We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Skocjanske Jame
Reviews (1,648)
Filter reviews
1,648 results
Traveler rating
1,319
257
49
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,319
257
49
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river postojna caves guided tour stalactites and stalagmites amazing cave short walk blown away small group cave system underground canyon take photos wings train station classic tour ticket office unesco site awe inspiring
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,648 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2019

We had planned a trip to Postanja caves enroute to Pula only to find the trams were fully booked.Our host in Lake Bled suggested Skocjan claiming it was actually more beautiful.Beautiful is an understatement.We were awed by the beauty here.There is much walking and stair climbing but we managed quite easily and we're 65+.There were some parts of the cave that seemed like a setting for Lord of the Rings.We had a vehicle so didn't book a tour through tour groups.We drove to the site and purchased our tickets there.If you have an opportunity to visit don't consider passing it up.It was definitely one of the highlights of our 3 week trip through Slovenia and Croatia.

Date of experience: October 2018
9  Thank coldatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

Awesome underground canyon with a river running through it. The scale of this thing is amazing, thre's also a bridge over the river. It's like something out of Lord of the rings.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Apar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

Initially concerned as we hiked off into the valley to get to the entrance, once there we were split into language groups and proceeded into the cave, the cave is absolutely fabulous with all the normal cave items, what made it extra special was the size of some of the chambers, they are enormous. the tour gave us plenty of time to see everything and though you shouldn’t take photo’s (the reasons was clearly explained) the memories will stay with me, in the wider park some of the footpaths were closed due to winter weather, so a return in summer would be good

Date of experience: January 2019
3  Thank DavidM15658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

Firsty, you are not allowed to take pictures here, with or without a flash but you can buy a very nice book for €5.
We were undecided about which caves to visit so decided to see both and I would thoroughly recommend that you do both. Please see my separate review of Postojna cave if you are unsure but my opinion is as follows:
Postojna cave is like a very large cathedral with far larger groups and definitely a tourist attraction.
Skocjan caves are like a church in comparison, smaller groups and off the tourist trail.
This is a guided 2 hour walking tour which descends 160 metres below so there are a large number of steps both up and down.
The sights are amazing with so much to see in the way of different rock formations, colours, pools, waterfalls and a river. There was a earthquake in the distant past which caused the ceiling to collapse, so you see a different view of the ceiling in this part of the cave as everything is so relatively new.
Anya our guide was very good with detailed explanations about the cave. As we were the last tour in the cave, Anya was able to turn off the lights so you get a real feeling of how difficult it must have been to explore this cave.

Date of experience: January 2019
4  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018

This was absolutely amazing. I'd never seen anything like it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone coming to Slovenia.

The tour was crowded and they spilt you up based on language. For our tour they had English, Slovenian and Italian. The first group to enter the cave was the English group, which we noticed was the majority of the people (30-40). Since I also speak Italian (but prefer English) my husband and I decided to hang back and go with the Italian group. This was a good call - there were only 6 other people.

Even with the small group it was hard to hear the guide at certain points so I imagine this would be even more difficult with the larger group. Be sure to ask about other languages and try to go with the smaller group if you speak multiple languages.

An added bonus as the last group to enter the cave, your guide turns off the lights in each section after you pass. This was really cool because you got to see (well not see - pitch black) what the cave would be like for the explorers and understand how interesting and challenging it would have been to get through the cave with tiny lanterns and no idea of what is ahead of you!

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank KelseaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews