We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect value for money, minor disadvantages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cascina Canova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uggiate-Trevano
Moscow-Kiev-Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect value for money, minor disadvantages”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is our second stay in this hotel, and it only confirmed positive impression after the first one. The hotel itself is a careful renovation of an old building - up to very high level, with the use of really expensive materials and equipment. Rooms are large and clean, service is good, we could get assistance for all requests. The hotel itself is not big - I assume it is not more then 20 rooms - so I felt quite personalized approach. The restaurant is really not bad - as a proof, it was almost fully occupied by local Italians :) Overall, the only thing I can really complain about - is wi-fi, which I had difficulty to connect to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max0877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    14
    9
    22
See reviews for
29
59
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice renewed building, near to the Swiss border and lake of Como.
We haven't stay to the hotel, only eat in the restaurant.
We paid 14€ only for a 3 courses menu which was the daily menu, It is really not expensive for the served quantity but the tastes and the cooking were not the top. "A la carte" was a bit better.
The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grand_Polet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel is nice, Rooms are clean and equipped with all necessary.
Wifi does not work on the room (106) :-(
However, real downturn is being compeltely ripped off for minibar use.
Checked in after midnight and not possible to get a drink in the bar.
Recommended to me, to use the minibar.
Next morning they charged EUR 19,00 for 1 beer + 1 brandy.
Due to time pressure no time to argue.
This is completly unreasonable!
Even 5* Hotel in Moscow or Tokyo are not that crazy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uggiate-Trevano hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunderland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have no idea why some folks are being so negative about this hotel. Our room for the week was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and attentive - the only small problem we had was the coffee supplies not being replenished one day, which ultimately resulted in us having sufficient supplies to open our own coffee shop by the end of the week! The hotel is situated in a quiet village very close to the Swiss border - very handy for popping over to get fuel which is much cheaper in Switzerland than in Italy. We spent time whizzing around in our little hired Fiat Panda - Lake Como, Lake Maggiore, Lake Lugano. We even did the Stelvio Pass - spectacular!! - and Maranello for the Ferrari museum (and a drive of a F430 california)...
We ate at the hotel on our first night, and had a very good pizza. Breakfasts were lovely - plenty of choice and variety. I would reiterate that you need a car if you stay at this hotel, but there is plenty of free parking on site, and if you want somewhere quiet to rest your head then you'd have to try very hard to find better value for money than Hotel Cascina Canova.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHD064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms of Cascina Canova are comfortable, spacious and well equiped - however, Wifi does not work in all rooms. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. However, there is an unpersonal atmosphere here, some live is lacking. Not much in the surroundings either, you would definitely need a car

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauterive, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were positively surprised with this hotel. Old style with stylish wooden roof. Very nice room, big and clean. We did not try restaurant but breakfast was quite good. We close to FoxTown in Mendrisio - really good outlet.

We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Ancient (badly) restored farmhouse.
The parking lot is far away from the entrance with no covered walkway fully of mug due to the rain.
It's seems to be a family run business which thinks big with no competence at all to do it.
No reservation found by the front desk extremely unprofessional agent (and probably we were the only guests ...). Almost 15 minutes to clear the check in procedures.
Lift out of service. Thanks God the room was on the first floor.
Average room with rustic furnitures. Nothing special at all. No TV channels in english.
Good size bathroom with mighty dirty whirlpool bathtub. Highly unsuggested to fill it up and switch it on!
Since the property is in the middle of nowhere, we asked a restaurant suggestion to another incompetent and rude agent (sister of the the other one???), who almost refused to give us any suggestion promoting their restaurant instead. We decided to stay just because of the bad weather. Bad choice! It's nothing else than a gross, loudy and low target pizzeria.
Probably the whorst service ever experienced. Slowness and unprofessionality.
Food: better don't rate it (but don't eat it neither).
2 stars value breakfast. No service at all. Cold room.
No further comments about the check out.
If you need to spend the night in the area .... don't waste time to stop here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kinothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uggiate-Trevano
1.9 mi away
Impero Hotel Beauty & Spa
2.3 mi away
Madonnina Albergo Ristorante
3.3 mi away
Hotel Coronado
Hotel Coronado
#2 of 6 in Mendrisio
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Cruise
Hotel Cruise
#1 of 2 in Montano Lucino
773 reviews
6.4 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,280 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ibis Como
Ibis Como
#1 of 1 in Grandate
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascina Canova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascina Canova

Property: Hotel Cascina Canova
Address: Via San Gottardo 33/35, 22029 Uggiate-Trevano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Uggiate-Trevano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uggiate-Trevano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cascina Canova 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cascina Canova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing