We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired accomodation and paper thin walls”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in the old court booked directly with the owners. The accomodation was a bit basic and had an air of dampness about it. But it was clean. However the real issue was the thiness of the walls. You could have a conversation with your neighbours without going outside. The pool was ok but had strange opening times. Needs some cash spending on it as do the tennis courts. Overall average place desperately needing some tlc

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. Most reviews paint a totally different picture, but we certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

We have owned the park since 1998 and during that time you are the first person that I have heard comment on "thin walls". I had always been given to understand that these properties were built to housing standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having read other reviews we ( my husband and myself ) really weren't expecting much. We can only assume we are not staying in the same place!!! We are just on our first day here and already are more than happy. Our park bungalow is immaculate, brilliantly equipped and VERY cosy. We were greeted and given our keys on arrival and immediately told " any problems come straight back and we'll sort them out". We have just returned from the. "pub" where we enjoyed a delicious and well prepared meal ( steak and the trimmings), beautiful. Very friendly place/staff. We are just looking forward to the rest of the week, and will DEFINATELY be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sceneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

I assume from your "expectations that you had read some negative reviews before you came. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We are a family of four and stayed at No1. Old Court in July and thought it offered excellent modern facilities that have been completed by the current private owners. The bathroom was new and spotless. The kitchen was new and modern with everything you could think of. Having read some of the previous comments on Tripadvisor I was worried what we were going to get. The children used the site indoor pool, as well as the tennis courts which kept them away from the TV and entertained outdoors. The site staff were very welcoming and helpful with ideas for things to do, but we just ran out of time. Having spoken to others during our stay it seems that not all accommodation is of a similar standard. We thought it was a quiet site with well maintained grounds. Only criticism is that the bar needs an extraction system to prevent food smells circulating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had the perfect summer holiday this year staying at The Pendennis Bungalow in Kenegie Manor. The Bungalow itself was a private let and was fresh, clean and comfortable. We are a family with 2 young boys ages 4 & 6 and they loved the swimming pool and tennis courts.The pool has restricted opening hours (10 till 1 and 3 till 6) but we went most days and at times we had it to ourselves. The grounds of Kenegie Manor are well kept and quiet. The area is close to many beautiful beaches and places to visit. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good value holiday home to spend time with their family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgtsagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments - everyone will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very disappointed by cleanliness shower was mouldy everything felt sticky and wet including bedding...both bedrooms very damp and smelt very bad...my one year old son didn't sleep through all night the whole 7 night's we were there! We stayed in number one bungalow whi h was situated at the entrance..for six people..looked more like for two was that cramped..poor furniture which didn't bother me but the cleanliness did..nd were we was located there was private land in which a lady owned three big dogs that came every morning and did there business on our doorstep not very good when I have a baby who is exploring so my mum spent her holiday picking dog pooh up!!!we approached staff about this but apparently the woman with the dogs wasn't very nice to approach ..wouldn't stay AGAIN.....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niccinoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

The park manager tells me that you did not report your displeasure while you were on the park - in fact, when you left you only mentioned the three troublesome dogs. It is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home.

The local authorities are now dealing with the neighbour's dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A family of four from North Yorkshire we stayed for a week in a Kenegie Manor apartment (11).
The location is quiet and tranquil and the setting around the Manor House particularly pleasant.
Our apartment was large, very well equipped and was absolutely spotless. It had two bedrooms (one en-suite) a family bathroom and a huge kitchen-diner-lounge area with a balcony.
The bar was very welcoming and we enjoyed the Jubilee concert on a large screen over a couple of great pints of Tetleys (maybe three!).
The pool was relaxing and the staff very pleasant, helpful and courteous without exception.
You are also in striking distance of some great beaches (Carbis) and lovely towns (Falmuth & Truro).
Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your comments have been passed on to all the staff who will be delighted to read your thoughts.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Lovely location. Bit quiet for kids but that suited us as we had none.
We took our dog along and were able to walk him on the designated part of the park.
The clubhouse is a bit dated but if like us you venture out & about it's no issue.
The pubs near the park are very expensive and not that great to be honest. I advise you drive out a bit and find better places.
Beaches locally are superb.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocWS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all the staff.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
5.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hills overlooking Mount's Bay and St Michaels Mount, our 11 Acre Holiday Park is simply the perfect place for your holiday or short break in Cornwall. We offer a wide range of self-catering accommodation for guests to choose from, so there's something to suit all tastes and budgets. From beautiful barn conversions to contemporary apartments, the choice is yours ! With a grand 500 year old manor house at the heart of our Cornish country estate, our holiday park is the ideal place to stay, eat explore and have fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing