We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for cooler months”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goomburra Forest Retreat
Forster, Australia
2 reviews
“Ideal for cooler months”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Enjoyed a great two days at Goomburra however these cottages would be best enjoyed during winter or the cooler months. Unfortunately our stay cooincided with heatwave conditions and the cottages were so uncomfortably hot during the heat of the day that we could not stay inside after returning from the brilliant rainforest walks on offer nearby.A particularly dry spring meant that the river flow was low. My rating would change to good in winter time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustygreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Goomburra Forest Retreat, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
The cottages are certainly much more comfortable in the cooler months, it is a pity we all suffered from the heatwave, unfortunately some worse than others when you consider the bush fires in the country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I took my boyfriend away for the weekend to Goomburra, couldn't have made a better decision. I was most impressed with the well equip cottage, it had everything from bath robes to bathroom and kitchen condiments and an electric blanket for the bed. Being cold weather at the time, we had the fire going all weekend, it was absolutely beautiful. The creeks and 7km mountain walk are so close to the cottages and are definitely worthwhile if you're up for an experience. Couldn't recommend Goomburra Forest Retreat more, will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Goomburra Forest Retreat, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your comments, we do appreciate any comments, especially if we can improve anything
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What more can I say. What a relaxing, tranquil weekend in a perfect setting. The creek is not far from the retreat and view is breathtaking and Margaret explained the local walks very well. The wallabies, cows, kangaroos & birds at close by. You own private fire place with fire wood already cut ready to go.
The breakfast hamper is excellent. All you need to bring is nibbles and wine for dinner.
Can't wait to go back again. Found the cabin very well equipped with even a coffee machine!
We stayed 2 nights but next time would stay longer.
We loved the dog who comes and greets you!

Room Tip: the retreat has 3 private cottages and the main house is the owners house. Cottages have a car port...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marls999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Goomburra Forest Retreat, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It is such a pleasure to be able to offer a unique experience to our guests and of course we appreciate any feedback. We look forward to return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This place was fantastic! I spent three nights here over the labour day long weekend with my fiance - we live in Brisbane and haven't spent any time in this area so we didn't know what to expect - but we were pleasantly surprised. The studio apartment we stayed in (studio 2) was a lovely little self contained cottage in the middle of a national park - one of 3 cottages on the property. The owners - Margaret and John - were lovely - they were helpful but not intrusive at all and we were able to spend three days relaxing with no access to internet, phone or tv (although there is a dvd player in the room and you can get dvds from the office, or bring your own). Being completely cut off was really relaxing, and waking up to the sound of the birds each morning was a pleasure. The cost of the studio includes breakfast each morning which is an enormous breakfast basket which on our stay included bacon and eggs, juice, yoghurt, cereals and milk. There was a hooded weber bbq that we cooked all our meals on and gas elements inside as well as a microwave and fridge and everything you need to cook. Because it's so isolated, you need to bring food with you, but that makes it a really affordable weekend and the breakfast is so big you don't need too much for lunch. The studios have a lovely balcony where we spend a lot of time sitting and reading, eating and drinking and watching the wildlife - there were even these two donkeys - they were particularly cool! The rainforest is beautiful and we did a few walks - the national park is 300 metres from the retreat and there's easy or hard walks and Margaret and John are happy to explain them all to you.
We'll definitely come again.

Room Tip: watch the drive in - the roads not great
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aiwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Goomburra Forest Retreat, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so pleased when guests express delight in staying here. We understand that most people these days work hard and often long hours so our main aim is to offer some rest and relaxation " far from the madding crowd" We appreciate your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goomburra
21.9 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
24.2 mi away
Killarney View Cabins and Caravan Park
9.0 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
16.0 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goomburra Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goomburra Forest Retreat

Property: Goomburra Forest Retreat
Address: Forestry Reserve Road, Goomburra, Queensland 4362, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Goomburra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Goomburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goomburra Forest Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via Warwick Queensland. Three cottages plus caravan park some sites creek frontage. No powered sites but excellent toilet and shower facilities. Right next door to National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goomburra Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing