We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Truly, a Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guana Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guana Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Certificate of Excellence
Road Town, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly, a Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I went over to Guana for the weekend initially intending to stay 2 nights. We have lived in the British Virgin Islands for many years but had yet to make it over to Guana. I could not believe what we had been missing when we got there! The lovely comfortable boat ride over to the island and the warm reception by the staff when we arrived were just the beginning. I don't even know where to start but let me just say, we ended up staying an extra night! We hiked a different trail everyday and loved exploring the island on our own. Guana is completely unspoiled and because it is private and has only a small amount of guests at one time it is very rare to come across anyone on the trails which makes you feel like you are truly alone on your island adventures. The food was delicious and the ladies in the kitchen and doing the service were warm and friendly. I just want to make a special note that the staff at Guana were incredible and really went above and beyond to accommodate us and make our stay one we will never forget. This is also made evident by the fact that all of the other guests we met while we were there were return guests some having come there annually for the last 20 years! The beaches were pristine and quiet, a perfect spot to read a book or have a snooze before grabbing an afternoon beer from the well stocked honor bar at White Bay. When we weren't hiking or beaching we went out on glass bottom kayaks, fishing off the dock and touring Guana's very own Orchard where Woo gave us coconuts to drink from as he guided us through the sugar cane and other exotic fruit trees of the Caribbean. We stayed in a newly renovated room which was beautiful and fresh feeling with our own private outdoor lounging area to relax in. The last night we stayed we watched a movie in the "Garden of Eden" on a projector which was pretty spectacular to be in such a beautiful setting, natures own cinema. Ok I am going to wrap this up now by saying that Guana is definitely somewhere we hope to return to at least once a year and somewhere we would definitely recommend highly to friends and family looking for a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBFKBJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
159
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were invited to our first ever destination wedding to Guana Island in the British Virgin Islands. What a beautiful little island for a private wedding or any private event for that matter. The Island is simply breathtaking and relaxing.

The resort itself was beautiful, extremely clean with all private cottages tucked into the beautiful terrain coupled with wonderful wildlife. We stayed in their Harbor House, which was elegant with a Jacuzzi and pool off your bedroom suite overlooking the Caribbean and Atlantic Ocean. The beach was fabulous.

Andrea was our main contact on this trip and Hanna and all staff for that matter at the resort couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay, which made for a wonderful stay. The food prepared by their chef was fabulous and their island organic vegetables were very healthy. Don’t miss the beach bar. It was a joy as the personalities of the folks working the bar made for a wonderful day of drinking and laughs. Do try their daily “drink specials”. They are awesome!

Lastly, do make time to get a beach side massage or in one of their suites with beautiful views of the Caribbean. Can’t say enough about their therapists, as they are warm and caring and what an excellent way to relieve stress after your flights or after a few days of hiking, snorkeling or kayaking in the blue waters.

I have traveled during my career to a few different small islands in the Caribbean, however I must say, Guana resort is now our favorite. I certainly will miss everything about this island. The only problem as most would say, you don’t want to leave.

JP

Room Tip: Harbor House Villa's......outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPSR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm not sure what I expected when I booked Guana Island Resort. The photographs were wonderful, but some of the text caused concern;. "Rustic" "Communal Meals" "All-Inclusive Meals". What I have to report is that there is absolutely no other resort (I hate using the word resort, because this was an experience.
Pros:
-Every request; done, every wish done, Hanna, Megan, Andrea and the lovely wait staff and even the mechanics and engineers were wonderful.My companion and I were speaking to the bartender at the beach bar and casually mentioned that we like chocolate before bedtime. That night fresh baked cookies were in our room. One night we missed the conch fritters at happy hour and we mentioned how much we liked conch fritters. Conch fritters were on the lunch menu the next day. The place is magical.
The food is very good and the variety was incredible. The best thing were the freshly grown organic vegetable from the island. Cooked to perfection. EVERY TIME.
Cons: NONE. For me that is. However ,you do need to do your research. This place is so super quiet and laid back that some may not like it. But if you want to really re-charge your batteries for a few days. This is the only place to go.

Room Tip: GET A VILLA! Get a Villa. Get a Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonzieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been all over the Caribbean for 20 years. You can find so many different experiences. If I had to pick five descriptors they would be -- caribbean traditional, communal, fabulous, expensive, and interesting. This was our first visit and we absolutely loved it. There were not very many people there during our visit but all were very interesting. You can take your meals privately or as a group. We tended to do breakfast and lunch as a couple, and then join the group for cocktails and dinner. They have a new chef who makes fabulous food. My wife had hurt herself before our trip and needed some help recovering. The massage therapist was excellent. Our room, on top of a crest, was right out of a travel magazine.

We loved going to Guana. You need to enjoy quiet, private and communal. It is a 10 on this scale.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mikedavis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week with my wife and we'll be back for sure. If you want a quiet place, decent food and incredibly friendly staff, not to mention a fantastic beach, this is your place. The new year's party was a riot, pork bbq, bonfire and a band in the beach all night long. And we got to make some wonderful new friends. Yes, the furniture can be upgraded and phones dont work half of the time but who cares.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tocho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently had the priviledge of spending a few days on the beautiful, tranquil Guana Island. This was an amazing experience with with every aspect of our stay being to a very high standard - accommodation, location, service, dining. The apartment we stayed in was outstanding and extremely well appointed, with a private pool & hot tub and amazing views over the bay and the other islands beyond. The principal contact during our stay was Andrea, who could not have been kinder or more helpfu, but we found all the staff extremely courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliageorge186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife, daughter and I just came back from a week on Guana island. It was a truly amazing and beautiful experience. It starts with the island itself: untouched nature, perfect beaches, blue water. The wildlife is really exciting: iguanas, crabs, pelicans and way more. The trails around the island are the best way to enjoy the nature. Our room was great: very nicely decorated, AC, comfortable beds and the best of all: our own pool in front of the door with an amazing view of the island and the beach. We even all jumped in the pool before breakfast, the perfect way to start the day! The food was top notch, everything really well cooked and so fresh! The staff is very helpful, friendly and fully dedicated to making feel just at home. The only problem: you'll never want to leave:-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guana Island
10.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
9.3 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Property: Guana Island
Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing