We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive: not quite worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna la Cialoma

Taverna la Cialoma
Ranked #25 of 60 Restaurants in Marzamemi
Price range: $39 - $156
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: struttura presente nella Guida Michelin,Gambero Rosso, guida Espresso,Gusto.La chef Lina Campisi ha inoltre partecipato a diverse trasmissioni televisive e preparato i suoi piatti per illustri personaggi nazionali ed internazionali
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Very expensive: not quite worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

On the main square of this quirky and picturesque tuna-worshipping villlage, but you can also eat at the back overlooking the sea (take care when reserving your table). We ate twice here on busy Friday nights when their was entertainment on the square (an excellent Beatles tribute band, followed by a slightly bizarre, uniquely Italian, puppet show consisting mainly of medieval knights in mortal combat). The best choices here are the octopus starter and the grilled tuna - both excellent. But the raw prawns were rather unpleasant, and the swordfish lacked texture. Octopus casserole with potatoes was tasty if lacking subtlety. Tuna ragu with pasta was delicious. Wines can be expensive, although they are very good indeed. Some annoying details: food served luke-warm; they had run out of strawberry tartlets and decaffeinated coffee at 9p.m. (early for this part of the world), and you really have to watch out to prevent the bill mounting up extortionately. 124 Euros for 2 people - two courses each plus wine and limoncellos. Very friendly waitress, but her male colleagues could be surly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    347
    290
    207
    200
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs to find that loving feeling......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Located on the main square of what looks like a Speggetti Western set this restaurant is playing on location over quality and delighting customers. And without a view of the sea this is not a strong point if you're looking for lunch. The food was quite good but pricey when compared with other restaurants of the same standard or comparable locations, and wine at €6.50 a glass of less than 100cl is definitely taking advantage. The waiters don't understand what customer friendly service is, as their's was non-existent and bordering on the surly. There's Italian macho then there's just plain rude.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely decor with délicieuse pasta.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We ordered 2 dishes of pasta:
- Pasta with gamberini and zucchini cream
- pasta with ink fish
The portions were enough (more then in other restaurants on the same place)
The price was a bit higher then the neighbor' restaurants but "de cupperto" was included in the menu price.
The restaurant from inside is lovely, even the kitchen is beautiful. Outside on the terrasse, the wonderfully Piazza Regina Margherita.
The service was normal, no extras nor bad things to report
We enjoyed our meal on a Sunday evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krimokri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing BUT!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Beautiful place to say nothing of the place seems to be in Mexico
The restaurant very nice but when we arrived it was only a table outside and every customer that came added tables. Service poor, "waiters" without a smile. The pasta dishes good but definitely not worth 17 euros, maybe 12 euros like the rest of Sicily in places even more beautiful.
The thing that really bothered me was the limoncello, which made me pay 5 euros each. Incredible considering that in this part of Sicily citrus are scattered in the streets!!In London max £4
The next time I go I will follow the advice of an elderly local man who had advised me to buy a nice piece of bread with some nice fresh tuna.
The Cialoma IS classic example of robbing the tourists a real shame!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limoncello1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mölndal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really bad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

At Marzamemi's beautiful central piazza this one is located and that is the only positive thing to be noted. We had lunch there and had to wait for 20 minutes until attended by a obviously uninterested man, who had taken the time to print out the menu. He was not good at thatb either - the menu we got had only antipasti and dessert. After we got a correct menu we ordered a pasta dish - awful, the pasta was overcooked in a manner one could get in Sweden, Germany or England 50 years ago - but not to-day. The fish from the grill was on the other hand practically raw. Prices too high even if the food had been eatable. Strongly disrecommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gunnaronthesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna la Cialoma also viewed

Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
 
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
 
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Taverna la Cialoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing