We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”
Review of Papamacs

Papamacs
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Johnstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $39
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open every day from 9:30 am. Serving breakfast,lunch.Also open for dinner every Friday , Saturday and Sunday night. NB: Sunday nights advance booking only and the kitchen closes when the last booking is done
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off with my mum for dinner on way home after a long day. Welcomed with a smile and the good service continued. The food did not disappoint either. Would definately recommend and would pop in again if in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    74
    21
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We arrived a little before opening time but were beckoned inside and given choice of window seats on a glorious sunny morning; had it been a little warmer we would have chosen to eat outside overlooking the bandstand and square with beautiful floral displays.
We chose from the bistro menu. Coffee and real fruit tea served in teapot arrived, shortly followed by eggs benedict and pancakes with syrup and bacon. Both piping hot, great looking and delicious resulting in fully cleared plates!
Nice atmosphere and music with friendly and welcoming family owners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“loved the food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

been a couple of times and can't fault the food but portion sizes could be slightly larger.

each time I have visited the eatery, I have never been disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrpaulmccool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Like previous reviewers we have been meaning to go here for ages. Finally got our act together, reserved a table (recommended) and it was well worth it. From the outside it doesn't look much but don't let that put you off. We walked in and were nicely greeted and shown a lovely table for 2 in a corner. Nice background music playing.
The menu has 3 starters and 3 mains with specials on blackboard. I was struggling to choose and eventually went for my old fallback, black pudding -in bonbon form here with quails eggs and chicken breast with cep and truffle risotto. Both were outstanding.
A separate dessert menu appeared and I had a delicious fruit pave and grilled pineapple and sabayon.
The bill was very reasonable and the place was packed when we left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Went to Papamacs for the early evening menu served between 4 & 5.30 at weekends . There was 5 of us and everyone gave the thumbs up to the delicious food on offer , i had the Stornaway Stack a superb mixture of Black Pudding , Goats cheese with a red onion marmalade it was bursting with flavour . For my main course i went for the Boar & Chorizo burger a great choice if i say so myself , a lovely bun filled with crisp salad , a lovely meaty burger so soft and melt in the mouth topped with mature cheddar & red onion with a bowl of hand cut chips on the side . The restaurant itself is warm & homely and the staff are wonderful so attentive but not in your face . There are not many places like this in the Renfrewshire area real delicious fresh tasty food made to order and at a very high level , i would say to everyone give this lovely little place a try I'm sure you will be blown away for me I'll be back ASAP :0)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhobbybhoy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papamacs also viewed

Johnstone, Renfrewshire
Johnstone, Renfrewshire
 
Howwood, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Papamacs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing