We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite vacation spot”
Review of Guana Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guana Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite vacation spot”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I vacationed on Guana Island at the beginning of the summer and the entire experience was even better than I expected. It was a great mix of nature, history and luxury. The accommodations had a rustic feel, which I loved, and had every amenity. If I needed something, the resort staff was right there to help. Everyone was relaxed, friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and fresh. The candle-lit dining terrace was lovely, very private, and the views during the day were breathtaking. Great hiking, iguanas, several beaches, tropical flowers, flamingos, tennis, massage - I'm definitely going back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0604K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
171
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The best thing about Guana Island is that you get a place away from crowd. There’s complete private touring experience. We spent our three wonderful days and nights at this beautiful and small island. Things are a lot that you can do. Explore the flora and fauna or simply look at the sea, take a lazy stroll or go for adventurous trails. All depends on the mood, we preferred relaxation to anything. Peace is in the air and the natural beauty scattered all around make Guana Island a perfect destination for the travelers like us who look for a relaxation and rejuvenation in the lap of nature. A highly recommend tour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndreyVanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We have been there for seven days und we couldn’t expect such a great experience!

First- sincere thanks are given to all the people (in front and behind) who work for this great island to make this experience happened!

It is even not only the beautiful Caribbean Sea, the private island, the cozy architecture or the delicious food.. it is the overall unique concept and feeling to be a friend and not only a guest which as a priceless advantage to the most other resorts.
The only way to understand this feeling we highly recommend to visit Guana Island!
Again- thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lacorrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

For total rejuvination.. from a massage,chilling out on the gorgeous white powdry sand beaches ,nature walks or more challenging hikes,gourmet meals and pampering services nothing beats Guana Island.
If you want the feeling of being on your own private island , this is the place! It is exciting to be sharing the most beautiful 850 acre island in the Carribbean with only a handful of other guests! Enjoy...C

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chacha4820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Everything we read about Guana Island prior to arriving was spot on - it truly is a beautiful, serene, calming luxury resort in the BVI with a feel that is warm, welcoming, and never pretentious. We stayed in a cottage hillside room, nestled amongst tropical flowers and trees that afforded an amazing view of the sea. We rocked ourselves to sleep almost every night on our private, covered veranda to the sweet sound of the birds singing their melodies. During the day, we hiked the many trails around the island, including Long Man's Point and Chicken Rock, the outcropping of natural rock formations on the northwest tip of the island. When we needed to relax, we headed to the beach, played a board game in a shaded spot on the terrace, or headed to the Garden of Eden to more amazing views and sweet nature sounds. We look forward to returning with our family, and next time hope to experience one of the amazing villas or the North Beach Cottage.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThisandThatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Thankfully for my husband and i, the secret is not out at this private island destination where those "in the know" get to experience heaven on earth. I went for my honeymoon and from the moment i stepped on the island, everything was perfect. Whether we were hiking on beautiful trails to private white sand beaches or feasting on organic gourmet cuisine catered by the private chef, we were in utter bliss. I've traveled the world and have a very picky palate when it comes to highly coveted vacations and I have never found such a perfect spot. The staff is down to earth, warm and fun and if ever there were a place to erase work stress, blackberry overdrive and satisfy all of your vacations dreams, it's Guana Island. I'm not sure how the owner concocted such a perfect experience---but if you've ever wanted to turn back the clock to a time when all was simple, elegant and perfect...3 words: go to Guana. Just don't tell everyone you know, please:)

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MaggieNYCLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This was our second trip to Guana, and am I embarrassing myself to say that we all got sort of “misty-eyed” when we left on the boat to the airport after our 1-week stay? Seeing Andrea, Melissa and Sugar waving goodbye on the dock, we were so sad to leave this paradise. How can this place feel so much like home, and these people feel so much like family and dear friends?

Guana is such a unique, gorgeous, ALIVE, spectacular island.

If you love nature, the ocean, good food and wine, a sense of wonder, peace and quiet, truly incredible hotel service, casual elegance, great guests, and intimate size (there was an average of 10 guests on the island during our weeklong stay) —go to Guana.

Perfect for us…we can’t wait to go back.
Thank you all (Kathleen, Winston, Matt, Howard, Lafleur, Dr. Liao, too) for making our stay so magical!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtrdiva58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guana Island
3.2 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
10.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
22.5 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
397 reviews
3.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.7 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Property: Guana Island
Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing