We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BnB; clean, spacious, very friendly & warm owners”
Review of La Ferme aux Chats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Formigny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Ferme aux Chats
Ranked #1 of 3 Formigny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This BnB is in an excellent location to museums, Omaha beach memorial, the American Cemetery, and very close to all other beaches/sites related to WWII/D-Day. The couple who owns this fantastically warm and clean BnB are friendly and you should make some time to sit and share a cup of coffee/tea with them in their large garden. We actually walked with them through their grounds and enjoyed their company and advice on local restaurants and sites to visit.

We have stayed in this area twice now as we appreciate visiting and learning about D-Day and this is our second BnB that we tried and it is just incredible - we have no reason to find another as we will return to this inviting and charming BnB.

They have wonderful homemade jams, strong and new showers, great beds, so clean, and warm/nice owners. We strongly recommend this BnB!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blahtalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of B&Bs, and this one is at or near the top. Lovely rooms, great breakfast, very VERY friendly hosts. Quiet location. Nice cats & dog (if you like.) No restaurant nearby, you have to drive down to the beach, which is not far.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family was welcomed with open arms. Very friendly owners, beautiful grounds, along with an amazing breakfast! Great centralized location if traveling to the Normandy points of interest. Both Omaha Beach and American Cemetery are within walking distance or less than 5 minutes by car! We stayed this past June and immediately placed our reservations again for this coming June!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A group of 8 women stayed here for 2 nights during a cycle holiday cycling form Caen to Cherbourg and exploring Normandy. Great location.
We hired all the rooms so had the whole B/B accommodation to ourselves. There is a well equipped kitchen with a fabulous selection of teas and coffee. There is a lovely breakfast and lounge area.
The hosts, Joelle & Loic could not have been more lovely, welcoming and accommodating but not the slightest bit intrusive. We were able to enjoy drinks on the patio. One night we ate at a good french french restaurant less than 5 mins up the road. The next day as we had lunch out so we wanted to eat a light meal in evening so ate in their fantastic eclectic covered outdoor eating area. Loic even kindly drove us to the local town and various delis to help us pick up some provisions. We felt comfortable wandering round their gorgeous garden meeting their pet sheep & chickens. We all absolutely loved staying here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FizzyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here to visit the D Day beaches and sites, I chose this like your selfs reading now from reviews of other people, what a fantastic place.
Jollie and loic are two characters, they can not do enough for you, the accommodation is a family room on suite downstairs and three doubles on suite upstairs, the lounge and kitchen is well equipped and comfortable and the log fire is too die for, well done Loic for being chief fire stocker and never letting the fire die down to low, the area is very central to all historic sites and after a long day exploring. It is nice to come back to a warm and comfortable place to stay.
There is a good restaurant at Omaha beach and every where is accessible, Jollie makes all her own jam and loic is the baker, breakfast is traditional and plenty off it. Topple the dog will join you at every moment to curl up in front of the fire, out side there is a patio area and plenty to wander around, we have never stayed with a totally French couple before but we will be going back to visit these two as we had a fantastic time. The only thing if your traveling is to go from Portsmouth to Caen as we went to Calais we were the only ones staying at the time so we had the place to our selfs but in summer do expect to meet and get to know other guest.
Once again Jollie & Loic thank you for a lovely stay and we will see you again next year

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This B&B was not only adorable, but very close to the D-Day beaches of Normandy. Just a three minute drive at the end of the street took you straight to Omaha beaches. The location was perfect. The B&B itself was very welcoming. You must ring the doorbell at the gate in order to be let onto the grounds, which makes it feel safe that you can't just walk right into the house. The house itself was very cozy, with a fireplace adjacent to the kitchen and eating area. The breakfast buffet was amazing, she makes her own bread and croissants that very morning! She also makes her own jam, and there are about six different flavors. The room we stayed in was a double bed. I ended up not using the shower because I didn't bring shampoo and conditioner, and there was not any provided. So make a note to bring that. (We were only staying one night, so that is why I didn't bring my own, thinking there would be some there). That is the only reason this place did not get five stars. Other then that, it was perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms are a little bit noisy depending on who else is staying in the B&B, as there are only thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

When I first read the reviews of this attractive B&B in rural Normandy, I was truly skeptical. However, it was exactly the type of place we like to stay in when traveling so we made a reservation for 4 of the 7 nights we were to be in Normandy. After just a couple of days in the B&B, we were enjoying ourselves so much we asked to stay the extra 3 nights.

Breakfasts were truly a highlight of the day – fresh bread, chocolate croissants, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee (with pancakes one morning). The area was delightful – it is only 5 minutes by car to Omaha Beach, short distances to small towns with grocery and normal shops or a weekly market, 15 minutes into Bayeux and just a nice central place to explore all of Basse-Normandie.

Rooms were spacious with comfy beds. The sound of church bells from the local village church was a nice way to wake up in the morning. There is a common room to sit and read or explore the antiques that are tastefully placed throughout the B&B part of this farmhouse. WiFi works well with no problems.

Jöelle and Loïc are wonderful hosts who try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They gave us a number of suggestions that helped us uncover more of the history of Normandy during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bygeorgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Ferme aux Chats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme aux Chats

Address: quartier Eglise, 14710 Formigny, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Formigny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Formigny
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B located at 4 km from the DDay beach of Omaha Beach. 4 bedrooms with queen bed and private bathroom (Shower & toilets) Free secured parking in rhe property ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing