We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent choice for a visit at Mendrisio and Como Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cascina Canova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cascina Canova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uggiate-Trevano
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a visit at Mendrisio and Como Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cascina Canova for two nights. The property is just excellent. Very nicely decorated room with wooden ceilings, wooden retro furniture, great spacious bathroom, big windows overlooking at the garden outside, huge and very comfortable bed. The breakfast was another pleasant surprise. Great variety and fresh products served in a beautiful breakfast room, with fresh flowers on each table. The restaurant was also great. We had both dinner and lunch, we were impressed both times. Especially the filet with porcini was a dream! Only negative thing, the internet didn't work in our room. I would specifically recommend this hotel to those who want to visit the Foxtown Outlet in Mendrisio, as it is a 15 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantina-Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    11
    8
    22
See reviews for
28
44
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed for one night here. Rooms are clean and spacious and the place is well kept and seems to be rather inviting. Location is ideal for a stopover on your way to more southern parts of Italy.
Unfortunately the staff ruins the whole experience: Extraordinarily arrogant waiters only offered to take orders after calling them multiple times and waiting for more than 25 minutes. Staff does does not greet when you enter the hotel or in the morning. It is not possible to charge the restaurant bill to your room bill, which seems dubious. As mentioned by other reviewers the WiFi connection is quasi defunct, which clearly shows that the management is not interested in fixing problems. Overall verdict: not recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexjaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uggiate-Trevano hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed twice in this hotel. Last time i was given a Suite (I booked too late). The room was ok, even if there was a tub instead of a shower. I am not enthusiastic about this hotel: breakfast is not very abundant, rooms are not very nice... There is nothing 'very' actually. Also, I stayed here the first time last year in september and I left a battery charger for my electric toothbrush. I regret they did not keep it as most hotels do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here at the end of a cycle touring holiday and found it to be an ideal base. Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was very good. Access to Mendrissio is easy and the hotel costs only 70% of what a lower standard would do in Switzerland. We are regular visitors to Ticino and will be staying here in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0naparte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel could be a faultless place for a maximum enjoyable stay in really special conditions. Located a few meters from the Italian-Swiss border in fantastic natural background, in a history-rich beatufully renovated building, large rooms and bedrooms, style and history in the same place, luxury service - so everything would be altogether for a perfect hotel. In spite, this hotel is a typical place of those, where some embarassing small details will let you forget all the beauty and style, and will let you leave with bad feelings. Of course, this is a place for rest and comtemplation, not short business stays, but even in this case in 2014 you can not run a first class hotel without an easy to access and working wifi conecction. This is missing, you will get separate complicated passports for all devices, which you have to introduce each time you connect, even more, you will have to delete the wifi connection name in your laptop each time you want to connect on a different place of the hotel, otherwise you can not reconnect. Wifi not working in the bar, neither (or only with poor quality) in the courtyard, where you would really sit down to check your mails near a beer in summer time... So do not try to go to internet, only if you stay all the time in your room... You can not charge drinks from the bar or your dinner in the restaurant to your room bill - again an embarassing detail, to be forced to take cash or credit card with you for a coffe or a dinner...food in the restaurant is from far not on the level of the hotel, although is acceptable, but it is too less for a place like this...and the restaurant was crowded, making impossible a on-time service for the waiters, as they were too few for too many guests...bloddy expensive minibar in a place which is far from anything, although the price for a night stay is quite fine, especially considering the close location to the expensive Switzerland...

Altogether, a very good looking, very good price-value rated place, with incredible embarassing problems. Sincerely I do not understand the owners, as all these details are reviewed by travellers both here and on booking.com, and they still do not chage anything Is like they've managed to solve the bigger task, by building a stylish lovely place, and the can not solve the samller job, by reviewing their service policy...in the morning at 6.45 somebody from hotel staff started working right below our window with extremely loud tools, cutting wood for I do not know what, again, in a place ment for rest and tranqulity...

It is a big pity, it could have a real outstanding review, but so it is only a little above average... and if they do not change soon I'm afraid they will be forced to take down from the recepcion desk the table with their rating on booking.com, which now they are proudly showing...

Room Tip: Not really matters where your room is, almost all rooms looking the same direction, to the forests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TF_Laszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It is a really interesting place. History tells that the house is dated 1335. Generally speaking, it is located in the middle of nowhere in the small village close to Italian-Swiss border. At the same time you can't find a better location to visit Fox Town designer outlet located in Mendrisio.
The hotel got 4 stars and you will find that it is a fair 4 stars. Rooms are big, with high ceiling (ancient wood or at least looks like ancient), tastefully decorated. Wooden floors looking brand new. Bed is comfortable enough but may be some cm too short for me (I am 190 cm high) but nevertheless sleeping quality was absolutely ok. Bathroom is big also, but a little bit too dark – anyway, perfect shower and bathroom amenities smell was nice. Hotel will provide you with slippers and bathrobe. Room got individual air condition but to tell you truth we never used it, just opened window and it was enough at that time.
Speaking about minor points I should mention breakfast. It is poor for 4 star hotel and orange juice went sour (too old I think). No big choice. Coffee quality is too low (especially for Italy). Lady at the breakfast room wasn't friendly. At the same time all other staff was absolutely welcoming and helpful.
Second (but really small) minor point is wifi connection – you should re-enter complicated password every time when you log in. At the same time wifi connection is more or less stable.
I should tell you a couple of words about the hotel restaurant – it is a must to visit it, imho. Food is excellent and the service is very good. During Friday and Saturday restaurant was full (when I say full I mean it) with locals. Order pizza from their oven or meat, anyway you will be satisfied, I am sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow-Kiev-Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is our second stay in this hotel, and it only confirmed positive impression after the first one. The hotel itself is a careful renovation of an old building - up to very high level, with the use of really expensive materials and equipment. Rooms are large and clean, service is good, we could get assistance for all requests. The hotel itself is not big - I assume it is not more then 20 rooms - so I felt quite personalized approach. The restaurant is really not bad - as a proof, it was almost fully occupied by local Italians :) Overall, the only thing I can really complain about - is wi-fi, which I had difficulty to connect to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max0877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uggiate-Trevano
2.0 mi away
Impero Hotel
Impero Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cantello
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
2.3 mi away
Madonnina Albergo Ristorante
5.7 mi away
Hotel Cruise
Hotel Cruise
#1 of 2 in Montano Lucino
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Coronado
Hotel Coronado
#1 of 7 in Mendrisio
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
6.0 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#5 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
6.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#5 of 31 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascina Canova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascina Canova

Property: Hotel Cascina Canova
Address: Via San Gottardo, 33/35, 22029 Uggiate-Trevano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Uggiate-Trevano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uggiate-Trevano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cascina Canova 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Cascina Canova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing