We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais De La Mothe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais De La Mothe
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel with friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, set in a lovely peaceful village. Rooms were comfortable very clean and the food was absolutely gorgeous. Owner and all staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    57
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
75
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The friendly staff were incredibly thoughtful and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent - home made jams (including banana and ginger), mini croissants, pain au chocolate and apple turn overs: home made plum cake: local farm produced plain yoghurt (amazing): fresh fruit salad: fresh squeezed orange juice: cold meat and cheese and endless supplies of coffee. Our bedroom was one of the more modern tastefully decorated ones with individually chosen furniture and double glazed windows. Comfortable bed and pillows and good linen sheets. The ensuite had a large shower with good water pressure. Our friends were in a room in an older part of the building and it had the original stone fireplace and all the original exposed beams and walls. Beautiful! We didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant but we did eat there last year and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2suffolkandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Right in the middle of Yzeures-sur-Creuse, this hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms are comfortable and stylish. As seems to be the fashion, our bathroom had an awesome shower! There is a comfortable resident's lounge with exposed beams and an open fireplace - very welcome when we stayed there in a very chilly early March. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the owner speaks good English. Wi-fi available. There is some parking available in the square immediately outside the hotel.

The food is good, with a variety of menu options, and we enjoyed all the meals there. However the basic menu included with half board had only 3 choices - a bit limited if staying for any length of time. A daily special would be a good idea - as would some vegetables on the plate. Breakfast was good - tasty breads with jams, yogurt, fruit and cheese, with eggs available on request.

The hotel is in a very convenient location for visting the Brenne national park. There is a courtyard garden at the rear - this could be great in summer.

The hotel is right on the road through the village. We didn't really notice much traffic noise (double glazing on the window) in our room at the front, but if you're sensitive to this ask for one of the rooms at the rear.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnetMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isa2roche, Gérant at Relais De La Mothe, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment. I was very pleased to host you in our Manor. I hope you will keep a good souvenir and I will have the pleasure to see you another time.
Kind regards
isabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Charming hotel in the center of this typical small provincial town. Rooms were clean comfortable and quiet, We had dinner in the dining room. Food was first rate and service was excellent. Breakfast was served in the courtyard, very pleasant. Special praise for the owner who was very gracious

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter1003930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicq-sur-Gartempe, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very disappointing meal. I felt the chef had either not tasted any of the sauces or if he had he had a very strange palate. Médaillon de porc was smothered in a black olive sauce, the meat was tender but sauce far too strong and very salty. The duo of creme brulée was extremely disappointing - two coffee cups of a very solid and tasteless custard, certainly no 'brulée' in sight. On the other hand the service was very good and the decor pleasing.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely Hotel, Good restaurant , our stay was half board the menu was good but stays over 4 nights would cause difficulties with choices as the menu had been made up for 3 nights I would state however the owner accommodated our requests very satisfactory , ours bedroom sparse very little hanging space ,Good & very quiet location. The owner was very attentive & always happy to help .

Room Tip: Ours was a room suitable for the moderately disabled , the bath room was beautiful full wet room sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Small, well decorated, nice rooms. Large and clean bathrooms. I did not eat in the restaurant because I was at Le Calabash and all meals were included in my week there

Helpful?
Thank CAtraveler94087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yzeures-sur-Creuse
2.8 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#1 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
14.4 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
15.7 mi away
La Gourmandine
La Gourmandine
#1 of 10 in Chatellerault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Saint Roch
Hotel Saint Roch
#5 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.3 mi away
Le Relais du Lyon d'Or
Le Relais du Lyon d'Or
#1 of 1 in Angles sur l'Anglin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
18.3 mi away
Chateau de la Motte
Chateau de la Motte
#1 of 1 in Usseau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais De La Mothe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais De La Mothe

Property: Relais De La Mothe
Address: 1 Place du 11 Novembre, 37290 Yzeures-sur-Creuse, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Yzeures-sur-Creuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yzeures-sur-Creuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais De La Mothe 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel and restaurant, 5 minutes from the spa town of La Roche Posay, located at the heart of a pretty village at the crossroads of Poitou, Berry and Touraine, offers a haven of peace in rich history and activities such as golf and casino Roche Posay, castles of the Loire Valley, spa and spa, Futuroscope in Poitiers, etc..A place to stay over a weekend and enjoy a piece of nature in peace and authenticity, only 2 hours from Paris. Hotel and restaurant ideal for a stopover between Chatellerault and Chateauroux, or a spa treatment at La Roche Posay.The Relais de la Mothe greets you with an atmosphere of house guests in its 22 rooms that combine modernity and authenticity: wifi, lounge area and fireplace ...The traditional restaurant flavors "world" offers a structured around the fresh produce market next to the chef, gourmet small escape during your spa at La Roche Posay kitchen ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais De La Mothe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing