We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Innkeepers Cottage

Cosy living room with log burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy living room with log burning stove
The front entrance to Innkeepers Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cosy living room with log burning stove
The front entrance to Innkeepers Cottage
Stairs leading to the bedroom and bathroom
The delightful quirky bathroom.
Hand crafted country kitchen with stable door overlooking the rear patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Frosterley, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DaveDillo...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had a wonderful stay at the Innkeepers Cottage over the New Year weekend.
We honestly couldn't have picked a better place to cosy up to a woodburning stove and relax after the busy Christmas. The cottage is so well decorated and full of charm. Lots of little extra touches from the Christmas decorations to the welcome pack. The cottage is so obviously lavished with love from the owners who stay here themselves.
The village has a co-op and very nice fish and chip shop as well as a lovely local pub and there are some lovely walks in the area. We will most certainly be back in the future.
Many thanks Stuart and Alison.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
We would like to say thank you so much for your kind comments. We try to keep our little cottage tastefully decorated and well equipped and we will of course welcome you back again in the future. Thank you so leaving it clean and tidy. It is appreciated. Alison ans Stuart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Characterful, comfortable, well-furnished and well-equipped”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

An outstandingly good rental in a small, interesting village amid impressive scenery. Many walks in the area, and places to visit. Every aspect for a pleasant stay has been thought about, and you won't get many places more comfortable, warm and well-equipped. Conveniently located to access Durham, Barnard Castle, Beamish and other interesting places to visit. Our own visit was far too short.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings, lighting, equipment of the kitchen.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
Thank you for your review Kevin. We do hope you are able to revisit our beautiful county in the future and would love for you to stay at Innkeepers Cottage and enjoy the more walks from our doorstep.
Best Wishes
Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigstock
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very pretty cottage in great location”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cottage with some lovely touches. High standard of cleanliness. Good location for seeing the surrounding countryside which is beautiful and easy access to Durham and Beamish. Great trip to the Cart Bog Inn near Hexham via the moors and excellent meal at Stanhope Old Hall followed by 'knees up' at the Black Bull in Frosterley - 5 minute walk from the cottage. We had some chilly evenings but the lovely wood burner kept us cosy and warm in this delightful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: restricted height in bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
"Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you all enjoyed your stay at our cottage and put the log burner to good use. It sounds like you had a great stay and we would welcome your return visit. Kind Regards Stuart."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R0b48
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great spot in Wear Valley”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely property, well maintained and equipped. Close to Durham, Newcastle, Hadrian's wall and great walks around Wear Dale.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely spot, nice and quiet
Liked least: Nothing really, although bathroom wouldn't suit very tall people (over 185 cm)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you all enjoyed your stay at our cottage and look forward to your return visit." Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare1973
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We enjoyed a weekend with our dog Oscar. From the very start we fell in love with the cottage and its location. We loved the fact we were so close to the pubs and fish n chip shop. We lit the fire and felt right at home - and so did Oscar. We sampled some of the local walks and learnt a lot about the area - making us want to return and explore more and more. The cottage was idyllic and spotless with everything we needed and more. A very special touch was the welcome goody bag - even something for Oscar. Thanks so much a fabulous stay !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
You are very welcome. Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards. Stuart and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strawberr...
Durham, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazingly Gorgeous Find!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I cannot even begin to tell you how much we loved the Innkeeper's Cottage! It took us a really long time to find a cottage that we loved but we didn't make the wrong choice. It was everything I hoped it would be, just as cosy, quiet and lovely as it looks in the photos.

My husband, our dog Bella and I, had a gorgeous week doing not much more than walking, cooking, sleeping and laying in front of the fire watching films.

The kitchen is a bespoke and handmade and I really enjoyed listening to the retro radio with breakfast in the mornings and sitting at the cute little table, reading in the afternoons.

The bedroom is huge with a lovely dressing table and a large, old fashioned wardrobe that looks like it may lead to Narnia. We found the bed a little hard, but I've since been advised that there is a mattress topper available on request.

The bathroom is very unusual as it's in the eves, I would say it's probably not really suitable for someone really tall as the ceiling is low, but once you're in the huge bath, it doesn't matter!

In the lounge there is a large selection of DVDs, we actually took our PS4 so that we could watch Netflix. There are also games and books to choose from.

The kitchen leads out into a small yard where there is a utility room. There are some steps up to the path behind the terrace that leads round onto the main road.

The cottage is well stocked with firewood as well as little things like washing up liquid, cloths, tea-towels, cleaning sprays and bin bags. There are complimentary toiletries in the bathroom as well as lovely hand-wash in both the kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen is well equipped with all manor of cooking essentials, I even made brownies while we were there!

Last but not least, the owners leave for you a delightful welcome pack with shortbread, coffee, tea, chocolates and biscuits! A very, very lovely touch!

All in all we had the best time and I wouldn't hesitate to return, hopefully in the summer for the chance of lovely weather!

Thanks so much!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. Your comments are very much appreciated. We would love to see you both in the summer and although I can't promise the sunshine I will make sure the mattress topper is ready for you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic85tori...
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“relaxation ”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

just got home from a lovely relaxing 2 night stay at this cottage did not want to leave!!! Alison and Stuart the owners really have thought of every single last detail to make their guests have the best possible stay, it really is a home from home. had a lovely little welcome pack and spa bath set which were a lovely touch. we had planned on going walking but ended up staying by the beautiful log burner and watching films....perfect. it is spotless the cleaner does an amazing job, the towels in the bathroom soft fluffy and smell so clean and nice.! the bed was lovely had the best nights sleep I've had in ages. we went for a meal to the black bull a little pricey but really nice food then we went up to the frosterley inn as they show sky sports my husband was happy!! we will defiantly holiday at this perfect little cottage again and will be highly recommending to family and friends!!! thank you both for such a lovely relaxing weekend away it's exactly what we were looking for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice relaxing weekend. We would love to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Stuart and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing