We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
227
14
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
14
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails other guests main beach interesting people white bay beach heaven on earth paddle boarding year after year low key sand flies beach vacation natural setting special place get away from it all main building night life honor bar
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 247 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent an amazing 7 nights on Guana. I had high expectations since this was our honeymoon trip and all of my expectations were exceeded. From the moment our boat pulled up to the beautiful white sand beach with turquoise water we were in paradise. The staff was so accomodating to our needs and requests: Lunch was ready for us upon arrival, Andrea set up 2 days of scuba for us with a private diving company-just my husband and I diving with the dive master, a castaway picnic lunch on a private beach and champagne set up at a swing in the Garden of Eden to watch the sunset for my birthday.
We got to be active (scuba, snorkel, tennis, hiking) when we wanted and yet could purely relax and enjoy the quiet beach and evenings together.

Room Tip: We stayed in Eluthera cottage-had fabulous views of the sunset
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elk1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just returned from our second trip to Guana Island and still wish we were there. Wonderful island, great beach, excellent snorkling (when the water was clear- the first week rain storms and tides kept thew water cloudy). We stayed again at the North Beach Cottage tucked on the other side of the island (on the Atlantic) which truly makes it a private island experience. We would recommend this island to anyone who asks.
**
So you might be asking why only four stars this time? Two reasons: first off was the dinner entrees. Breakfast was always good, lunch was always excellent as were the soups, salads and desserts at dinner but for some reason we found almost every dinner entree to be average/good at best (and it seemed most guests were in agreement on this). Hard to put a finger on the issue other than the entrees were just... OK.
The second reason is that the decking around the pool and shore platform at our cottage is in serious need for replacement- the boards are old, splintered and worn.
**
The above are very minor (and easily fixed) issues when taken in whole as we LOVE this island and plan on returning again and again! The friendly service and great beach are really what Guana Island is all about!

Room Tip: Want a great view and a pool: Harbor House Villa Want privacy and remoteness: North Beach Cottage
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Guana Island is the place you can visit to live out your own private island fantasy. My husband and I visited the island for a week to celebrate his 50th birthday. We wanted a place where we could escape from our hectic everyday lifestyle and not feel like a tourist. The island is original and untouched, easy to reach but still far away.

Getting There: It is an easy flight from NYC with a quick transfer in Puerto Rico to Tortola. If you choose an early morning flight you will be on the island in time for lunch and can enjoy your entire afternoon on the beach. How civilized!

Island: Pure, beautiful, and impressively safe. I am pretty sure there has never been one incidence of crime. Perhaps because it is a private island, but none-the-less we felt at home from the moment we stepped off the boat and onto the beautiful Caribbean beach.

Beaches: Though the island is only about the size of Central Park there are seven gorgeous beaches. White Bay Beach is the most popular with powdery white sand and a cabana stocked with a full bar and every water toy that you could ever imagine. The entire week we were there, we never encountered more than four other people on this beach. We always managed to feel like we were all alone...it was wonderful. North Beach, on the Atlantic side of the island, is a great place to go if you enjoy more robust surf and there is amazing shelling as well. Monkey Point and Crab Cove are the best places to visit for great for snorkeling (the owner has actually grafted Elk Coral to rejuvenate this already healthy reef back into pristine condition). Bigelow Beach is a terrific option for a romantic castaway picnic but you will have to make arrangements for the boatman to take you there for a nominal fee. Each beach has a personality all its own and it is wonderful that you have the freedom to travel to a beach that suits your mood for the day! :)

Accommodation: We stayed at the premiere villa on the island, Jost House. This place rivals the most luxurious houses anywhere on earth (…and trust me I know). It is beautifully appointed with meticulous surfaces and thoughtful details throughout the house complete the most amazing 360 degree views. Because it is one of the more upscale villas, we had our own golf cart to roam about wherever and whenever we pleased. The house was extremely clean and new. Additionally, we had our own private housekeeper during the day (though she was very discrete) and we enjoyed complete privacy to dip into the pool au naturale without fear of embarrassment. She also made sure that we didn’t come home with any dirty laundry. That in itself was amazing! We peeked into some of the other villas including North Beach Cottage which is also gorgeous and romantic with its own pool and sundeck nestled privately in the mangroves and the sound of surf. Some of the other cottages are less luxurious but all are remarkable in their own respect. They are not your average vacation cottages but prime settings, each with their own distinctive characters. Guana Island gives you plenty of options for a variety of budgets.

Dining Experience: Meals are all-inclusive and served on the dining terraces at the Club unless you make other arrangements. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style with regional specialties and plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables grown right on the island. There is ample variety no matter what your eating preferences may be. Dinner is more formal and you have a choice of two entrée selections each evening. My husband and I tended to order one of each because we didn’t want to miss out on the unique culinary experience. The sunsets are not to miss on the Sunset Terrace...they are simply breathtaking.

Bottom Line: We experienced an extremely pampered yet unique and lively vacation. In my opinion, this is one of the most peaceful and alluring holiday destinations worldwide. The owners have gone to great lengths to create a pristine and natural environment (complete with flamingos, iguanas, lush coral reefs, pina coladas and sunsets). Guana Island is an amazing place with a staff that is fun and devoted to customer service. We always felt we were their highest priority. Fritz and Jenny are managers that would make any business owner proud and honestly provided the best service we have had in a long time. Jason in reservations is also very personable and will make sure you have everything you need to be comfortable either before (through email) or during your trip. This destination may be a bit more pricey (but don’t forget it’s all inclusive) than other resorts you will find in the Caribbean but this is not just a resort but your own private experience in Paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I vacationed on Guana Island at the beginning of the summer and the entire experience was even better than I expected. It was a great mix of nature, history and luxury. The accommodations had a rustic feel, which I loved, and had every amenity. If I needed something, the resort staff was right there to help. Everyone was relaxed, friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and fresh. The candle-lit dining terrace was lovely, very private, and the views during the day were breathtaking. Great hiking, iguanas, several beaches, tropical flowers, flamingos, tennis, massage - I'm definitely going back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0604K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The best thing about Guana Island is that you get a place away from crowd. There’s complete private touring experience. We spent our three wonderful days and nights at this beautiful and small island. Things are a lot that you can do. Explore the flora and fauna or simply look at the sea, take a lazy stroll or go for adventurous trails. All depends on the mood, we preferred relaxation to anything. Peace is in the air and the natural beauty scattered all around make Guana Island a perfect destination for the travelers like us who look for a relaxation and rejuvenation in the lap of nature. A highly recommend tour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AndreyVanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews