides a delectable burst of flavors. The past reviews were not overstatements. The positive claims were spot on. My only complaint is about their contact number. I dialed a couple of times and another establishment, Red Kimono, would pick up. Kinda disorienting, especially if you're excited to make reservations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hot_tamale8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Geisha Modern Japanese Cuisine, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear hot_tamale8888,

Thank you for dining with us last Friday. We are glad you enjoyed the experience on so many levels and appreciate you taking the time to write about it. Please accept our apologies for the trouble you had getting in touch with us. Our phone numbers are +632 6213196 (land line) and +63917 5939040 (mobile). We hope to be of service to you again soon :)

All the best,

The Geisha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food and wonderful service”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We were a party of three had lunch here today (july 29, 2012) and we all loved it. We had spicy tuna maki, ebi tempura, sukiyaki noodle soup, angus beef teppanyaki, wasabi chicken and angus fried rice. Every single dish was absolutely lovely and very nicely presented.

What impressed me the most was the service. I have had one to many experiences of waiters in Manila not being knowledgeable and professional, but this was the very opposite. Geisha really stands out from the typical Manila experience, in a very good way.

Just to top of this praise, they also give very good value for money. We paid 2700 php, including drinks, before service charge. That is very affordable for this level cooking and service! :)

Helpful?
3 Thank Andre_Rakvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Geisha Modern Japanese Cuisine, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello Andre,

Thank you so much for that great review. We're glad you enjoyed dining with us and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisha Modern Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Taguig City, Metro Manila
Taguig City, Metro Manila
 
Taguig City, Metro Manila
 

Been to Geisha Modern Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing