We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mary Tavy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mary Tavy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Mary Tavy B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Sunday lunch”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went here for Sunday lunch, drove 15 miles but boy was it worth it' quite possibly the best Sunday lunch ever. We arrived after they had stopped serving but they were still able to accommodate us, value for money lamb made mouth water. Lovely country inn 5*

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanceyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
14
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We called in around 7pm in the evening and looking for food, the welcome was warm and made to feel at home, the choice on the menu was extensive and served well by the friendly waitress.
We would have stayed for b&b but had already booked somewhere. Good value and nicely decorated bars. Food was good and genourous portions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We did not stay here but went for a lunch today on the strength of comments on Tripadvisor and were sadly disappointed. Gary, the host, managed to ignore us entirely even though we were the only ones in that part of the pub and stood right next to him.
The food was extremely average but nothing exceptional. The waitress was very helpful and efficient but that was it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandj1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were on the way home when we decided to pop in for a bite to eat, seeing we had never visited this inn before, we weren't sure what it would be like. But we were extremely impressed. There was a friendly welcome and a superb choice of food. Both my husband and i had bagettes, one with steak and the other with hot beef, and they were delicious. The service was good and the prices very reasonable. Will definatley be visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillykins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in a delightful modern room at the side of the inn which had everything supplied. During the evening the bar area was full of people playing darts and pool or just talking. The evening meal in the restaurant was selected from an extensive menu including specials and was well cooked and presented. Breakfast next morning was enough to keep us going for most of the day. We would happily stay here again when visiting Dartmoor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our dog sept 11. The staff were very friendly and all the other holidayers/ locals in the pub! the rooms were really lovely, clean, cosy, nice warm powerful shower and a gorgeous view. Lots of walking to do on the door step which was our reason for our holiday. The food in the pub was very tasty I had a beef and stilton pie which I still talk about now. I loved that the rooms weren't attached to the pub and you could come and go as you please without having to go through the bar, most of the time we had a dirty wet dog so was glad to put a towel out by our door for him to dry off before letting him into the room. The dog was also free to come and go from our room to the garden. I would recomend the Mary Tavy to anyone wanting a lovely walking holiday! Ill definitley stay here agian!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBeeReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We chose this Inn for our overnight stay whilst walking the West Devon Way. From the moment we arrived we were treated like guests by efficient friendly staff. The room we had was spotless with a most comfy bed.The view out of the window in the morning was so peaceful and amazing a good start to the day. The food we had in the evening was excellent with a varied menu to suit all tastes.Breakfast was great a good start to our next days walk. We would recommend this Inn and look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mary Tavy
3.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
155 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Fox and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
369 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
177 reviews
5.2 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mary Tavy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mary Tavy Inn

Property: The Mary Tavy Inn
Address: Lane Head, Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park PL19 9PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Mary Tavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mary Tavy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mary Tavy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mary Tavy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing