We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guana Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Guana Island to your Saves list
Guana Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Guana Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been all over the Caribbean for 20 years. You can find so many different experiences. If I had to pick five descriptors they would be -- caribbean traditional, communal, fabulous, expensive, and interesting. This was our first visit and we absolutely loved it. There were not very many people there during our visit but all were very interesting. You can take your meals privately or as a group. We tended to do breakfast and lunch as a couple, and then join the group for cocktails and dinner. They have a new chef who makes fabulous food. My wife had hurt herself before our trip and needed some help recovering. The massage therapist was excellent. Our room, on top of a crest, was right out of a travel magazine.

We loved going to Guana. You need to enjoy quiet, private and communal. It is a 10 on this scale.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mikedavis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
134
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week with my wife and we'll be back for sure. If you want a quiet place, decent food and incredibly friendly staff, not to mention a fantastic beach, this is your place. The new year's party was a riot, pork bbq, bonfire and a band in the beach all night long. And we got to make some wonderful new friends. Yes, the furniture can be upgraded and phones dont work half of the time but who cares.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tocho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently had the priviledge of spending a few days on the beautiful, tranquil Guana Island. This was an amazing experience with with every aspect of our stay being to a very high standard - accommodation, location, service, dining. The apartment we stayed in was outstanding and extremely well appointed, with a private pool & hot tub and amazing views over the bay and the other islands beyond. The principal contact during our stay was Andrea, who could not have been kinder or more helpfu, but we found all the staff extremely courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliageorge186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife, daughter and I just came back from a week on Guana island. It was a truly amazing and beautiful experience. It starts with the island itself: untouched nature, perfect beaches, blue water. The wildlife is really exciting: iguanas, crabs, pelicans and way more. The trails around the island are the best way to enjoy the nature. Our room was great: very nicely decorated, AC, comfortable beds and the best of all: our own pool in front of the door with an amazing view of the island and the beach. We even all jumped in the pool before breakfast, the perfect way to start the day! The food was top notch, everything really well cooked and so fresh! The staff is very helpful, friendly and fully dedicated to making feel just at home. The only problem: you'll never want to leave:-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are a nature lover, want some peace and quite, don't like large crowds but want exceptional service and 5 star meals, this is the place for you!

We just got back from a week long trip Oct 13-20, 2012. This is definitely off season, but that was perfect for us. We were one of 3 couples at the resort during our stay, but there were also about 16 scientists on-island doing research. Their meal time was separate from paying guests and we only occasionally saw them - but when we did, we would bombard them with questions about the nature we were seeing around the island and they were all more than willing to share their knowledge. We did not see the other guests much either, except during the nightly pre-dinner cocktail hour, so it was kind of like having our own private island most of the week.

We can not say enough good things about the staff, the service, the food and the island itself. The service staff were all very attentive and would go out of their way to make our experience the best it could be (i.e. Mano, when driving us on the golf cart back up to our room from the beach, taking us on side trips to hunt down a giant iguana to ensure that we saw one during out stay). The office staff (Hannah, Andrea and Meghan) went above and beyond time and time again to make sure we were well taken care of (i.e. they were the ones that called us to let us know that our Cape Air flight had been cancelled (not the airline itself) and helped us make other arrangements to get there). The food is superb, 5 star for sure. Breakfast is part continental with a daily special (eggs Benedict was fantastic), but you could also order off a limited menu as well. Lunch was buffet style and always delicious. Dinner was a 4 course meal with a choice of two entrees (fish + a meat option). Even my husband who is a picky eater enjoyed the food!

We did the Garden of Eden dinner one night (private dinner out on a covered balcony in a garden). It was very romantic and the serenade by the frogs was the perfect background "music".

Our room was awesome and the lightening shows, stars and sunsets were incredible from our balcony and rooftop terrace.There was no a/c, but did not really need it since the breezes were always flowing and the ceiling fan was very strong as well. We did tour the North Beach house as well, and it you want to be totally alone, this would be the place for you. However, we had no one around us either and even if we did, could not see anyone else's balconies or rooms, so I doubt you would see anyone anyway.

There is no pool at the facility, unless you get a room with one. The main beach is huge with lots of great snorkeling. They also have sail boats and kayaks you can take out. There is a tennis court with some equipment you can use. We did an orchard tour as well, which was neat to see and learn about all the food that is grown on the island, and got a taste test of coconuts and sugar cane as well. There are numerous hiking trails and they give you a guide book when you arrive of the trails, along with difficulty levels. Highly recommend you bring water bottles with you to the island, and get a walking stick and cell phone from the office before hiking.

If you are looking for a party scene with lots of crowds or don't enjoy the outdoors, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a romantic retreat, enjoy mother nature, natural beauty, being outdoors and going on some incredible hikes with awesome scenery, this place is for you. Would highly recommend this place for honeymooners or (like us) couples celebrating a special anniversary.

Room Tip: Upper Grenada is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdrynelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very hesitant about going to Guana. I must have asked Jason 20 questions! He patiently answered every one! When we landed in the Beef Islands our luggage did not arrive with us. We did not pack a carry-on and had no extra clothes. We were in the same clothes since 5 a.m. After a smooth boat ride from the Beef Islands we were greeted by a welcoming committee with cold lavender towels and given a cold drink. Hannah saw how upset I was that I didn't have a change of clothes or a bathing suit. She offered to lend me hers!! The only problem is that I am 5' short and Hannah is around 5'8". How is that for service! The next day she made sure she contacted the right people and located our luggage.

Our first night(without a change of clothes) was wonderful. A little table for 2 overlooking the bay. The food was great and very well presented. Wine was very good quality.Service was excellent. Although there are no formal activities after dinner, the natural beauty of Guana provides a spectacular show. I spent almost 1 hour star-gazing. The bed was super comfortable and I had a great night sleep. All meals were yummy, fresh and heathy.

The beach was perfect. I spent the whole day under a tree and in the water and still did not want to leave. Andrea was very knew I wanted a salad for lunch and drove up and got me one. She constantly provided clean towels and great service. Although there are many water toys, we did not get to use anything but snorkels because the waves were too rough.

The next day a hurricane passed over Guana. We couldn't go to the beach so we went to the orchard. The gardner( I think his name was Liu) gave us sugar cane and coconut water and spent 1 hour talking to us--great experience.

Guana is not for everyone. It is not a luxury hotel with many swim-up bars. It is a very special place where you can enjoy the beauty of nature and some good company.

I know one day we will return to Guana. Hopefully before we are too old ( Not for people with mobility problems- vey hilly). And hopefully not during another hurricane!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgirl123-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

One of the more special places we have ever been to.If you are looking for a truly private vacation experience, this would be the place to go. Everything was first rate.
The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, and it offered all of the outdoor activities my wife and I enjoy doing together. The photos don't do justice for how beautiful this place really is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevint1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guana Island
10.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
22.5 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.7 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Property: Guana Island
Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing