We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small portions and long wait” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grace The Establishment - CLOSED

Grace The Establishment
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A bar you can dine in and a restaurant you can drink in.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small portions and long wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the 4th time I've been here and yet again the service has been slow. Waited 25 min for a coffee. 30+ mins for lunch. The place was not busy either. Portion sizes are small for the high price but tasty. Great location and atmosphere but the attitude of the staff needs to improve when asked about why things are taking so long. Not good enough really for a supposed high end restaurant. If the staff don't like being queried, don't work there. We'll be the lat time I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank shavbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    39
    21
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a causal lunch in the bar area. Lunch special of two buns and fries was good value at $18, buns were delicious. Wine list by the glass is limited.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmgsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Funtimes @ Grace!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place is super cool. We called ahead for a booking but they said they were full. Nevertheless, we took our chances anyway and rocked up. There were plenty of spaces in the large bar area, which was perfect for us. I had the Grace burger and my dining partner had the Gnocchi. We shared the lamb ribs as an entree. The ribs were to die for-- tender, falling off the bone with a sticky-sweet sauce, cut through by the tangy and cool cucumber. Fantastic dish. My friend threw her hand sin the air and said 'this is the best thing I have ever eaten!' not sure about that, but it was very good. The gnocchi was likewise very tasty, it looked handmade and very high-quality ingredients. Not cutting corners here. The burger was god also-- nice condiments within-- but the diminutive chips were a bit of a let down. You can get a better burger and fries at Nordburger just down the road.
Nevertheless, a great night with great food, bar and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amos_W95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambience, food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Grace has lots of different seating areas, and a really fantastic courtyard. The food is always amazing, and every time I have been it has always been a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go there hungry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was blown away, my Wagyu steak was $40.00, it was nice, but a $20.00 meal... Severely over priced, great venue, but I would go there for drinks and snacks not a dining experience... They won't separate bills... The staff definitely lacked servicing the public experience ....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grace The Establishment also viewed

Norwood, Greater Adelaide
Norwood, Greater Adelaide
 
Norwood, Greater Adelaide
Norwood, Greater Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing