We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nulli Secundus" indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coldstreamer Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gulval B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The history is fascinating. For a short while after 1942, the property was owned by the Coldstream Guards Association (and there is obviously still a connection as recent copies of the annual Regimental Magazine are in the bar area). "Nulli Secundus", or "Second to None" is the motto of the Coldsteam Guards and this traditional inn certainly aspires to that!

We stayed for two nights in order to have a short spring break with our small dog. The accommodation was comfortable and the owners have some welcoming touches in the rooms - ear plugs if you find the chatter in the bar downstairs or the church bells annoying. Whilst we always take our dog's basket and have a couple of old towels in the car, there was a doggie rug and a doggie towel available for us in the room if we had needed them.

Whilst I would agree with comments concerning the bed being very hard, I have a feeling the firmness is good for one's posture. Neither of us suffered any morning twinges and aches, which we find normal in our own, softer bed!

We noticed complaints from other guests about the church bells and the clock which chimes every hour. The bells of our village churches, and the chiming of the church clock, are an essential part of what makes this land "England" and it would be a crying shame if ever they fell silent. In Devon and Cornwall, there are probably fewer than a quarter of the village churches and chapels still in use, so we should be grateful when we hear the campanologists (bell ringers) practising their art!

Normally, when we stay away, we try the food on one night of the stay, and drive out somewhere on the other night. However, we both felt that the Coldstreamer's food was that good, we decided not to bother looking for anywhere else and let the Coldstreamer's chef perform his magic on us throughout. Without wishing to make the chef big-headed, we would say this is the best food we have ever had in any public house in the UK! The meals were beautifully presented and tasted every bit as good as they appeared on the plate! Full marks!

Although the Inn is situated in a small village, it is only a quarter of a mile from the main roads and in easy reach of Penzance, Long Rock and Marazion (for St Michaels Mount) and the Coast Path. It is in a good location for exploring the "foot" of Cornwall - Lands End, the "arty" St Ives, Falmouth etc.

The only disappointment we had was that providing a packed lunch was advertised when we booked. While we were told the chef could put something together for us, everything would be individually priced so it made it hard to budget. We would have liked to see a small packed lunch menu - maybe one or two choices with a veggie option - maybe even with chef's own pasties on the list?

We would most definitely return! Thank you for a great stay!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bealine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 142 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited The Coldstreamer on Saturday 16th February with friends. The food was great, the waitress was very friendly and nothing was too much for her. She was also working behind the bar so she was kept busy. The home made bread was good. Atmosphere was good, a lovely log burner in the main bar. Will visit again and certainly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Recently stayed for 4 nights with my partner and our two dogs. The room was a good size, clean and warm with a large ensuite. Towells were left in the room for the dogs which was much appreciated. The location just over a mile outside of Penzance and a short walk to the beach was excellent. We opted for the DBB offer and enjoyed an excellent choice of meat, fish and vegetarian option. The dogs were welcome to sit with us in the bar whilst we ate which made the stay all the more relaxing. We were visiting family who lived locally and they joined us most nights for a meal. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADJ1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Combines great food, B&B accomodation with all you want in a local pub. Only gave it 5 stars because 6 are not allowed! Staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and, surprisingly quiet being above a pub. Can't fault the place and will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank dem98_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Coldstreamer is an attractive Pub offering B&B in Gulval. Lovely old Victorian building and recently refurbished bedrooms. The cooked breakfast was good and evening meals looked very good although we didn't have one. The en-suite bedrooms are clean and simple. However, the double bed was extremely uncomfortable. It had a thin open coil mattress - with very thin padding, that was extremely bouncy. We just didn't expect this. Pocket sprung or foam mattresses are virtually universal in the hospitality industry. Didn't sleep very well and were consequently grumpy the next day. Only one chair was provided in the room (although there was room for a second). The toilet lid didn't open fully because the toilet had been squeezed in directly next to a wall in the small en-suite shower room. Coffee provided for the cafetiere, plus ear plugs in case you want to sleep before the pub closes! Seems a pity to scrimp on the beds when they are so fundamental to a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A really nice comfortable Pub/Hotel in a good location. We chose this location as it was easy to drive to the different locations on the sharp end of Cornwall, a bonus was the 18.09 bus that stopped right outside the pub Mon-Sat which meant we could catch this into Penzance, have a few drinks in the really amazing and ancient pubs in town and get a taxi back. The food was outstanding both the breakfasts with a great selection of cooked breakfasts, yoghurts and fish, all locally sourced. We ate in the hotel two nights and the food was of high quality and presentation standards you would expect from a top notch restaurant. Parking is easy outside the pub or in front of the church and the location is on a great spot close to the A30 for easy driving out to the different sites we visited. The room was big and airy as was the bathroom and very well maintained and cleaned. A great place to stay a while - thank you!!

Room Tip: As others have mentioned we asked for a room not on the Church side as we were concerned about the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK_wendy_woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights B&B, The room was very inviting very comfy bed, big shower room, coffee,tea, etc. The downside was the sound coming up through from the bar, not loud music, but a deep bass sound resonating up into our room. Then in the morning they emptied the bottles onto a lorry outside room, and with a noisy tractor going by as well didnt make for the best of stays. but all in all was good value and such a nice little village and church, apart from when the bell chimes on the hour.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
833 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#70 of 82 in Penzance
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#65 of 82 in Penzance
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coldstreamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coldstreamer Inn

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR18 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gulval
Price Range: $106 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coldstreamer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Coldstreamer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coldstreamer Hotel Gulval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing