We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel, but......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cascina Canova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cascina Canova
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uggiate-Trevano
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel is nice, Rooms are clean and equipped with all necessary.
Wifi does not work on the room (106) :-(
However, real downturn is being compeltely ripped off for minibar use.
Checked in after midnight and not possible to get a drink in the bar.
Recommended to me, to use the minibar.
Next morning they charged EUR 19,00 for 1 beer + 1 brandy.
Due to time pressure no time to argue.
This is completly unreasonable!
Even 5* Hotel in Moscow or Tokyo are not that crazy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    59
    11
    8
    22
See reviews for
29
50
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have no idea why some folks are being so negative about this hotel. Our room for the week was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and attentive - the only small problem we had was the coffee supplies not being replenished one day, which ultimately resulted in us having sufficient supplies to open our own coffee shop by the end of the week! The hotel is situated in a quiet village very close to the Swiss border - very handy for popping over to get fuel which is much cheaper in Switzerland than in Italy. We spent time whizzing around in our little hired Fiat Panda - Lake Como, Lake Maggiore, Lake Lugano. We even did the Stelvio Pass - spectacular!! - and Maranello for the Ferrari museum (and a drive of a F430 california)...
We ate at the hotel on our first night, and had a very good pizza. Breakfasts were lovely - plenty of choice and variety. I would reiterate that you need a car if you stay at this hotel, but there is plenty of free parking on site, and if you want somewhere quiet to rest your head then you'd have to try very hard to find better value for money than Hotel Cascina Canova.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHD064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms of Cascina Canova are comfortable, spacious and well equiped - however, Wifi does not work in all rooms. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. However, there is an unpersonal atmosphere here, some live is lacking. Not much in the surroundings either, you would definitely need a car

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauterive, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were positively surprised with this hotel. Old style with stylish wooden roof. Very nice room, big and clean. We did not try restaurant but breakfast was quite good. We close to FoxTown in Mendrisio - really good outlet.

We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Ancient (badly) restored farmhouse.
The parking lot is far away from the entrance with no covered walkway fully of mug due to the rain.
It's seems to be a family run business which thinks big with no competence at all to do it.
No reservation found by the front desk extremely unprofessional agent (and probably we were the only guests ...). Almost 15 minutes to clear the check in procedures.
Lift out of service. Thanks God the room was on the first floor.
Average room with rustic furnitures. Nothing special at all. No TV channels in english.
Good size bathroom with mighty dirty whirlpool bathtub. Highly unsuggested to fill it up and switch it on!
Since the property is in the middle of nowhere, we asked a restaurant suggestion to another incompetent and rude agent (sister of the the other one???), who almost refused to give us any suggestion promoting their restaurant instead. We decided to stay just because of the bad weather. Bad choice! It's nothing else than a gross, loudy and low target pizzeria.
Probably the whorst service ever experienced. Slowness and unprofessionality.
Food: better don't rate it (but don't eat it neither).
2 stars value breakfast. No service at all. Cold room.
No further comments about the check out.
If you need to spend the night in the area .... don't waste time to stop here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kinothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uggiate-Trevano hotels

Olgiate Comasco, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I am Michael , i live in Italy now for 18 years and i write you this report in english so every visiter can understand.

this place is like a bubble , nice building , looks like you get all the confort you need .

but listen to this , the food is an absolut disaster !!! and can not get worse .
the pizza was still rar inside ,the cheese quality is not mozzarella just fat cheap cheese.
my wife had a fish plate which was cold and smelt like moth balls ( il pesce puzzava di naftalina ) i have to say we didnot eat anything so so bad in 18 years, but the comment from the owner was that the pizza cook put too much cheese on it ,; better the owner return to his previous job,
at the end we had to pay for the pizza but refused to pay for the fish.

ragazzi ,ragazzi che fine fa il mondo ???

better go back to michieletto to eat fish or meat and to rosso di sera for a wonderful pizza.

hope you didnot get food poisend merry christmas , Michael

P.S.: please donot spend € 110,- ( without any drinks ) for new years dinner party there,
better buy your wife some sexy underwear !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Michael146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uggiate-Trevano
2.0 mi away
Impero Hotel
Impero Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cantello
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#2 of 7 in Mendrisio
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Cruise
Hotel Cruise
#1 of 2 in Montano Lucino
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Madonnina Albergo Ristorante
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascina Canova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascina Canova

Property: Hotel Cascina Canova
Address: Via San Gottardo 33/35, 22029 Uggiate-Trevano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Uggiate-Trevano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uggiate-Trevano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cascina Canova 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cascina Canova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing