We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelming” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Windmill

The Old Windmill
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The pub is in a great location, nice decor and a good selection of beer. However, I had the chicken hock and leek pie which was ok but the cabbage was over salted and the mash was Cadbury smashesque. The service was average and the staff were awful.... Will not be going there again ever!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    161
    66
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Definitely room for improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Where to start, booked table for nine, four of which were vegetarian, choice of food for veggies was very poor, the roast potatoes were cooked in beef dripping so weren't able to have the roast less the meat, my daughter ordered the one vegetarian choice to be told there was none left, she ended up having egg & chips, I ordered the haddock & chips, no garnish, no peas of any kind & half the chips were the tiny little bits that had been in the pan for three or four fryings, so were dripping with fat & inedible, my partner & I had a cheeseboard to share for £10:00 , there was eight biscuits & four small pieces of cheese, my mother-in-law ordered the roast pork, had to ask fora Yorkshire pudding ( should have been asked ) whilst the staff who served us were pleasant & did their best, our waitress was complaining of the lack of staff, all of this from a pub

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1stantheman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Why have I never eaten here before?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Back in the day The Old Windmill was a Sunday night hangout to see and be seen. I don't think I've been there since and this was my first time to eat. Lovely country pub decor, great garden for the kids and truly delicious food. Scallops with a cauliflower puree and onion bhaji to start, King prawn and chorizo linguini and the pan fried sea bass with mussels, clams and samphire and saffron potatoes. Absolutely top class food. We will return soon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ViggyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food but service could be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here. Pub was very pleasant inside and food delicious but barman particularly awkward and rather rude. Service was quick though and plenty of tables in their pleasant garden. Children loved playing on the tractor and on the swings.

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Will certainly come again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A last minute invitation found me in South Hanningfield, Essex fairly close to the reservoir at this delightful pub where our small party was treated to a warm welcome by the friendly and smilingly helpful staff.

'No', it wouldn't be a problem for us to take advantage of the glorious weather and dine alfresco, all though it proved [understandably] necessary to pay for our food and drinks at the bar. The menu seemed to cater for all tastes and the five spice flavoured duck breast I opted for didn't disappoint.

The setting is just a tad set back from the road so care is necessary to avoid over-shooting; the large car park also offered a number of places where we could park in the shade. For future reference, I was pleased to note that the establishment is dog friendly.

Maybe the menu is a little on the expensive side for rural Essex but it certainly will not deter me from visiting again. Soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Windmill also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
East Hanningfield, Chelmsford
 

Been to The Old Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing