We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old School

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Frosterley, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Gemma L
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed the Old School over Christmas, getting together with extended family. The house is the perfect size - we used the living room with the pool table as a central hub, and the smaller living room to the front of the house as a 'quiet' room for the older relatives staying with us.

Everything has been thought of - there was even a high chair and a travel cot waiting for us for our 1 year old niece. All in all, it was fantastic and we would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: December 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bee f
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“beautiful and well equipped”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited with family, what a great find. house in a good location with shop very near having stayed in a few lets it was good to find one with amenities very near by. a clean and well kept beautiful house with everything you needed. the bar and pool table were a great added bonus. the caravan site next door was not a problem garden was lovely and was nice sitting out in the evening. garden was lovely though not suitable for our 19 month old niece, having said that t.here was enough of us to make sure she was safe. would definately visit again a good central location to places. a very enjoyable holiday

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neal2K
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great size, perfect for our family holiday”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

With a group of 14, there aren't many places that will accommodate us so it's great to know the Old School has the space and size to fit us in. 2nd time we've stayed here, last time was 2 years ago. It's a very large, well-appointed property in a good location. The quality of the internal fixtures, fittings and facilities is very high, however it is looking a little tired now and could do with some updating, but it has large rooms and plenty of bedrooms which works well for us. The games room is a great facility which keeps the noise away from the main house when the kids go to bed. We stayed here for a weekend (3 nights), it's also one of the cheapest properties of this size in the surrounding area. There have been a few "upgrades" since last time such as new TVs and Wi-Fi, nice to see.

Things to do in the area... During our stay we had a trip on the Weardale Railway to Wolsingham, plus a drive to Bradley Burn Farm which were great fun for the kids. There isn't much to do in Frosterley itself (or Stanhope for that matter) but Hamsterley Forest is also not too far a drive away.

We've already booked for next year, looking forward to a return trip to the Old School house. :)

Date of stay: September 2014
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill H
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, spacious house in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

With a group of friends I spend a weekend at the Old School once or twice a year. We love going and it has become a home from home. It has an amazing amount of space and having two living rooms means the pool players can play without disturbing the tv viewers. Weardale is a beautiful part of the world and there are some lovely walks starting close by. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.