We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional as always......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coldstreamer

The Coldstreamer
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Gulval
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Exceptional as always......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

On arrival, our first point of call was to book our favourite restaurant for a family evening out. Exceptional food and service all round as always. My hubby went for 'pot luck' and was delighted with his 3 courses for £21. The pâté starter was the best we've ever tasted. Booking early on weekends is a must. Will see you all soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jurassica22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    66
    24
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
penzance, cornwall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good steak but over all disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited this evening with my partner and a couple of friends. Both guys had the steak, my other friend had the chicken and I had pearl barley risotto with fritters. The steak was well cooked with mushrooms, tomato and only about 10 chips each. The chips looked hand cut. The chicken looked good but the chips where very different, almost like frozen oven chips. We had a side order of chips as I fancied a couple but again they where almost frozen oven chips. My risotto was dull and the fritters lacked crunch, very bland. The bill was reasonable around £80. I would certainly go back but would like a simple veggie option without barley, artichokes or risotto. Sometimes a good quality homemade bean burger really hits the spot.













Helpful?
Thank mikamilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were visiting relatives in Newlyn and had previously checked the reviews for the restaurant. We were not disappointed as the food and service were excellent. Nice birthday lunch for one of our party.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This pub is tucked away in a tiny village but is a real delight. The menu is really good and caters for everyone. The landlord takes a real pride in his bar and this shows. We have been coming here for 20 years and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank aebromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Serendipity strikes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were recommended to this pub by the owner of our holiday cottage, just along the road. We were not disappointed, magnificent restaurant food at ultra reasonable prices, I took advantage both nights of the "pot luck" option, £21 for 3 courses of some of the best food I've ever eaten. My wife chose from the menu and her 3 courses came to around £26 each night. 4 real ales on tap, which changed between our two visits. Excellent service, even from the grumpy French barman/waiter, (don't try to discuss wine with him, unless it's French!). The Australian couple on a gourmet tour that we met there probably summed it up best. "The best "bang for buck" of the whole trip", and that included several Michelin starred restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjwebley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coldstreamer also viewed

 

Been to The Coldstreamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing