We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynnhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lynnhurst Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Johnstone
Certificate of Excellence
Overton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have just returned from staying at the Lynnhurst Hotel after staying there for 2 nights. I can honestly say that this has to one of the most customer friendly hotels I have ever stayed at (that includes some renowned 5* hotels) there is nothing that the staff at this hotel wont do for you as a guest. The room was refurbished to a high standard, the breakfast and evening meals I had were very reasonably price and excellent value for money. I was there with my elderly parents, who are incredibly fussy, and even they enjoyed their stay, so this hotel has definitely got the thumbs up from the family. I am happy to recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emlyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaunlynnhurst, Manager at Lynnhurst Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, the team here t the hotel always appreciate the comments our customers leave.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable day with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future

Shaun Donnelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    115
    42
    25
    39
See reviews for
179
181
2
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
275 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

20 of us attended the New Year's Eve Ball in the main function room which turned out to be a fantastic night. It was a full house and there must have been about 150 attending in total. Despite the numbers there was no issue with the service and the quality of food. There were loads of servers on duty and they were well organised.
Champagne on arrival and champagne again at the bells,live band and disco music during their break, and a piper at the bells, what more could you want.
In a company of that size it's one of the best meals I've had.
Having recently been refurbished this is a quality facility.
Well done Lynnhurst and I'm looking forward to the next one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaunlynnhurst, Manager at Lynnhurst Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we pride ourselves on our hotel services and work hard to ensure that we deliver the very best in customer service and guest amenities.


The hotel is widely whispered as a destination venue and will continue to offer that something special for anyone looking to have a memorable night out.



Shaun Donnelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for one night in November as a treat. Lovely looking Hotel and staff very friendly. Our room could not be faulted and had obviously recently been refurbished. I don't know if all the bedrooms are of the same standard. As we stayed during the week and it was not high season the restaurant was not open but we ate in the bar. Good choice of food which was presented well and tasted fine. Breakfast was a different story. There had been a wedding and as a result the breakfast room was set out in mostly long tables with 3 two person tables at the side. This is not a problem but when we arrived there was no member of staff in sight. We waited and waited and eventually sat down at the only small table which was still set for breakfast and not covered in used dishes. We eventually helped ourselves to tea ( the coffee was empty) and a buffet hot breakfast. The food was decidedly mediocre and it was impossible to remove the lid of the dish, help yourself and hold a plate all at the same time. Eventually a waitress arrived and we asked for tea and toast. There was nothing on the table to say we could have ordered fried eggs, smoked salmon etc. The whole breakfast experience let down the hotel say drastically.
My daughter on the other hand has stayed here and there was no wedding on during their visit. She tells me that breakfast was very good and was not buffet style. I assume from that that if there is a wedding the service goes into decline. I won't be chancing that again. We should have been told breakfast would not be up to normal standards, in fact there is no reason why ordinary hotel guests should not have had normal service. I don't go to a nice hotel and expect a canteen breakfast . It was a pity as we were staying to decide if we would consider the venue for our daughters wedding.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have been to the Lynnhurst many times for meals, we loved it that much that we got married there as well! The staff have always been so very helpful and friendly on every visit and we've always felt very well taken care of anytime we have gone there.
We couldnt have asked for a better venue for our big day, nothing was too much of an ask for them to do and they took care of everything so all that was left for my new husband and I to do was to enjoy the day with our guests. The honeymoon suite was lovely but we also got to see a few other rooms and they all looked great as well.
The hotel itself is a beautiful building and the grounds are very well taken care of so even though our wedding was in November we got some wonderful pictures taken outside.
The food in the hotel has always been fantastic, and we will continue to visit the hotel in the future and would highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMacLellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent the fri night in a family room and Saturday night in a twin room. Preferred the family room as it seemed more modern.
Was staying due to a family wedding and could not fault the hotel at all. Any member of staff i encountered was very pleasant and helpful.
As a wedding venue it was fantastic. Loved the twinkly lights on the dance floor.
Everything in room was set out beautifully and service was excellent.
They certainly made my sister's wedding a day to remember.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmbpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaunlynnhurst, Manager at Lynnhurst Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor, the Team here at the Hotel were delighted to read your comments.
We strive here at the Hotel to keep our service at the highest standard and at the top of the industry.
Thank you once again for the positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at the Lynnhurst Hotel.

Shaun Donnelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here and got ripped off. Waste of time challenging them as the customer is always wrong. Friends of ours booked in for 2 nights and on arrival was told the hotel was fully booked and so they had to stay in the sister hotel 4 miles away. Had they known they could have stayed with us the first night in the Travel Lodge, half the price and twice as good.
Glad we didn't stay the first night as no one got much sleep as there were people running through the corridors yelling and screaming until 4am!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Davina203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Dear Sandra and all those at the lynnhurst,

I would just like to take the opportunity to say thank for putting on such an amazing night for us. The staff were extremely helpful and very efficient considering they had to manage 150 17 year olds but I thought your staff were extremely understanding.

Also your dj was sublime and was amazing at working the dance floor and I thought it brilliant that he managed to play every song we requested and overall made the night extremely enjoyable buy working the dancefloor and keeping the atmosphere alive.

Once again thank you for an amazing night
Deepest thanks
The gryffe high prom committee

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaunlynnhurst, Manager at Lynnhurst Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor, the Team here at the Hotel were delighted to read your comments.
We strive here at the Hotel to keep our service at the highest standard and at the top of the industry.
Thank you once again for the positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at the Lynnhurst Hotel.

Shaun Donnelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstone
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynnhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynnhurst Hotel

Property: Lynnhurst Hotel
Address: Park Road, Johnstone PA5 8LS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Johnstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Johnstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynnhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently undergone an extensive refurbishment, The Lynnhurst Hotel combines traditional grace with modern efficiency, making it Renfrewshire's new aspirational venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lynnhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynnhurst Hotel Johnstone, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing