We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have holidayed at Kenigie Manor several times. We have always stayed in the small bungalows(as I call them).
The accomodation is excellent. We can take our little dog with us which, for us is a bonus. The site and accomodation is excellent. Cant wait to go again. The bed was amazing as both my husband and myself have some awful sleepless nights but at Kenegie we both slept every night right through.My only regret is that I did not find out what mattress was on the bed. Hope Paul can tell me that. We were in NO.31.We tell everyone about this place as we love it so much.

Room Tip: We did`nt use a "fitness centre" And as for service a light bulb went and the maintenance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janpatSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Our regular guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a gold apartment and I loved the place. Clean big and equipped . It was lovely the living room had two sofas. The beds was nice, loved the un- suit and the balcony .

The things on site was not good. The pool was small and when we got out are eyes was red raw! The pub was dated and smelly they had non of are wanted drinks. The tenice court was uneven the play area had nothing but a climbing frame. But when we left something behind we called them but they said they through it in the bin!

But I will bace my review on the accommodation witch was brill

Room Tip: Go for gold apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

With regard to your comments about the park, we certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

I am pleased to hear that you rated the accommodation very highly and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I (comprising of two adults and three children) have just returned from a midweek stay at Kenegie Manor; booked with Hoseasons. We stayed in a dormer cottage, 29 Old Court and while the accommodation is somewhat basic, it's clean and comfortable and suited us perfectly as a base to explore. Kenegie Manor park is a quiet holiday park with a bar/ restaurant, indoor pool, small children's play area, tennis court and launderette. Don't book if you are expecting a tacky Haven type holiday with entertainment etc. The staff are friendly and helpful, the location of the park is in the lovely village of Gulval and a stones throw from Penzance. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend Kenegie Manor to other visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarity971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at number 50 old court on the complex it's self there is a tennis court and indoor swimming pool and bar area the pool was a bit on the cold side though could have done with it heated up at bit no lockers for your clothes in the changing rooms which would have been nice the laundrette on site is £5 per load of clothes and the tumble dryer is £1 for 25 minutes they are industrial washers and dryers I needed 50 minutes to dry my towels and other stuff also the John fowler owned pub on site which also runs the pool and laundrette sells bar meals which me and my family sampled it was ok find picture of the food below and if needed would eat there again my only gripe is the free wifi if to many people are online at the same time it's terrible in the bar area but in the lounge area it's not to bad the staff where very helpful and the grounds outside are well kept a children's play area is ok for younger kids but not over the age of 12 but get what 12 yr old wants to play on swings and climbing frames the town of gulvul is minutes drive away and penzance to lots of shops places to eat in and out car parking in tbe town is good right on the docks so far on our family trip we have done lands end only 7 miles away st Michaels mount the Eden project st ives and the tate gallery still 3 days left to do Newquay zoo & flambards theme park would defiantly come here again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upayforwhatyouget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the cottage.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Literally half the site seemed vacant during the holiday high season. There is a reason for this. The cottages are very basic, with no labour saving devices and no wifi. A load of washing costs £5!!! There are more than 100 cottages on the site. All of the ground is covered with cottages, leaving a tiny bit of waste ground as the only space to kick a ball about. All of the disadvantages of Butlins, with none of the advantages. There was no children's playground to engage children over the age of 3. The pool is open only 6 hours a day, in two sessions, and the rules were so restrictive it made it difficult for children to have fun (no jumping, balls, inflatables etc). There was no interesting features in the pool (eg slides etc) to engage children (and it was too short for swimming lengths). The staff were friendly and the proprietor helpful though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, discover why they had such poor holiday and see what we could do to help. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and can only assume that perhaps their stay was not as bad as they first indicated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in a chalet, which was exceptional value for money. Everything you need inside with outside space to sit too and parking. The beds were comfy and the cooking facilities were perfect.

The location is excellent, very peaceful and tranquil.

Unfortunately the park has some strange opening times for the pool and bar. We was disappointed to find the entrance to the bar/recption chained and padlocked several times during the day, the opening times are stated on the door but they only class the peak season as the 6 week school holidays so if you travel outside that time you will find limited use of facilities.
A car is a must due to the location, not because it is far to walk into penzance but the road leading down has no paths, high privet walls at either side, narrow and windy and traffic moves fast including plenty of hgv type vehicles so it is not safe to walk.

The launderette is too expensive, £5 for a 20 minute wash is a joke. Ok soap powder is supplied but I have never been somewhere that charged that before.

The staff are friendly but not all are knowledgeable about the area and like I said, opening times are strange so often there are no staff.

The swimming pool was old, the room appeared to be dilapidated and it is quite small. We did not like it much.

Apart from these few negative points the park itself and chalets were perfect and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellywelly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an excellent review.

On the few points that you picked up, we certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I have just come back from Kenegie Manor, and we had a great time.
We stayed in a Dormer Traditional Cottage, which well presented and clean.
The park was nice and pleasant, and was situated within a lightly wooded area.
I would definitely go back again.
The pool was clean but the pool area needed a lick of paint, as the paintwork around was flaking and discoloured. The bar area was ok but it closed at 9pm?.
The only major drawback was the staff. They did not know anything about the site at all, the receptionist first had us booked into the wrong accommodation, and when she brought her manager along, they both seemed to be very clueless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

With regard to the staff, I am sorry that you arrived just as we had a change of management on the park. Naturally it will take a few days for the new people to become familiar with everything.

However, I am delighted that you understood and that this did not spoil your stay with us. We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
1.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
833 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
496 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
5.3 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 20 in Penzance
432 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hills overlooking Mount's Bay and St Michaels Mount, our 11 Acre Holiday Park is simply the perfect place for your holiday or short break in Cornwall. We offer a wide range of self-catering accommodation for guests to choose from, so there's something to suit all tastes and budgets. From beautiful barn conversions to contemporary apartments, the choice is yours ! With a grand 500 year old manor house at the heart of our Cornish country estate, our holiday park is the ideal place to stay, eat explore and have fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing