We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have to say: yes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Chateau de Philiomel
Ranked #2 of 3 Lillers B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2014

You are in the North of France,and the region IS SAD, so don't expect too much....In the first place Friday 13 haunted my brain.....I did hesitate, but the warm welcome did made me change my mind. Room ok, but bed bloody awful , this is the only thing they should improve. Breakfast perfect and fresh, staff/owner very friendly. Here again ,no problem with my dog at all. For those traveling towards England, very close to the A26.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank styleandclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Le Chateau de Philiomel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Don.t be put off by the initial impression as you drive up. Perfect shabby chic. Lovely hosts lovely rooms perfect French breakfast. Great location for traveling as it is close to the A26.
Lovely huge bedroom with sofa and chairs and a balcony overlooking the ducks on the lake.
The bathroom was big too, but we did not use the Jacuzzi,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked for one night on our way into France and it was a very good experience. The room was large and sheets on the bed which was what was wanted as it was very warm at night. The breakfast was the usual continental but with home made jams and preserves and incredibly fresh orange juice, and good coffee which makes it a real pleasure. Perfect host who booked dinner for us in a nearby excellent restaurant, Le Buffett.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 which has a balcony and is quite large.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodyCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A great stop over place on the way back to Calais, the chateau is set in beautiful grounds overlooking a lake, along a long tree lined driveway. Rather an incongruous setting, amidst a newish housing estate, but a haven of peace and tranquility. Lovely owner, huge room and bathroom, outstanding value for money at only 95euros a night. Tasty breakfast with coffee poured from the family's crested silver coffee pot - very grand!! Lillers rather drab so follow advice and eat at one of the owner's recommendations or do what we did and eat a picnic by the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with terrace.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a lovely b and b run by a charming host. We had a walk in the grounds by the lake before we had our picnic supper as we arrived too late for dinner anywhere. Clean rooms with modern bathrooms and a delicious breakfast served in the well appointed dining room. The house has been in the same family since it was built and is undergoing repair but this did not affect our stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank monclardeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

. We stayed at the Chateau Philiomel as an overnight stop from the Channel Tunnel to Brittany. Approaching through the housing estate one wonders where have I got myself but once through the gates and up the long tree lined drive to approach the chateau the opinion soon changes.
We stayed in room 2 (Au Soleil Couchant) which is spacious and sparsely furnished but this is in keeping with the character of the building. The chateau is clean throughout but in need of some general maintenance which I suspect may be work in progress as part of the overall renovation project.
The driveway of the Château is approximately a quarter of a mile and it is then about a further mile into Lillers where as it was a Sunday night we only found one place to eat but this would be different on weekdays and the Chateau would appear to be a good base to tour the region.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband has spent a night few years ago and wanted to bring me there for a long time.

We've finally managed to book a night for a week-end away. We took the Eurotunnel from UK and went straight there. The owner is lovely and make you feel very welcome.
We had a nice big room with a view on the park and a jacuzzi in the bathroom..
The room is nicely decorated and very comfortable!
We had a complementary bottle of champagne which was a really nice touch as my husband try to book few times and keep phoning back to have a date.. So the owner thanks us by bringing us a bottle of champagne in the afternoon.
We had a walk around the estate which was lovely...
The hotel offers breakfast with good croissants, pain au chocolat, fruits, cereals and nice french jams.

We had dinner at a restaurant which was situated in another town which is called 'Le Jardin d'Alice'. Great restaurant!

I would recommend this hotel for a week-end get away or even a stop other for a road trip or holiday. The price is very good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lillers
6.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
6.1 mi away
Best Western La Metairie
2.4 mi away
Le Chateau de Beaulieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Domaine des Araucarias
Domaine des Araucarias
#1 of 3 in Lillers
31 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chateau de Moulin le Comte
Chateau de Moulin le Comte
#1 of 2 in Aire-sur-la-Lys
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Philiomel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Philiomel

Address: 135 Rue Philiomel | Lillers, 62192 Lillers, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Lillers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lillers
Price Range: $123 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Chateau de Philiomel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing