We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Sunday lunch”
Review of Coach & Horses Inn

Coach & Horses Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Rosudgeon
Price range: $4 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coach and Horses Pub/Restaurant is located in the small Cornish village of Kenneggy Downs, Rosudgeon, We have an extensive British menu serving a selection of food which is sourced locally. The Coach & Horses is decorated and styled to a high level. We cater for the whole family to include children. We have a specially designed child friendly area for children to play whilst visiting us
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My parents are staying at Praa Sands and have eat here a couple of times for lunch during the week so we decided to try the Sunday carvery. Absolutely lovely, the meat was cooked beautifully, yorkies were crisp and fluffy, no soggy like a lot of carveries, and fab choice of veggies. I've read some of the reports below and someone said the roasties were overcooked, well not today, light and fluffy. Thoroughly recommend. I think booking is recommended, it was packed today, I couldn't see an empty table, and on that note, the tables are not packed together, we were sitting on top of each other. Well done, we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    35
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently had a really lovely Sunday lunch at the Coach & Horses. It was in the form of a carvery which is ideal for me - loads of one veg and nothing of the other is really what I prefer. The food was of excellent quality and on a really miserable Sunday this was a very bright idea. Service was efficient and hospitality was plentiful. Will be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cornish welcome”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our first trip to Cornwall and we stopped for a meal in The Coach and horses had a lovely meal . Matt the barman was a great help showed us on a map the best places to go and where not to go , found some lovely views off the beaten track . Thanks Matt , we went to all the places you told us about ....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Decided to visit this pub after an absence of 2 or 3 years and found the staff to be extremely friendly and attentive, in fact nothing was too much trouble. However, whilst the turkey and beef were very good we felt that a definite improvement could be made with the vegetables. The roast potatoes were overdone and by the time we reached our table from the carvery everything was lukewarm or in fact cold. Desserts were good and the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eating out”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited here twice whilst on a short break. Food was very good and reasonably priced, good fresh, local produce.
Staff very friendly and helpful, although it was busy on our second visit and there was only one person serving both bar and restaurant we were served promptly and they always had time for a smile and a chat. Very welcoming atmosphere and good beer too!
Will definately visit again if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazzy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach & Horses Inn also viewed

 
Praa Sands, Cornwall
 

Been to Coach & Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing