We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cheap alternative to Penzance accommodation - comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Vicarage
Ranked #2 of 3 St Hilary B&B and Inns
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cheap alternative to Penzance accommodation - comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

Two friends and I stayed here when looking for cheap accommodation close to Penzance. We stayed in a family room, which had one room with a double and one room with two singles, at a cost of 27.50 pounds per person per night.

The rooms were quite large and well decorated, but the mattresses weren't great and the curtains were very thin and let a lot of light in during the morning. Breakfast was very tasty with generous portions.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxfordstudentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

A beautiful guest house set in serene and gorgeous surroundings. We stayed in the family room which for both of us was huge. Very comfortable beds with clean crisp linen - whole room/place was clean. The food was good solid English - with lovely adaptations for a vegetarian! Hosts were very friendly as were the people in the stable yard. We rode the Morgan horses- both trekking and in the school, and really enjoyed the "non riding school" feel of the place, although it's BHS approved. The stables were nearly as clean as the house! and the horses very well looked after with large fields for grazing. I wouldn't say it's quite the right place for a novice unless they just want some lessons, but we had a wonderful time - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arich666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

After being on the road for 8 weeks staying at B&Bs throught out UK, this was a great find. We ended up staying 2 nights. The service was great and the rooms were just luxury plus.
We were made to feel very welocme and breakfast was anything but small.
If you need a break for a weekend just pick up the phone.

  • Liked — the service was great. i am an animal lover and the horses and the dogs were lovely.
  • Disliked — Nothing - maybe going home!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jinjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Whilst not located on the coast it is only a few minutes walk to both St Michael's Mount and a couple of traditional English pubs.

John & Rosie the hosts are warm, friendly and welcoming.

We travelled with our 14 year old daughter and it worked really well. Our rooms were spacious with ensuite facilities and aTV in our rooms. The breakfasts were excellent and the rooms were serviced daily. Our daughter felt completely comfortable and safe eventhough her room was downsairs from ours.

We chose the location because it offered horseriding and my wife and daughter loved it.

Horseriding wasn't for me so I went for a walk on the coastal path which extends for miles and is really rewarding.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the hosts
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank browney237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2006

This isn't a hotel, but rather a B&B. It is set in a lovely serene setting, and has lovely hosts.
The room we booked was spacious and bright, with good quality linen and furniture. It was exceptionaly clean, and extremely good value.
I think if you are going to stay here, you will really enjoy the peacefulness of the place, and the lovely surroundings.

  • Liked — Its spaciousness, and value for money
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — If you really want to stay in a peaceful place, then this is it.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Hilary
2.0 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.5 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Trevelyan Arms
Trevelyan Arms
#1 of 2 in Goldsithney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vicarage

Property: Old Vicarage
Address: The Old Vicarage Churchtown, St Hilary TR20 9DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Hilary
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Hilary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Vicarage Cornwall/St Hilary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing