We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly B&B”

Homeleigh Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mary Tavy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homeleigh Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Mary Tavy B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, friendly B&B”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This was a fantastic B&B - Sophie and John were friendly, the room was lovely and the rates were reasonable.

We arrived late (10pm ish) and had to leave early for a running event on Dartmoor, yet Sophie and John were welcoming and friendly despite the antisocial hours and even cooked us a great breakfast at 7am on a Saturday morning. The room was great - clean, quiet and very comfortable.

The only downside was that we couldn't stay longer! I would definitely book another stay and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Dartmoor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frizington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Homeleigh is a delightful B&B and John & Sophie are the perfect hosts. Their hospitality and friendliness really made the stay which together with the warm and comfortable rooms (on a frosty October night!) and a lovely cream tea and smashing breakfast made this a highlight of our trip to Devon. Thank you both!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesAtCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Congratulations Sophie and John..... A perfect B&B and the best we have ever stayed in. I cannot believe the brilliant customer service we experienced. Not only did Sophie and John treat us with respect and kindness but we had.... a cream tea on arrival; fudge by the bed; a warm and spotlessly clean room; en-suite with an assortment of toiletries; dressing gowns; selection of reading material and in addition, on our second day we had THE most delicious homemade cake left for us. This is most definitely been the highlight of our romantic anniversary stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone..... I nearly forgot to mention the devine breakfast!!!
Thank you to Sophie and John
Tracey Bartlett - WithBellsOn.co.uk

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithBellOn-Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We only stopped one night, however, John and Sophie are superb hosts.

Having worked in the B&B trade myself, I fully appreciated the standard of cleanliness and the attention to detail both John and Sophie gave. (The time and effort you take on preparing the rooms, Sophie, is clearly visible *smile*). They make a great team and the cream tea was a very pleasant surprise.

The breakfast was a great start for the day.

Homeleigh is in an excellent location for walkers and sightseers with beautiful views.

Hope to see you again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Homeleigh recently and I really can't praise the B&B and its owners John & Sophie enough. From the moment we arrived late on a Friday night we were made to feel comfortable and welcome. John carried our bags to a spacious and comfortable room where homemade fudge awaited us on the bed side tables. We got into the snuggly dressing gowns provided and watched a DVD from the B&B's DVD library. Breakfast was deliciously cooked with local meats and a choice of options. When we came back on Saturday evening we were pleasantly surprised again to find homemade brownies waiting in the room. The whole experience was lovely and the B&B was clean and modern with lovely countryside views whilst still being only 5 minutes away from Tavistock.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsALeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had a great welcome from John & Sophie, they are a lovely couple. Rooms are superb - very clean and spacious and we loved the chocolate cake left in our room on arrival !!
Breakfast was absolutely delicious and they were very accommodating and catered to all our needs. We would definitely recommend to everyone and use again if ever we are in the area.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kazand0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Lovely B&B, friendly owners, rooms immaculate and very comfortable. Thanks for a great nights sleep :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachey_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homeleigh Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeleigh Bed & Breakfast

Property: Homeleigh Bed & Breakfast
Address: Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park PL19 9QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Mary Tavy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mary Tavy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast accommodation 3 miles from Tavistock town centre. En-suite bedrooms, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries. Free parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing