We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor with délicieuse pasta.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna la Cialoma

Taverna la Cialoma
Ranked #26 of 60 Restaurants in Marzamemi
Price range: $39 - $156
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: struttura presente nella Guida Michelin,Gambero Rosso, guida Espresso,Gusto.La chef Lina Campisi ha inoltre partecipato a diverse trasmissioni televisive e preparato i suoi piatti per illustri personaggi nazionali ed internazionali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely decor with délicieuse pasta.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We ordered 2 dishes of pasta:
- Pasta with gamberini and zucchini cream
- pasta with ink fish
The portions were enough (more then in other restaurants on the same place)
The price was a bit higher then the neighbor' restaurants but "de cupperto" was included in the menu price.
The restaurant from inside is lovely, even the kitchen is beautiful. Outside on the terrasse, the wonderfully Piazza Regina Margherita.
The service was normal, no extras nor bad things to report
We enjoyed our meal on a Sunday evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krimokri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    345
    289
    207
    199
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing BUT!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Beautiful place to say nothing of the place seems to be in Mexico
The restaurant very nice but when we arrived it was only a table outside and every customer that came added tables. Service poor, "waiters" without a smile. The pasta dishes good but definitely not worth 17 euros, maybe 12 euros like the rest of Sicily in places even more beautiful.
The thing that really bothered me was the limoncello, which made me pay 5 euros each. Incredible considering that in this part of Sicily citrus are scattered in the streets!!In London max £4
The next time I go I will follow the advice of an elderly local man who had advised me to buy a nice piece of bread with some nice fresh tuna.
The Cialoma IS classic example of robbing the tourists a real shame!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limoncello1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mölndal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really bad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

At Marzamemi's beautiful central piazza this one is located and that is the only positive thing to be noted. We had lunch there and had to wait for 20 minutes until attended by a obviously uninterested man, who had taken the time to print out the menu. He was not good at thatb either - the menu we got had only antipasti and dessert. After we got a correct menu we ordered a pasta dish - awful, the pasta was overcooked in a manner one could get in Sweden, Germany or England 50 years ago - but not to-day. The fish from the grill was on the other hand practically raw. Prices too high even if the food had been eatable. Strongly disrecommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gunnaronthesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Like an oasis in the middle of a desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We found this restaurant by chance and it was an awsome surprise. The village is beautiful and the restaurant is located in its main piazza. They offer excellent food and service, and on top of that the interior decoration and the exterior setting are superb. I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming place but standard food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The location of the restaurant is simply great, located in one of the most charming corner of all Sicily so we may argue that food might not be important.
We start with a superb carapccio of cernia that remains unfortunatelly the only great food of all dinner. Pasta are ok but nothing special and for 16 euro i would expect To eat more then standard supermarket fusilli shape...
The tuna was not fresh of the day and in a place were can be bought at 20 euro chilo you would expect that for 20 euro per plate they should be able To offer daily catch tuna.
Wine list only of sicily, the worst coffe i had in 20 days.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna la Cialoma also viewed

Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
 
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
 
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Taverna la Cialoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing