We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an amazing place, hidden away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coldstreamer Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gulval B&B and Inns
Midsomer Norton, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“what an amazing place, hidden away”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

to be honest I only booked this because my normal hotel is closed over the winter and I needed somewhere to stay - it was a great find.

Very warm welcome, the room was really nice, complimentary drinks, large clean bathroom and comfortable bed.

The only slght concern was that my bathroom window looked over another house and for the sake of dignity I had to keep the blind down!

Food was amazing, home made bread, home made jam, beautifully cooked food and a pleasant atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: in room 3 you have to keep the bathroom blind shut
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    31
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
13
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed just one night. Dinner was nothing short of outstanding. The kitchen offers dishes that will rival any 5 star big city restaurant, but in a comfortable country Inn atmosphere. Staff is friendly, chatty and competent. Our waiter Vincent was the star of the show.

Room was comfortable, big bed, clean and tidy. We slept well and especially enjoyed Vincent's hot home made croissants in the morning. PS. very nice selection of Scottish single malts if that is your taste.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twocanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights as a trip to watch the rugby. The location is excellent at 2 miles out of Penzance with an easy walk. From the moment we arrived, the service was excellent. We were greeted and shown to our room straight away, explained about the breakfast time and showed us our twin room. Lovely laid out with fresh coffee (so unusual these days), great space for two of us and very comfortable. The beer served in the bar was excellent, great choices and a good start. When back from the rugby game, the bar was still open and talked to the locals. Colin was extremely knowledgable about the area and made us feel like locals. He gave us good advise on which were the best ale pubs in Penzance. Our only criticism would be the size of the breakfast portions. The food was so tasty and I would recommend getting the home made croissants as an extra (have to order night before) as they are fantastic and do fill you up after the full breakfast. All the components of the breakfast were fantastic in flavour, just not large enough (might be me being greedy or used to larger Yorkshire portions)!!! Would recommend this place to all, it is fantastic and I will be staying again when down to watch the rugby. All the staff are so friendly from the service at breakfast, to the bar and the cleaner. The only thing we didnt do was eat at night there, although looking at the menu I wish we had. Thank you for making it a great stay.

Room Tip: Remember those at the front overlook the church and you can hear the bells (but our beerplugs did he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were on our way to The Scillies.Late arrival from Manchester ,but staff welcoming, service excellent and food delicious,well cooked and presented.Worth waiting for!
The room had everything we needed and bed comfortable.The shower was roomy and efficient.
Next morning the breakfast was beautiful cooked,each component of 'The Full English' cooked perfectly. apple juice lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 269lindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at The Coldstreamer for one night for a visit to Penzance, St Micheal's Mount and the Minack Theatre. Beautiful location in the small village of Gulval. Not far away to all 3 destinations by car which was very ideal. Room was brilliantly presented and had everything we needed for a great stay. The bar snacks option is brilliant especially for thoughs who are just feeling a little peckish. We ordered 4 items for £10 which was very ideal for us, but normal menu looked very good too! Breakfast in the morning was cereals, Croissants on request, and a very good cooked breakfast! Staff were great and helped us with taxi enquiries, and also recommendations for where to get the best Cornish Pasty! Definitely use The Coldstreamer again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAJD1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here two nights with Louie, our English Bulldog. It is the best B&B experience we've had during our two weeks trip in the UK. The Inn is situated in a small village called Gulval. It's like stepping into a postcard. Nothing but a church, a cemetery (with pirate's grave-how cool is that?) and lovely cottages with beautiful gardens. The Inn is above a pub with excellent restaurant. The room is huge, luxurious and comfortable. We felt so at home we hardly felt like moving.
It was 20 min driving to Land's End (skip that but take the coastal path to Sennen), 15 mins to St Ives (cute). But the best part ; coming back to that room, that pub and the nice people there.
Louie was given towel, a bed and loads of attention by the pub visitors.
Apparently Tom Dick and Harry run the place. No idea if it's a joke but most people can't run one of three things right : a pub, a michelin restaurant, a great B&B but these guys pull it off all three at the same time. Harry closed the bar friday night and was at breakfast at 9 and on duty again till late ; I can do nothing but admire him...

Ps O and Vincent, or at least I think that's his name, the French bartender, nice guy, does his job well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woefsterinthebeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Only stayed here for one night and so wish it was more!
Room was perfect, huge room, huge bed and huge shower.
You wouldnt believe this place lets dogs stay because the room was immaculate.
Breakfast was lovely, all local products - polgoon apple juice was lovely!
Staff were friendly and evening meal was perfect. All of this for an excellent price.
We will be back in May :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JabLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
0.0 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
799 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 82 in Penzance
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dock Inn
The Dock Inn
#39 of 82 in Penzance
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coldstreamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coldstreamer Inn

Property: The Coldstreamer Inn
Address: Gulval, Penzance TR18 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gulval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coldstreamer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Coldstreamer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coldstreamer Hotel Gulval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing