We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jeanetteb...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value accommodation”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our holiday in this cottage bungalow. It's situated in a great location. On the right side of town for the supermarkets and to walk into Penzance for the bus or railway station. We could also get the St Ives or Falmouth bus at the bottom of the road. It was a bit noisy at times but we were there during the main weeks and, being on a main road to St Ives, this was only to be expected with all the holiday traffic and farm vehicles. This also meant parking outside the property was not an option, but the school car park was only a short walk away and we were happy the car was parked safely off the road. We were concerned about storage space in the property, however, there were two large fitted cupboards in the hallway with room for clothes, shoes and luggage. It isn't somewhere we'd stay in winter but during the summer months, if you're out most of the day, it was comfortable enough and, importantly, had a decent shower. For the price it was ideal and good value for money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and found the accommodation comfortable. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the summer traffic! We too find the buses very convenient, especially for St Ives and there is actually a bus which passes through the village to St Ives and in the other direction to Penzance. It is also good to have a pub and a Post Office in the village - and an interesting old church. In the winter many people have found it very cosy , sometimes for a 6 week stay but it is small and cosy rather than luxurious.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue E
Feltham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed with Chyancrowse”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

the location of the cottage was on a very noisy and busy junction. not very peaceful at all.the bathroom left a bit to be desired, mould on the tiles in the shower and around the sink, when we arrived it smelt damp in the bathroom. the bedroom had a very bad feeling about it, at night the air was bad and we had trouble sleeping there,on 2 nights we even slept in the front room as it was so bad. the parking situation was not good, parking spaces around there are limited to say the least, if you rent the smaller property the owners give priority to the large property, we felt it would have been fairer if each cottage had one space each. the first couple who were staying in the larger property, were very nice and accomodatiing regarding parking but the 2nd couple on our last week were very arrogant and not at all flexible. as I say it would be fairer if each accomodation could have one space each.

another thing was that the security lights kept coming on and lighting up our bedroom 3-4 times every night, it was very aggravating and led to disturbed nights
throughout our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
I very much regret that you found your stay in Chyancrowse unsatisfactory. We aim to provide very reasonably priced accommodation of a 3* standard and most of our guests are more than happy with the accommodation and return year after year.
PARKING: you complain that you found the parking arrangements unfair but these were the terms that were in the description of the property when you rented it. You were also informed of other parking possibilities you could use only 5 minutes away. There are often 8 people in the larger property and they know that they have priority use of the parking area so you cannot anticipate that that they will wish to share the driveway with you.
SECURITY LIGHTS: Most people are grateful for the security lights from a Health and Safety point of view. Possibly a cat was setting them off. No-one else has told us there is a problem and obviously it is beyond our control to keep neighbouring cats away from our driveway.
BEDROOM: We have been letting the property for 25 years or more and 'bad air' and 'bad feeling' in the bedroom have not been an issue. I wonder whether it is a coincidence that the only people critical of the bedroom were the people who preceeded you and no doubt they wrote about it graphically in the visitors' book.
It is , of course, as described in the literature, a small bedroom and consequently the windows need to be opened daily to allow in fresh air - and even to be opened at night. Similarly the bathroom is small and constant showers can cause condensation and hence the blackening around some of the tiles. Again the windows need to be opened daily. Obviously you should not have arrived to find any kind of mould and for that I apologise. I wish you had immediately contacted our cleaner who would immediately have come in and dealt with it. She is always anxious to please our visitors.
CORNER LOCATION: Yes, the bungalow is on a busy corner and it is particularly busy in the summer and early Autumn. We ourselves stay in the bungalow several times a year and have not found that the traffic is audible in the bedroom as it is well set back from the road.

The smallness of the shower room and bedroom and the position of the bungalow on the corner are reflected in the price we charge for Chyancrowse.

Obviously you have found things to criticise , and it is your right to express your opinion and draw our attention to things which you think could be better, , but it is a pity that the new comfortable chairs, new carpet and curtains in the lounge were not appreciated.
We shall continue to address any problems that are brought to our notice as we always aim to give our guests an enjoyable holiday and good value for money..
Joan Sampson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeinch
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very tired cottage”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location near to Penzance. Very tired holiday cottage, not up to standard, on a very busy corner with tractors, buses and lots of holiday traffic going by. The cottage needs a good spring clean and beds and bedding replaced. There is a mouldy blind at the bathroom window and black mould on the tiles. The Internet and the telephone didn't work. Not a pleasant place to stay for a holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Guests are of course entitled to their opinions but I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay.We do our very best to ensure that guests enjoy their holiday. We endeavour to supply what we believe to be comfortable accommodation at an affordable price.
I must say that I find most of the comments inaccurate and unjustified.
1. You describe the cottage as tired and not up to standard.
Each year the cottage is assessed under the Quality Assessment scheme and always receives a good 3* rating.
This year the lounge has had a brand new good quality settee , armchair, carpet and curtains.
2. You believe the bed and bedding should be replaced.
You are the only guests who have complained. The linen is Sandersons and people have commented on the comfort of the bed.
3. Phone. As stated in the information sent to all guests the phone only receives incoming calls.
Outgoing calls are barred as it is not a payphone and that means there is no dialling tone.
4. WiFi .On August 12 we had a new provider but the people in the bungalow from then until your arrival expressed no problems
5. Cleanliness. I understand you had many friendly conversations with our cleaner. Had you expressed to her that you were dissatisfied in any way she would have come in and dealt with any problems including any tiles that had become blackened by condensation in the small bathroom. She would not like to feel you were dissatisfied with her preparations for your arrival.She is obviously now aware of your comments .
6. Yes, the cottage is on a corner which is very busy particularly with tourists in August. Also, being in a rural area surrounded by farms tractors are inevitable. The cottage has been double-glazed and the bedroom is set back from the road and corner and is usually quite quiet at night.

Our cottage is being assessed again in November and we shall obviously take on board any comments that are made as we do every year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Rambling Base”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our fifth stay in Chyancrowse because the facilities combined with the 'value for money' charge ensures we can return to our favourite places and explore new places and experiences. After a long drive, it is wonderful to know that there will be milk in the 'fridge and we can have a drink and biscuit before 'moving in'! I like having wi-fi available and the fact that close relatives can contact us by 'phone, as the mobile signal is poor. It is the ideal base for a gentle walking holiday - the sea is in view and Marazion, Penzance, Newlyn & Mousehole are all within easy walking distance. Supplies for the week are close-by in Sainsburys or Tesco. We use the kitchen to prepare packed lunches & dinners. Who could resist cooking fish from Newlyn? We have been known to sample food in the local pub, Lewis' in Newlyn, the deli in Penzance and the daily treats of pasties & cream teas where ever we are visiting. The accommodation is on a bus route to St.Ives and it is a short walk to get the train in Penzance.
Although I enjoy rambling and the outdoor life, I cannot survive without a good shower to start the day, a comfortable bed to end the day and plenty of substantial food in the middle. Chyancrowse has provided these facilities for us since 2009. Every year we find something new to visit. Thank-you Joan & Sue for facilitating a fortnight 'away from it all'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great holiday”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our family had a wonderful stay at this bungalow in Gulwal. It was clean and well maintained with everything we needed for a short 3 night stay, even extra given cot bed for our small child. Very warm welcome with milk, tea and biscuit. No problem with the parking. A short walk to local pub for dinner and stunning area of beautiful view . Short distance to beaches in Penzance and St Ives. A big thanks to owner Joan for everything.
We'd love to come back!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal Place”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An ideal place for our short break to Cornwall. As a couple we have trouble finding one bedroomed places so this was ideal for us. Had everything we needed there & very also close to attractions, pubs, restaurants etc... No problem parking outside the property. Very reasonable price as well & Joan (owner) was very helpful.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very compact, cosy accommodation & just what we needed.
Liked least: Postcode & full address would of been helpful on the arrival notes that were emailed to me.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing