We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA at its best in Penzance”
Review of YHA Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YHA at its best in Penzance”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Impeccably clean, large, updated bunk rooms, very friendly staff, great food. Delightful place to stay during your adventures through Penzance and surrounding areas. If on foot, it's about 20 min walk from train station.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
15
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed for two nights. The hostel was at full capacity but it didn’t seem overcrowded. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had dinner on one evening which I felt was a little overpriced. My breakfast was better value. The bar/restaurant is airy and pleasant. The hostel was quiet at night and I slept well. I only used the self catering facilities to store some food for lunch. The fridges were very full and the self catering kitchen was really busy at breakfast.

The hostel is slightly out of town. It is about a 20mins walk or a short ride on the number 5 or 6 bus. There is a lot of do in the local area. I would recommend the Wayside museum in Zennor (bus 508). St Michael’s Mount at Marazion (Bus 2). St Ives (bus 300 or the really scenic train line). Mousehole and walking on the coast path to Lamora Cove (bus 6). If you area planning on taking buses then ask for a day ticket (£7.50 for First buses only or £10 for all bus companies and the trains in Cornwall).

I intend to return to Penzanace YHA next year. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at Penzance Youth hostel in July for a weekend with my husband and 4 children. The hostel had I think recently been refurbished. It was very well decorated and the restaurant bar area was very nice. The family room was ok for the six of us (3 bunk beds) for 2 nights. There was a TV and games room so there was entertainment on site. The £10 meal for a family of 4 was a good idea but quite small portions, we had to order two for our family of six but 3 would have been more filling, but it was very tasty. Luckily we hired a car when we got to Cornwall you cannot see the hostel from the road so it was a bit difficult to find especially with no sat nav! Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sistajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Have stayed a couple of times now and enjoyed both stays. Very peaceful, clean, warm and furnished superbly. We R a family of 4. Kitchen has everything u need to prepare and cook a family meal. On site restaurant is ideal and caters for families perfectly. Breakfast is also worth the money if u don't want to cook. Bar is stocked with local beer, cider etc and is all reasonably priced. All the staff that work, clean and cook were lovely, friendly people. Will be coming back again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopgenie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

A warm welcome; very comfortable and so many things to see in the area.
We felt very relaxed here and did not want to leave.
The boys - 3 and 5 yrs - loved the table football and the self catering eating area..
We hope to go again same time next year.
Anon

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enthusedYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Having arrived fairly late I was greeted by the reception staff member who was very pleasant, helpful and explained what I needed to know including how I could get out early the next morning. The person who served me at the bar was also pleasant and friendly. An example of a good youth hostel, the only slight downside was the distance from the centre which I did know beforehand.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul,mn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stayed at the Penzance YHA June 5-7, 2009 and got room #16. The hostel is about a 20-25 min. walk out of town from the train station. I did it with my 40lb backpack in 25min. but you can take one of the city buses that will drop you off with in about 5-10min. walking distance, depending on how fast you walk. If you have a car it is quite a bit easier to get to the YHA but you're never walking through any bad areas except for having to cross a busy road near the end.
The hostel was just finishing its rennovation when I was there. The bedroom was comfortable, fairly large sized witha disused fireplace. The beds were comfortable with a reading light and the lockers were fairly large. If I needed to shove my backpack in I could have. The shower down the hall was good sized with enough room to comfortably dress in and had good water pressure.
The only problem I had with the hostel was I was not able to do my laundry there since they had not finished their laundry room. I could wash my clothes but not dry them since there was no way to vent the hot air from the dryer. Both machines were in the basement in a cement room with no windows. The games room also while I was there had no games at all in it.
Otherwise things were fairly good. The lounge room was adequate but with only 4 channels of television to chose from. The free internet computer was down my entire stay but the kitchen was very well kept with three stoves, a microwave and two refridgerators. You can have breakfast and dinner in the cafeteria if you pay for them which I didn't do so I can't comment on that.
I would definitly stay at the YHA Penzance again in the future. The rennovated Georgian mannor was great as was the location which offered lots of privacy and quiet nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Horneck
1.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
6.9 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
5.8 mi away
YHA Land's End
YHA Land's End
#3 of 7 in St Just
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Penzance

Property: YHA Penzance
Address: Castle Horneck, Alverton, Castle Horneck TR20 8TF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Castle Horneck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Castle Horneck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Penzance 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzance Youth Hotel Castle Horneck
YHA Penzance Castle Horneck, Cornwall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing